ddwrt.vmdk (x86 _pure v24) keeps rebooting

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> X86 based Hardware
Author Message
ben chi(f4)
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Jun 2008
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Jun 30, 2008 16:24    Post subject: ddwrt.vmdk (x86 _pure v24) keeps rebooting Reply with quote
So, I installed the virtual image the DD-WRT but after the install, it keeps rebooting saying that it can't find a partition:

No filesystem could mount root, tried: squashfs

Kernel panic - not synicing: unable to mount root

Rebooting in 1 seconds.. <4>Clocksource tsc unstable (delta = 1060291022 ns)
Time: pit clocksource has been installed.

Installing on a HP Proliant DL380 g5 ESX Server

Any suggestions?
Sponsor
Zapy
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Jan 2007
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Fri Jul 04, 2008 11:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
never mind, i didn't pay attention to the topic, i see know that you used vmware...

Last edited by Zapy on Sat Jul 05, 2008 12:56; edited 1 time in total
maval1ty
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Jun 2008
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Fri Jul 04, 2008 12:48    Post subject: Re: ddwrt.vmdk (x86 _pure v24) keeps rebooting Reply with quote
ben chi(f4) wrote:
So, I installed the virtual image the DD-WRT but after the install, it keeps rebooting saying that it can't find a partition:

No filesystem could mount root, tried: squashfs

Kernel panic - not synicing: unable to mount root

Rebooting in 1 seconds.. <4>Clocksource tsc unstable (delta = 1060291022 ns)
Time: pit clocksource has been installed.

Installing on a HP Proliant DL380 g5 ESX Server

Any suggestions?


Just download the vmware image below:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/v24/X86/public/vmware/DDx86_pure.zip

After booting the vmdk in VMWare connect to the WebGUI (192.168.1.1) (root / admin) and restore the factory defaults. Afterwards you can do whatever you like, e.g. flashing the newest x86 firmware or just perform your specific configuration.

IIRC you can ignore the reboot message. I get a lot of error messages, though but dd-wrt works properly.
intersol
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Mar 2008
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Aug 13, 2008 14:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have the same problem: i'm not able to run the vmware image that I've just converted to vmware server using VMWARE converter.

Still it does run well on VMWARE Workstation.

PS. Someone should rename the post title. It's about a general issue related to x86 vmware image.
welshblob
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Sep 2008
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun Sep 28, 2008 15:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi,
Just got this problem myself. I think its because dd-wrt uses a virtual IDE disk which will work fine on workstation, player and server but will not work on ESX as that only supports SCSI disks. Even if VMware converter has created the image successfully, I expect dd-wrt doesn't have the necessary scsi drivers thus the root partition can't be mounted. So I guess the only thing to do is request scsi support in the dd-wrt image .... not sure if thats possible?
I'm currently evaluating ESX over standard vmware server and all I'm seeing at the moment are less features! The reason I'm looking at using a dd-wrt image is to get NAT working which ESX doesn't support. But I like the idea of having dd-wrt as that should give me even more features Wink. Oh well.
Cheers
Rob
JottKaPeh
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Jun 2013
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Jun 04, 2013 9:16    Post subject: Oracle VirtualBoxManager only works with IDE Reply with quote
Hello,

I know this thread is way old, but I had the same problems using Oracle VirtualBox.

My problem was, that I had the virtual harddisks connected to the SATA controller of the virtual machine instead of the IDE controller. After changing this, everthing works fine. Seems like the dd-wrt misses some (compatible)drivers (at least) for Oracle VirtualBox SATA controller.

I don't know if this solves your problems, but I thought it would be the best to post this info.

best regards and good luck
JKP
sype
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Jan 2015
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2015 7:29    Post subject: Finaly found my way around the problem.... Reply with quote
Finaly found my way around the problem...
currently running on VM under VMWARE esxi5.5

So here's how i got it running.

1st : Create a VM with basic peripherals...
Let's call it "DD-WRT-VM"
i tried with no CD drive and no floppy drive...
but i've put 2 network card on different "network" (read vmware vSwitches)
1st : WAN
2nd : LAN (make sure you don't screw you own network because of double DHCP servers...)
Also, i've put 256megs of ram and 1gig of hdd (scsi was OK for me).
*DO NOT START YOUR VM* <- Just create it

2nd : attach you newly created vHDD (the vmdk file) to
another running VM (i used a win7 virtual machine(VM))
(no need to detach it from "DD-WRT-VM" because you didn't start it yet!)

3rd : you need to download an *old* X86 image (from 2010-0Cool :
*USE PUBLIC IMAGES*
http://www.dd-wrt.com/routerdb/de/download/X86/X86///dd-wrt_public_vga.image/3744
(got it from : http://www.dd-wrt.com/site/support/router-database and searching X86)

4nd : "DD" or "Physdiskwrite" the image.
read from : http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/X86
*MAKE SURE YOU TRANSFERT IT to the right drive or you'll cry your life... well not that much...*

5th : Detach you vHDD (vmdk) from your VM (invert 2nd step)

6th : Start your VM (DD-WRT-VM)

7th : connect to 192.168.1.1 with a computer on same network as the 2nd network card
Change username and password to whatever you want (for me it didn't ask me for them...)

8th : upgrade the *firmware* (ain't no firmware... but OK) using the web interface
under : Administration/Firmware upgrade
Upload this file :
ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2015/01-20-2015-r25974/x86/dd-wrt-webupgrade_public_vga.bin
(you can browse ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2015/ for the latest "bin" file.
*remember to use the public files*

9th : wait for it to reboot, then wait another 3 mins, then reconnect to your dd-wrt webpage
(same thing as 7th step)

i've decided to change my dd-wrt-vm ip to 192.168.3.1 (by the webpage)
You can see that everything is working for me in the 3 screenshot i have just taken
(you can also see that all my stuff are in french... sorry)

thanks again and feel free to ask any question!

SyPE
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> X86 based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum