Unable to get Linksys E1700 working as Repeater

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Ralink SoC based Hardware
Author Message
locutus13
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Mar 2015
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Mar 10, 2015 18:01    Post subject: Unable to get Linksys E1700 working as Repeater Reply with quote
Greetings,

for the last 6 houres I have been trying (and failing) to convince my Linksys E1700 router (Mediatek MT7620A) with DD-WRT installed to extend the range of my local WLAN.
Neither "repeater" mode nor "repeater-bridge" mode are working and keep stalling the device making it inaccessable via LAN-Ports (WLAN access still works).

I have tried the following tutorials:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Repeater_Bridge
http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Repeater

- I have disabled all encryption on both WLAN devices
- I have matched the channel setting on both devices (and tried different channels)
- I have matched the mode setting on both devices (and tried "mixed", "b", "g" and "n" seperately)
- I have tried reflashing the device with proper 30/30/30 reset multiple times
- I have tried different subnets on both devices
- I have tried different SSIDs on both devices

While "Repeater Bridge" keeps stalling the device on all LAN-Ports (making it inaccessable) the "repeater" mode still offers stable LAN connection to the Linksys-Router - but it will not route into the other subnet or the Internet via the primary router.

I can connect to the WLAN on the other router with the "client" setting but could not get the routing of any packages working with that either.

Can't think of anything else at the moment - anybody got any additional experience and willing to share?

Thank you in advance!
Sponsor
KrypteX
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Jan 2014
Posts: 1392

PostPosted: Tue Mar 10, 2015 18:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
You didn't say which DD-WRT build(s) you have tried.
Also, notice this recent bug report (I think it refers to Broadcom only, but I'm not so sure...), do you have the same issue ?
http://svn.dd-wrt.com/ticket/4038

_________________
THERE ARE NO STRANGERS HERE; ONLY FRIENDS YOU HAVEN'T YET MET.
______________________________________
DD-WRT Links: BUILDS / TRAC / CHANGELOG

Atheros:
Netgear WNDR3800 ...... DD-WRT 27456 - K3.10.81
Netgear WNR2200 ........ DD-WRT 27378
Netgear WNR2000v3 ..... DD-WRT 27456
TP-Link WR710Nv1 ....... DD-WRT 27456 - K3.10.81
TP-Link WR740Nv4 ....... DD-WRT 23720
Broadcom:
Linksys E3000 .............. DD-WRT 27240
Ralink:
D-Link DIR-615 D2 ....... DD-WRT 27147 - K3.2.69
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 3316
Location: Winnipeg, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Mar 10, 2015 20:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
ur better off asking in the ralink forum as thats a ralink unit
_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S) || Qualcomm Atheros Wi-Fi Settings || Qualcomm Atheros Repeating

[QUALCOMM ATHEROS] TL-WDR4900 v1.3 --> DD-WRT v3.0-r27490 (07/06/15) std (private test)
[QUALCOMM ATHEROS] DIR-862L A1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r27490 (07/06/15) std (private test)
[QUALCOMM ATHEROS] WNDR4300 v1 ------> DD-WRT v3.0-r27490 (07/06/15) std (private test)
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[QUALCOMM ATHEROS] WNDR3700 v1 ------> DD-WRT v3.0-r27490 (07/06/15) std (private test)
[QUALCOMM ATHEROS] DIR-825 B1 ---------> DD-WRT v3.0-r27490 (07/06/15) std (private test)

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers
locutus13
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Mar 2015
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Mar 11, 2015 7:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thank you for your replies.

I have tried only the latest version I could get via the "router database" = v24sp2 Build 25251

wikidevi.com lists the MT7620 as a WiSOC, thus my confusion. - sorry for asking in the wrong forum.


I will however take a good look at that bug report. Will try older releases later today - or when I find the time - and report back.

Thanks again!
enno_1980
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Mar 2015
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Fri Mar 13, 2015 7:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
hi locutus13,

can u explain how u installed DD-WRT on the E1700 Router ?
When i do this i get the error message "Wrong Image File. Please restart and try aggain"
I used the Image from Router Database.
warkriss
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Jun 2012
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Fri Mar 13, 2015 8:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
locutus13 wrote:
Thank you for your replies.

I have tried only the latest version I could get via the "router database" = v24sp2 Build 25251

wikidevi.com lists the MT7620 as a WiSOC, thus my confusion. - sorry for asking in the wrong forum.


I will however take a good look at that bug report. Will try older releases later today - or when I find the time - and report back.

Thanks again!


I think the guys were hinting at trying a newer build (the ftp in tatsuya's sig)
enno_1980
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Mar 2015
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Fri Mar 13, 2015 11:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
did u install it via Web-Flash ?

can u send me ur Build ?
locutus13
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Mar 2015
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2015 9:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have now tried rev. 26446 from the latest builds that I had found around March 10th or so.

No joy there either. Also there is quite some instability introduced after I connect to my existing WLAN with the router. (in unbridged mode) The device basically ignores any further connection attempts on any LAN-port. As long as I do not disconnect the LAN-cable it still works - but if I just unplug and replug the LAN-cable the router is no longer reachable - with fixed IP settings.

This happens after a 30/30/30 reset and only changing WLAN to client and connecting to my existing WLAN-Network.

I can only reach the router from the other WLAN-Network. Disableing the WLAN-Connection does not fix the problem. Only a reset via the webinterface or the reset button fixes that problem.


As this is taking too much time and effort for me to fix, I would really like to restore the original stock firmware now, but that won't work for some reason.

I have tried resetting the device again (30/30/30) and flashing the stock FW from the webgui with and without "reset to defaults" option. + waiting 10 min + another 30/30/30
=> DD-WRT remains on the device

I tried (after another 30/30/30) flashing the DD-WRT from the database again (which worked) and then repeating the steps from above.
=> DD-WRT remains on the device

any suggestions?
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Ralink SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum