No hostnames for clients connecting to wl0.1 through WAPs

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
TC2020
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Apr 2014
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Thu Oct 02, 2014 13:36    Post subject: No hostnames for clients connecting to wl0.1 through WAPs Reply with quote
Following the instructions on Multiple Wlans, I’ve setup several WAPs and they all work well. The only thing bugging me is that I can’t see the hostnames for the clients that connect to VAP (wl0.1) through these WAPs. Clients connect to eth1 and eth2 through WAPs will have their hostnames showing on gateway router, which is fine. But any clients connect to wl0.1 through WAPs will only show their hostnames as "*" in WAPs’ Status/Lan/Active Clients/Hostname. What am I missing?

WAPs => Asus N66U, Kong’s 25015m and BS's 23919 (have tried a few other builds,same results)
Firewall on WAPs =>
iptables -I FORWARD -i br1 -d `nvram get lan_ipaddr`/`nvram get lan_netmask` -m state --state NEW -j DROP
iptables -t nat -I POSTROUTING -o br0 -j SNAT --to `nvram get lan_ipaddr`
iptables -I INPUT -i br1 -p udp --dport 67 -j ACCEPT
iptables -I INPUT -i br1 -p udp --dport 53 -j ACCEPT
iptables -I INPUT -i br1 -p tcp --dport 53 -j ACCEPT
Sponsor
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 788

PostPosted: Sat Oct 04, 2014 10:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
Do they get an ip address by DHCP?
TC2020
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Apr 2014
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Sun Oct 05, 2014 14:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks for the response.
The clients get IPs by DHCP & DNSMasq.
To be more specific, the DHCP servers on WAPs are disabled, so the clients connecting to wl0.1 on WAPs get their IPs through DNSMasq (Additional DNSMasq Options); on the other hand, clients connecting to other interfaces on WAPs get their IPs through DHCP (from gateway router).
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 788

PostPosted: Sun Oct 05, 2014 14:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
Those marked with a star does not have a host name recorded in the dhcp lease.

I don't understand what you are doing here:

iptables -t nat -I POSTROUTING -o br0 -j SNAT --to `nvram get lan_ipaddr`


What bridge is wl0.1 connected to or is it unbridged?
TC2020
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Apr 2014
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Sun Oct 05, 2014 17:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
Well, quite embarrassing, I am not sure about this either. According to Multiple WLANs, it is to "Enable NAT for traffic being routed out br0 so that br1 has connectivity (for WAP's - WAN port disabled)". Maybe I don't need it at all?
BTW, wl0.1 is connected to br1, sorry for not making it clear.
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 788

PostPosted: Sun Oct 05, 2014 17:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
If NAT is not enabled on all interfaces, this is the way to fo it.

iptables -t nat -I POSTROUTING -o `nvram get wan_interface` -j MASQUERADE
TC2020
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Apr 2014
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Mon Oct 06, 2014 17:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
All WAPs are using router mode, thus NAT is disabled on all interfaces I assume.
I lost the Internet connectivity once I use your iptables. Had to revert back to gain the connectivity. And using your iptables didn't resolve the no-hostname issue I have either.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum