Asus RT-N18U Wireless not working

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
T.F.7
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Jul 2015
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Fri Jul 10, 2015 16:26    Post subject: Asus RT-N18U Wireless not working Reply with quote
Hi!

I flashed my N18U with ASUS RT-N18U Firmware: Webflash image asus_rt-n18u-firmware.trx 2014-06-02 26,19 MB dd-wrt fw version. I followed the instructions and everything went fine. Wired connection works fine, but wireless doesn't. Its radius is less than a meter.

My settings:




What shall I do?

Thank you in advance.


Last edited by T.F.7 on Fri Jul 10, 2015 16:39; edited 1 time in total
Sponsor
KrypteX
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Jan 2014
Posts: 2400

PostPosted: Fri Jul 10, 2015 16:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
You didn't link to the actual build version. From your snapshot I see it's a rather old one. You should update to latest build 27506, see this: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=284230
_________________
THERE ARE NO STRANGERS HERE; ONLY FRIENDS YOU HAVEN'T YET MET.
________________________________________________________________________________________________________
DD-WRT CHANGELOG | DEVICES | DD-WRT BUILDS | KONG BUILDS | UNOFFICIAL BUILDS | DD-WRT in VIRTUALBOX

Testing BrainSlayer's DD-WRT build 31533 on various units:
NETGEAR : WNDR3800 WNDR3800CH WNDRMACv2 WNDRMACv1 WNR2200 WNR2000v3
TP-LINK : ArcherC7v3 WR1043NDv3 WR740Nv4 WR740Nv6 WR710Nv1 WR810Nv1 WA850REv1 WA901NDv3 WA901NDv4
D-LINK : DIR-862L DIR-615D2
ASUS : RT-N10 C1
VirtualBox : x86_64
T.F.7
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Jul 2015
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Fri Jul 10, 2015 16:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
Oops! I corrected my post. I found this version by searching the Router Database. Thanks for the link. Is this a beta version or what?
KrypteX
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Jan 2014
Posts: 2400

PostPosted: Fri Jul 10, 2015 16:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
They're all betas. And the Router Database is old, hasn't been updated since forever.
_________________
THERE ARE NO STRANGERS HERE; ONLY FRIENDS YOU HAVEN'T YET MET.
________________________________________________________________________________________________________
DD-WRT CHANGELOG | DEVICES | DD-WRT BUILDS | KONG BUILDS | UNOFFICIAL BUILDS | DD-WRT in VIRTUALBOX

Testing BrainSlayer's DD-WRT build 31533 on various units:
NETGEAR : WNDR3800 WNDR3800CH WNDRMACv2 WNDRMACv1 WNR2200 WNR2000v3
TP-LINK : ArcherC7v3 WR1043NDv3 WR740Nv4 WR740Nv6 WR710Nv1 WR810Nv1 WA850REv1 WA901NDv3 WA901NDv4
D-LINK : DIR-862L DIR-615D2
ASUS : RT-N10 C1
VirtualBox : x86_64
T.F.7
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Jul 2015
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Fri Jul 10, 2015 17:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
Upgraded. Still, the wireless is not working!
KrypteX
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Jan 2014
Posts: 2400

PostPosted: Fri Jul 10, 2015 17:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
Set Wide HT40, then Wireless channel manually, e.g. 6+Lower (not Auto), and REgulatory Domain to Canada or United States.
_________________
THERE ARE NO STRANGERS HERE; ONLY FRIENDS YOU HAVEN'T YET MET.
________________________________________________________________________________________________________
DD-WRT CHANGELOG | DEVICES | DD-WRT BUILDS | KONG BUILDS | UNOFFICIAL BUILDS | DD-WRT in VIRTUALBOX

Testing BrainSlayer's DD-WRT build 31533 on various units:
NETGEAR : WNDR3800 WNDR3800CH WNDRMACv2 WNDRMACv1 WNR2200 WNR2000v3
TP-LINK : ArcherC7v3 WR1043NDv3 WR740Nv4 WR740Nv6 WR710Nv1 WR810Nv1 WA850REv1 WA901NDv3 WA901NDv4
D-LINK : DIR-862L DIR-615D2
ASUS : RT-N10 C1
VirtualBox : x86_64
jwh7
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Oct 2013
Posts: 818
Location: Indy

PostPosted: Fri Jul 10, 2015 20:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
T.F.7 wrote:
Upgraded. Still, the wireless is not working!
Also, did you 'Restore Factory Defaults'? In the wireless settings, what is the Tx power set to? I'm not suggesting to increase it...just making sure it isn't defaulted to 0 or something. Smile
_________________
x64 pfSense 2.4.0b|RT-N66U@663 Merlin 380.66a2|31221: WNDR4500v2 & WNDR4000@533 k3, 30949: WRT54GSv6@250 µ & GLv1.1@250 VoIP|GLv1.1@250 TM 1.28.7636 VPN|OEM: WGR614v10@400: WNR1000v3 mod, HWREN1v1: HWABN1v1 mod
# NAT/CTF: slow/limited speed on DD # Repeater issues # DD-WRT info: Builds, Types, Changelog[SVN], Peacock, Demo #
T.F.7
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Jul 2015
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sat Jul 11, 2015 6:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
KrypteX wrote:
Set Wide HT40, then Wireless channel manually, e.g. 6+Lower (not Auto), and REgulatory Domain to Canada or United States.

Not working. Why Canada or US if I'm from Europe?
jwh7 wrote:
Also, did you 'Restore Factory Defaults'? In the wireless settings, what is the Tx power set to? I'm not suggesting to increase it...just making sure it isn't defaulted to 0 or something. Smile

I don't see these options under wireless.
KrypteX
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Jan 2014
Posts: 2400

PostPosted: Sat Jul 11, 2015 6:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
T.F.7 wrote:
Why Canada or US if I'm from Europe?

EU domain limits the max TX Power, that's why.
Quote:
I don't see these options under wireless.

Advanced Wireless options are there, just take another good look. And don't forget to Restore to Factory Defaults beforehand... you didn't say whether you did that or not.

_________________
THERE ARE NO STRANGERS HERE; ONLY FRIENDS YOU HAVEN'T YET MET.
________________________________________________________________________________________________________
DD-WRT CHANGELOG | DEVICES | DD-WRT BUILDS | KONG BUILDS | UNOFFICIAL BUILDS | DD-WRT in VIRTUALBOX

Testing BrainSlayer's DD-WRT build 31533 on various units:
NETGEAR : WNDR3800 WNDR3800CH WNDRMACv2 WNDRMACv1 WNR2200 WNR2000v3
TP-LINK : ArcherC7v3 WR1043NDv3 WR740Nv4 WR740Nv6 WR710Nv1 WR810Nv1 WA850REv1 WA901NDv3 WA901NDv4
D-LINK : DIR-862L DIR-615D2
ASUS : RT-N10 C1
VirtualBox : x86_64
T.F.7
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Jul 2015
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sat Jul 11, 2015 7:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
TX is set to 71.
'Restore to Factory Defaults' - how?

edit: unfortunately I don't have much time today, but I have to put it to work, so I'm trying to flash back to stock fw and it doesn't work. I tried with IE and Chrome. First I do the 30/30/30 then I try to flash to stock, but it won't work. Still dd-wrt.

edit2: I managed to flash back to stock with an older fw version. I'm safe for today. I still have hope in dd-wrt, but some users of this forum reported to have the same problem. No solution for now.
T.F.7
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Jul 2015
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sun Jul 12, 2015 9:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
I reverted back to stock. I do the 30/30/30 reset and then when I want to flash with dd-wrt it stops after 15 seconds. I can't even flash to dd-wrt.

edit: works when i change .trx to .bin
T.F.7
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Jul 2015
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sun Jul 12, 2015 10:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
KrypteX wrote:
Set Wide HT40, then Wireless channel manually, e.g. 6+Lower (not Auto), and REgulatory Domain to Canada or United States.

I restored to factory defaults and did all you suggested. Not working at all.

edit: http://svn.dd-wrt.com/ticket/3634 ?
marc97
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Jul 2015
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Jul 14, 2015 15:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
I am having the exact same issue with my N18U and r27506.

I have already tried all recommendations previously given:
- I went all the way up to 999 for TX, and have tried values in between as well.
- I set Wide HT40
- Tried all wireless channels manually up to 6
- Reg is set to US

I literally have to place my laptop on top of the router for it to even find the SSID. Initially I thought I might have messed up some configuration, but the low signal problem manifests itself, even after a cleared nvram.

Just an an FYI - I also tried an older version: r27413 and it seems to have the same problem. Did "erase nvram" after each update and various times when trying different configurations.

I know my way around Linux very well, so if there's a place I can check under the hood, please let me know.
T.F.7
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Jul 2015
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Wed Jul 15, 2015 14:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
marc97 wrote:
I am having the exact same issue with my N18U and r27506.

After losing 2 days of my life, I switched to AdvancedTomato (a Tomato by Shibby GUI). The wireless is working as it should and no nightmare settings that don't work.
I hope this issue will be fixed in the future and I will give dd-wrt another try.
KrypteX
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Jan 2014
Posts: 2400

PostPosted: Wed Jul 15, 2015 14:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
I've reopened ticket http://svn.dd-wrt.com/ticket/3634 hoping for a fix.
_________________
THERE ARE NO STRANGERS HERE; ONLY FRIENDS YOU HAVEN'T YET MET.
________________________________________________________________________________________________________
DD-WRT CHANGELOG | DEVICES | DD-WRT BUILDS | KONG BUILDS | UNOFFICIAL BUILDS | DD-WRT in VIRTUALBOX

Testing BrainSlayer's DD-WRT build 31533 on various units:
NETGEAR : WNDR3800 WNDR3800CH WNDRMACv2 WNDRMACv1 WNR2200 WNR2000v3
TP-LINK : ArcherC7v3 WR1043NDv3 WR740Nv4 WR740Nv6 WR710Nv1 WR810Nv1 WA850REv1 WA901NDv3 WA901NDv4
D-LINK : DIR-862L DIR-615D2
ASUS : RT-N10 C1
VirtualBox : x86_64
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum