Potential for WHR-G300N v2 support?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
Author Message
geziukas
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Jun 2010
Posts: 21
Location: Lithuania

PostPosted: Thu Jun 17, 2010 6:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
Genzel wrote:
Hi. I cannot remember what version of this firmware. I downloaded it 03.06.2010
Be careful. It is not for nothing removed from the site!
http://rapidshare.com/files/399877180/dd-wrt-whr-g300nv2.rar

Thanks, yesterday I send my router to Warranty...if they dont give new router, then i trie to flash again....this time I see that many user whr-g300n v2 with ddrt hame many isues...router hangs and crash....
Sponsor
REPASSAC
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Jun 2010
Posts: 23
Location: Eauze, France

PostPosted: Thu Jun 17, 2010 7:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
Many thanks Genzel - I have the download.

It would appear that Buffalo labels it's products inconsistantly -

Web interace: WHR-G300N
ROUTER: WHR-G300 V2
Box: WHR-G300 V2EU

In this thread it appears that the EU version of the firmware is different and checked for against new firmware which increases the risk in doing this - as without a copy of the current firmware there is no going back. [Note - I see that that the V2 version of this router is not listed in the US product list]

Buffalo: why not a 'save firmware' function on the web interface as a standard function?

I think I will wait a while as I do hope that BrainSlayer is able to upload updated firmware soon. Question
geziukas
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Jun 2010
Posts: 21
Location: Lithuania

PostPosted: Thu Jun 17, 2010 11:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
REPASSAC wrote:
Many thanks Genzel - I have the download.

It would appear that Buffalo labels it's products inconsistantly -

Web interace: WHR-G300N
ROUTER: WHR-G300 V2
Box: WHR-G300 V2EU

In this thread it appears that the EU version of the firmware is different and checked for against new firmware which increases the risk in doing this - as without a copy of the current firmware there is no going back. [Note - I see that that the V2 version of this router is not listed in the US product list]

Buffalo: why not a 'save firmware' function on the web interface as a standard function?

I think I will wait a while as I do hope that BrainSlayer is able to upload updated firmware soon. Question

I write to buffalo, thay say that firware is encrypted and there is no way to flash . They dont send me firmware 1.7 ...and say if you use 3 party firmware there will be no warrantly.... sucks buffalo in that way
cr4zyd
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 May 2010
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Thu Jun 17, 2010 12:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
Once you flash a buffalo device, there's usually no going back. Plenty of warning in that regard all over the forums.

As a side note it does look as though us v2 users may have a fix coming Smile
http://svn.dd-wrt.com:8000/dd-wrt/changeset/14614
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7620

PostPosted: Thu Jun 17, 2010 17:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
REPASSAC wrote:


It would appear that Buffalo labels it's products inconsistantly -

Web interace: WHR-G300N
ROUTER: WHR-G300 V2
Box: WHR-G300 V2EU


Well, it is more inconsistent than that, the tftp routine in the boot loader is looking for the string "WHR-G301N"

Buffalo Australia has v1.70 and v1.80 firmwares for dl and the readme for 1.80 mentions taking care of displaying the router as WHR-G301N in the web gui Very Happy

REPASSAC wrote:

In this thread it appears that the EU version of the firmware is different and checked for against new firmware which increases the risk in doing this - as without a copy of the current firmware there is no going back. [Note - I see that that the V2 version of this router is not listed in the US product list]


v 1.82 of the firmware is available from the U.S site, but there is no product selection for v1 or v2, both of them has their firmware under WHR-G300N.
Same for the Australia site btw..

_________________
Kernel panic: Aiee, killing interrupt handler!


Last edited by LOM on Sun Jun 20, 2010 13:33; edited 2 times in total
DoesItMatter
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 10 May 2008
Posts: 1373
Location: Pacific North West, USA

PostPosted: Sat Jun 19, 2010 7:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
Think positive, but do NOT expect quick fixes.

WHR-G300N V1 routers have been around for over a year now with lots of firmware updates.

Works for some people, others can't use it at all.

The WHR-HP versions are able to flash back/forth, but that's because Brainslayer wrote the firmware for them.

Have patience, then have more patience, and maybe buy another router for your main AP.

_________________
Evil or Very Mad Soylent Green Is People ! Evil or Very Mad
Twisted Evil =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-= Twisted Evil
2x Asus RT-N16 - Asuswrt-Merlin 3.0.0.4.376.43
Belkin F7D3302 - Toastman Tomato USB VPN 1.28.7505
Linksys E3000 - Toastman Tomato USB VPN 1.28.7505
-------------------------
2x Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH V1 - OpenWRT Chaos Calmer 45860
2x Engenius ESR900 - Stock Firmware 1.4.0 / OpenWRT Chaos Calmer 45860
TP-Link WR1043ND V1.8 - Gargoyle 1.7.1
fatchoi
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Jun 2010
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun Jun 20, 2010 13:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
Just switched back to the buffalo firmware 1.82

Using tftp in Ubuntu.
Everything works like a charm now.
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7620

PostPosted: Sun Jun 20, 2010 13:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
cr4zyd wrote:
Once you flash a buffalo device, there's usually no going back. Plenty of warning in that regard all over the forums.



That is a misconception which doesn't become more true just because it is repeated.

There is only one Buffalo model I know of for which there was no return back, the Ralink based WHR-G300Nv1.

_________________
Kernel panic: Aiee, killing interrupt handler!
DoesItMatter
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 10 May 2008
Posts: 1373
Location: Pacific North West, USA

PostPosted: Sun Jun 20, 2010 14:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
Quote:
There is only one Buffalo model I know of for which there was no return back, the Ralink based WHR-G300Nv1


Heh... you should bold and emphasize that 'WAS'

_________________
Evil or Very Mad Soylent Green Is People ! Evil or Very Mad
Twisted Evil =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-= Twisted Evil
2x Asus RT-N16 - Asuswrt-Merlin 3.0.0.4.376.43
Belkin F7D3302 - Toastman Tomato USB VPN 1.28.7505
Linksys E3000 - Toastman Tomato USB VPN 1.28.7505
-------------------------
2x Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH V1 - OpenWRT Chaos Calmer 45860
2x Engenius ESR900 - Stock Firmware 1.4.0 / OpenWRT Chaos Calmer 45860
TP-Link WR1043ND V1.8 - Gargoyle 1.7.1
cr4zyd
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 May 2010
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sun Jun 20, 2010 23:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
So i am trying to flash my router back to the Buffalo firmware but the DD-WRT webgui is refusing the firmware i got from the hong kong site and i dont think its letting me tftp. Can anyone give me some suggestions? Smile
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7620

PostPosted: Mon Jun 21, 2010 3:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
cr4zyd wrote:
So i am trying to flash my router back to the Buffalo firmware but the DD-WRT webgui is refusing the firmware i got from the hong kong site and i dont think its letting me tftp. Can anyone give me some suggestions? Smile


Why do you think it will not allow you to tftp the firmware?
Any reason for thinking so instead of trying?

_________________
Kernel panic: Aiee, killing interrupt handler!
Genzel
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Jun 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Jun 21, 2010 4:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
Off topic.
After upgrade from 1.80 to 1.82 my wifi speed does not up to 150 Mb/s (on 1.80 was 300 Mb/s)

Buffalo says, that I cannot downgrade to Ver1.80 or earlier. Heh Smile
Ubuntu, arp -s and tftp still work fine Smile
I reverted to 1.80
cr4zyd
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 May 2010
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Mon Jun 21, 2010 4:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
LOM wrote:
cr4zyd wrote:
So i am trying to flash my router back to the Buffalo firmware but the DD-WRT webgui is refusing the firmware i got from the hong kong site and i dont think its letting me tftp. Can anyone give me some suggestions? Smile


Why do you think it will not allow you to tftp the firmware?
Any reason for thinking so instead of trying?
Well the firmware you download doesn't have an extension, the filename is just "whrg300nv2-180" and i thought tftp only took anything with .tftp at the end. I'll try it again :/
REPASSAC
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Jun 2010
Posts: 23
Location: Eauze, France

PostPosted: Sun Jun 27, 2010 15:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
It looks like we may be in luck ...

http://www.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/others/eko/BrainSlayer-V24-preSP2/06-27-10-r14667/buffalo_whr_g300nv2
REPASSAC
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Jun 2010
Posts: 23
Location: Eauze, France

PostPosted: Mon Jun 28, 2010 8:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
Web flashed Build 14667 - It looks very good after 1 days of off and on testing.

Many thanks BrainSlayer.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 3 of 8
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum