Issues installing DDWRT onto Linksys e3000

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
bytersweet
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Apr 2016
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Fri Apr 15, 2016 17:24    Post subject: Issues installing DDWRT onto Linksys e3000 Reply with quote
Greetings all,

I will probably screw up here a bit until i get used to the "protocol".

I have a few questions so, let me get started below.

I have a linksys E3000 "N" router that I attempted to put DDW-RT onto it. My steps are as follows:

1)...Did the "30-30-30" reset as described in threads I have read.

2)...Downloaded the "dd-wrt.v24-21061_NEWD-2_K2.6_mini-nv60k" bin upgrade and went through the Linksus GUI page to install same.

3)...At 10 seconds into it, got a message stating "failure".javascript:emoticon('Crying or Very sad')

4)...I hit "continue" and the upgrade went to 98% and came to a dead stop. 20 min later I quit this and rebooted the router and it went back to the stock linksys GUI with no changes made.

5)...Downloaded the "dd-wrt.v24-21061_NEWD-2_K2.6_big-nv60k" bin file and attempted same as above. Again,w/in 10 seconds went to "failure" and I hit continue which went to 98% and it quit there again.javascript:emoticon('Mad')

6)...After 25 min, I unplugged unit and the router again defaulted to it's typical GUI with no apparent changes.

7)...I downloaded the bin file "dd-wrt.v24-14929_NEWD-2_K2.6_std_usb_ftp-e3000" and then got a SUCCESSFUL indication on the screen. I unplugged power and let sit for 10 min and then rebooted router and is now displaying the DDW-RT program.

So, what did I do wrong here that I had so many failures....Is what I did out of the order of which I should have done them? Don't get me wrong here - I am happy I didn't brick the darned thing.

dd-wrt.v24-21061_NEWD-2_K2.6_mini-nv60k
dd-wrt.v24-21061_NEWD-2_K2.6_big-nv60k
dd-wrt.v24-14929_NEWD-2_K2.6_std_usb_ftp-e3000
Sponsor
bytersweet
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Apr 2016
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sun Apr 17, 2016 0:07    Post subject: additional to DDWRT Issue Reply with quote
*Additional*,
(Win XP, plenty of ram and hd space and processor speed).

When i attempt to apply and save settings while configuring, the browser (have used IE and Firefox) times out!

Cables are good, etc.. Have flushed cache, cookies, killed firewall and anti-virus, tried 2 different computers, etc. and the results are the same.

Has anyone had this issue before? I have been at this trying different things for about a day with the same f'ing results.[/b]
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 950
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Sun Apr 17, 2016 1:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
From http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Linksys_E3000
'As of July 2010 you can only use the trailed builds with the e3000 name in it for initial flashing and nothing else, using other bin's without the e3000 name in it for initial flashing may result in a bricked unit! After you have dd-wrt installed to your unit, you can then use the e2k-e3k.bin's for upgrading to newer builds. Using builds without e2k-e3k in the filename after initial flashing WILL BRICK YOUR ROUTER!'
Meaning you must use trailed build (build w/routers name in file name) to go from stock to dd-wrt.

Some more E3000 info here http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=959786

Considering your situation I would recommend to reset your router before installing another dd-wrt build
bytersweet
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Apr 2016
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sun Apr 17, 2016 2:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
THANKS FOR THE REPLY! TO NOTE. CAPS ARE NOT YELLING BUT, ONLY SERVE TO SEGREGATE PORTIONS OF THE CONVERSATION.

As of July 2010 you can only use the trailed builds with the e3000 name in it for initial flashing and nothing else,
**I DON'T RECALL IF I SAW ANY! CAN YOU DIRECT ME?

using other bin's without the e3000 name in it for initial flashing may result in a bricked unit!
*WELL, DOESN'T APPEAR TO BE BRICKED AND ONLY HAVE THE ANOMALIE OF SAVING SETTINGS AS MENTIONED SO, I MAY BE OK.

After you have dd-wrt installed to your unit,

*YOU MEAN THE CURRENT ONE I HAVE IN NOW SIR?

you can then use the e2k-e3k.bin's for upgrading to newer builds.
*I WILL TRY AND LOCATE THESE IF THEY EXIST AND POSSIBLY TRY AGAIN.

Using builds without e2k-e3k in the filename after initial flashing WILL BRICK YOUR ROUTER!'
*WELL, BOOTS FINE EXCEPT AS MENTIONED ABOVE.

Meaning you must use trailed build (build w/routers name in file name) to go from stock to dd-wrt.
*SO, CAN I LOCATE THE FILE(S) YOU HAVE MENTIONED AND LOAD THEM OVER MY CURRENTLY EXISTING DDWRT?
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 950
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Sun Apr 17, 2016 2:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
The wiki for the E3000 does have a lot of old and somewhat confusing info in it -- some that
doesn't really apply these days with builds of last couple years but much of it does apply so let's just do this ---

RedHawk says the 26138 bld worked well on the E3000 so here's what I would do ¬

Reset you router to defaults and -
Install - ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2015/02-04-2015-r26138/broadcom_K26/dd-wrt.v24-26138_NEWD-2_K2.6_mini-e3000.bin

If you what more features install the mega ¬ after you have installed the mini
ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2015/02-04-2015-r26138/broadcom_K26/dd-wrt.v24-26138_NEWD-2_K2.6_mega-nv60k.bin
bytersweet
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Apr 2016
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sun Apr 17, 2016 10:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
The wiki for the E3000 does have a lot of old and somewhat confusing info in it -- some that
doesn't really apply these days with builds of last couple years but much of it does apply so let's just do this ---

*OK

RedHawk says the 26138 bld worked well on the E3000 so here's what I would do ¬

*COOL

Reset you router to defaults and -
Install - ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2015/02-04-2015-r26138/broadcom_K26/dd-wrt.v24-26138_NEWD-2_K2.6_mini-e3000.bin


If you what more features install the mega ¬ after you have installed the mini
ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2015/02-04-2015-r26138/broadcom_K26/dd-wrt.v24-26138_NEWD-2_K2.6_

*SPECTACULAR!...HOPEFULLY I CAN DO THIS TODAY...AND I APPRECIATE THE ASSISTANCE FROM EVERYONE.
bytersweet
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Apr 2016
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sun Apr 17, 2016 13:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
*UPDATE*

I attempted another firmware installation this morning with the builds/links supplied. All "went in" without incident.

HOWEVER, when inputting information to change as to be a repeater, I didn't really get past the first page so-to-speak in that, I hit "apply settings" and it says (to the effect) "please wait-applying settings/changes" and stays there for as long as 20+minutes.

I did the "mini" install as indicated in the link and then went directly over that with the mega. Any other ideas? Thanks in advance for your assistance!
bytersweet
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Apr 2016
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sun Apr 17, 2016 20:55    Post subject: Still no luck! Reply with quote
"Reloaded" the file (mini) suggested...
Set up router as repeater with correct settings hitting "save" after I was done then, hitting "apply settings and this is what I am getting for the last 30+ min!



stall 1A.jpg
 Description:
just sits and spins but never completes
 Filesize:  45.5 KB
 Viewed:  889 Time(s)

stall 1A.jpg


mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 950
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Sun Apr 17, 2016 23:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
Looking over what I wrote in the 26138 'New Build' thread it seems this was probably about the start of the K2.6 builds where creating a VAP was broken
https://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=948436#948436

Try the K2.6 26125 or 25974(one of my old favorites)
ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2015/

or install a K3.x build... on that I would suggest the 27858

I don't have the E3000 box so maybe someone that does can give you more info.
bytersweet
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Apr 2016
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sun Apr 17, 2016 23:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ya lost me!...i went and clicked on the build you had indicated....That took me to a bin/build screen...However, not sure which to try since my router is not specifically mentioned on that or any page that i can see.
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 950
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Sun Apr 17, 2016 23:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
bytersweet wrote:
Ya lost me!...i went and clicked on the build you had indicated....That took me to a bin/build screen...However, not sure which to try since my router is not specifically mentioned on that or any page that i can see.


ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2015/01-20-2015-r25974/broadcom_K26/dd-wrt.v24-25974_NEWD-2_K2.6_mega-nv60k.bin
bytersweet
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Apr 2016
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2016 0:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
ok....thanks for the reply!!!...will try tomorrow..Geez, i thought this was gonna be easy and i was going to do this with my linksys g router but, now i don't know...ugh!...Thanks again!
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 950
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2016 0:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
bytersweet wrote:
ok....thanks for the reply!!!...will try tomorrow..Geez, i thought this was gonna be easy and i was going to do this with my linksys g router but, now i don't know...ugh!...Thanks again!


The old WRT54G boxes are easy. Just put the broadcom 14929 generic mirco, mini, or mega depending on which box you have... and it will prolly do whatevr you want to do with it.
If you havn't you need read the peacock thread (all of it) top of this forum. There are easy tips to setup repeater / repeater bridge there also.
bytersweet
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Apr 2016
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2016 0:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
.....well, i gotta get this one up and running before i do anything as this router goes to a hard luck family in N.Florida whom has bad net coverage it their home for kids to do homework, etc.
bytersweet
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Apr 2016
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2016 12:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
bytersweet wrote:
ok....thanks for the reply!!!...will try tomorrow..Geez, i thought this was gonna be easy and i was going to do this with my linksys g router but, now i don't know...ugh!...Thanks again!


************************

Greetings again,

I just attempted to put in the bin you suggested and the firmware went in fine.

The procedure i used when configuring this was to make all the changes necessary on a page and hit "save" and then apply settings....

This time I experimented and changed the net ip, gateway, etc portion of one of the pages in setup and hit save and apply and that is where this thing is hanging up....

For some reason, this doesn't want me to change that portion of setting this up...I did a cursory reading of "Tomato" and may investigate that as an alternative....
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum