Display signal strength over the Diagnostic light - Buffalo

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Do you like the script ?
Yes
66%
 66%  [ 2 ]
No
33%
 33%  [ 1 ]
Total Votes : 3

Author Message
mojso
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Sep 2007
Posts: 232
Location: Macedonia

PostPosted: Sun Jul 11, 2010 23:47    Post subject: Display signal strength over the Diagnostic light - Buffalo Reply with quote
If someone is interested to test this script, please leave a comment if it works on Buffalo WHR models


http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/LED_Scripts#Display_signal_strength_over_the_Diagnostic_light_-_Buffalo_routers


Last edited by mojso on Tue Nov 16, 2010 23:11; edited 4 times in total
Sponsor
mojso
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Sep 2007
Posts: 232
Location: Macedonia

PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2010 17:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
no one wants to test the script ?
dende
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Jul 2010
Posts: 13
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2010 15:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
i tested the script on my Buffalo WHR-HP-G54-DD but it seems as it does not work. The diagnosis LED is not blinking at all eventhough the wifi quality is around 50%. :(

edit: Firmware: DD-WRT v24-sp2 - (10/10/09) std


Last edited by dende on Tue Jul 13, 2010 15:29; edited 1 time in total
mojso
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Sep 2007
Posts: 232
Location: Macedonia

PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2010 15:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
dende wrote:
i tested the script on my Buffalo WHR-HP-G54-DD but it seems as it does not work. The diagnosis LED is not blinking at all eventhough the wifi quality is around 50%. Sad



put mac adress if in AP mod
Find this line in the script
S=`wl rssi` #(put mac adress if in AP mod example: S=`wl rssi 00:11:22:33:44:55` )
dende
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Jul 2010
Posts: 13
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2010 15:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
yes, i tried this.

with the mac adress of the router's wifi card and the mac adress of the connected pc's wifi card.

still doesn't work Sad
mojso
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Sep 2007
Posts: 232
Location: Macedonia

PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2010 15:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
dende wrote:
yes, i tried this.

with the mac adress of the router's wifi card and the mac adress of the connected pc's wifi card.

still doesn't work Sad



wich light is thurn on, if you enter this command in telnet:
Quote:

gpio enable 7

gpio disable 7


and what version of dd-wrt in your router
dende
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Jul 2010
Posts: 13
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2010 16:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
mojso wrote:

gpio enable 7

nothing happens

Quote:

gpio disable 7

diagnosis LED turns on for ~1 sec.


Quote:
and what version of dd-wrt in your router


its Firmware: DD-WRT v24-sp2 - build 13064 standard package

_________________
HW: Buffalo WHR-HP-G54-DD
FW: DD-WRT v24-sp2 (10/10/09) std - build 13064

HW: TP-Link WR841NDv5
FW: Gargoyle 1.5.2
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7647

PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2010 16:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
WHR-HP-G54, ses_led = gpio1 according to cfe board_data.
_________________
Kernel panic: Aiee, killing interrupt handler!
mojso
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Sep 2007
Posts: 232
Location: Macedonia

PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2010 16:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
LOM wrote:
WHR-HP-G54, ses_led = gpio1 according to cfe board_data.


test now with gpio 1
Quote:

#!/bin/sh
###############################################
#--------------Created by MOJSO---------------#
###############################################
# SIGNAL STRENGTH
# 0 blink = SNR < 9 No signal or very weak
# 1 blink = SNR 10-19
# 2 blinks = SNR 20-29
# 1 blinks = SNR 30-39
# 4 blinks = SNR 40-49
# 5 blinks = SNR 50-59
# 6 blinks = SNR 60 > Excellent signal
###############################################
while sleep 1; do
BLACK=`gpio enable 1`
S=`wl rssi` #(put mac adress if in AP mod example: S=`wl rssi 00:11:22:11:44:55` )
N=`wl noise`

SC=`expr $S - $N`
RSC=`expr $SC / 10`

if [ $RSC -eq 0 ]; then
gpio enable 1 ;

elif [ $RSC -eq 1 ]; then
gpio disable 1 ;
usleep 500000
gpio enable 1 ;

elif [ $RSC -eq 2 ]; then
gpio disable 1 ;
usleep 500000
gpio enable 1 ;
usleep 500000
gpio disable 1 ;
usleep 500000
gpio enable 1 ;

elif [ $RSC -eq 3 ]; then
gpio disable 1 ;
usleep 250000
gpio enable 1 ;
usleep 250000
gpio disable 1 ;
usleep 250000
gpio enable 1 ;
usleep 250000
gpio disable 1 ;
usleep 250000
gpio enable 1 ;

elif [ $RSC -eq 4 ]; then
gpio disable 1 ;
usleep 250000
gpio enable 1 ;
usleep 250000
gpio disable 1 ;
usleep 250000
gpio enable 1 ;
usleep 250000
gpio disable 1 ;
usleep 250000
gpio enable 1 ;
usleep 250000
gpio disable 1 ;
usleep 250000
gpio enable 1 ;

elif [ $RSC -eq 5 ]; then
gpio disable 1 ;
usleep 250000
gpio enable 1 ;
usleep 250000
gpio disable 1 ;
usleep 250000
gpio enable 1 ;
usleep 250000
gpio disable 1 ;
usleep 250000
gpio enable 1 ;
usleep 250000
gpio disable 1 ;
usleep 250000
gpio enable 1 ;
usleep 250000
gpio disable 1 ;
usleep 250000
gpio enable 1 ;

elif [ $RSC -ge 6 ]; then
gpio disable 1 ;
usleep 250000
gpio enable 1 ;
usleep 250000
gpio disable 1 ;
usleep 250000
gpio enable 1 ;
usleep 250000
gpio disable 1 ;
usleep 250000
gpio enable 1 ;
usleep 250000
gpio disable 1 ;
usleep 250000
gpio enable 1 ;
usleep 250000
gpio disable 1 ;
usleep 250000
gpio enable 1 ;
usleep 250000
gpio disable 1 ;
usleep 250000
gpio enable 1 ;
else gpio enable 1 ;
fi
done


or gpio3 Extra LED between bridge and WLAN


Quote:

#!/bin/sh
###############################################
#--------------Created by MOJSO---------------#
###############################################
# SIGNAL STRENGTH
# 0 blink = SNR < 9 No signal or very weak
# 1 blink = SNR 10-19
# 2 blinks = SNR 20-29
# 3 blinks = SNR 30-39
# 4 blinks = SNR 40-49
# 5 blinks = SNR 50-59
# 6 blinks = SNR 60 > Excellent signal
###############################################
while sleep 3; do
BLACK=`gpio enable 3`
S=`wl rssi` #(put mac adress if in AP mod example: S=`wl rssi 00:11:22:33:44:55` )
N=`wl noise`

SC=`expr $S - $N`
RSC=`expr $SC / 10`

if [ $RSC -eq 0 ]; then
gpio enable 3 ;

elif [ $RSC -eq 1 ]; then
gpio disable 3 ;
usleep 500000
gpio enable 3 ;

elif [ $RSC -eq 2 ]; then
gpio disable 3 ;
usleep 500000
gpio enable 3 ;
usleep 500000
gpio disable 3 ;
usleep 500000
gpio enable 3 ;

elif [ $RSC -eq 3 ]; then
gpio disable 3 ;
usleep 250000
gpio enable 3 ;
usleep 250000
gpio disable 3 ;
usleep 250000
gpio enable 3 ;
usleep 250000
gpio disable 3 ;
usleep 250000
gpio enable 3 ;

elif [ $RSC -eq 4 ]; then
gpio disable 3 ;
usleep 250000
gpio enable 3 ;
usleep 250000
gpio disable 3 ;
usleep 250000
gpio enable 3 ;
usleep 250000
gpio disable 3 ;
usleep 250000
gpio enable 3 ;
usleep 250000
gpio disable 3 ;
usleep 250000
gpio enable 3 ;

elif [ $RSC -eq 5 ]; then
gpio disable 3 ;
usleep 250000
gpio enable 3 ;
usleep 250000
gpio disable 3 ;
usleep 250000
gpio enable 3 ;
usleep 250000
gpio disable 3 ;
usleep 250000
gpio enable 3 ;
usleep 250000
gpio disable 3 ;
usleep 250000
gpio enable 3 ;
usleep 250000
gpio disable 3 ;
usleep 250000
gpio enable 3 ;

elif [ $RSC -ge 6 ]; then
gpio disable 3 ;
usleep 250000
gpio enable 3 ;
usleep 250000
gpio disable 3 ;
usleep 250000
gpio enable 3 ;
usleep 250000
gpio disable 3 ;
usleep 250000
gpio enable 3 ;
usleep 250000
gpio disable 3 ;
usleep 250000
gpio enable 3 ;
usleep 250000
gpio disable 3 ;
usleep 250000
gpio enable 3 ;
usleep 250000
gpio disable 3 ;
usleep 250000
gpio enable 3 ;
else gpio enable 3 ;
fi
done


Last edited by mojso on Tue Jul 13, 2010 16:42; edited 5 times in total
dende
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Jul 2010
Posts: 13
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2010 16:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
LOM wrote:
WHR-HP-G54, ses_led = gpio1 according to cfe board_data.


gpio1: not found.

i learnd the following: "gpio disable 1" turns on the bridge light while "gpio enable 1" turns it off. seems wired Razz

_________________
HW: Buffalo WHR-HP-G54-DD
FW: DD-WRT v24-sp2 (10/10/09) std - build 13064

HW: TP-Link WR841NDv5
FW: Gargoyle 1.5.2
mojso
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Sep 2007
Posts: 232
Location: Macedonia

PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2010 16:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
attempt this command in telnet change mac adress before, and tell me what you get.
result should be from 1 to 9
0 is if the client / ap / wds is not connected to the router


Quote:

#!/bin/sh
S=`wl rssi 00:11:22:33:44:55` #(change mac adress )
N=`wl noise`

SC=`expr $S - $N`
expr $SC / 10
dende
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Jul 2010
Posts: 13
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2010 16:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
thank you so very much for your help, its working now.

the problem was:

while sleep 3; do
BLACK=`gpio enable 7`
S=`wl rssi` #(put mac adress if in AP mod example: S=`wl rssi 00:11:22:33:44:55` )
N=`wl noise`

i didn't insert the mac adress before the " ` " but after it. Rolling Eyes

thank you for your effort Smile

_________________
HW: Buffalo WHR-HP-G54-DD
FW: DD-WRT v24-sp2 (10/10/09) std - build 13064

HW: TP-Link WR841NDv5
FW: Gargoyle 1.5.2
mojso
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Sep 2007
Posts: 232
Location: Macedonia

PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2010 16:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
dende wrote:
thank you so very much for your help, its working now.

the problem was:

while sleep 3; do
BLACK=`gpio enable 7`
S=`wl rssi` #(put mac adress if in AP mod example: S=`wl rssi 00:11:22:33:44:55` )
N=`wl noise`

i didn't insert the mac adress before the " ` " but after it. Rolling Eyes

thank you for your effort Smile



I am glad that script works on your router. Attempt the same script with gpio 3, in the previous post
dende
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Jul 2010
Posts: 13
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2010 17:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
mojso wrote:

[...]
Attempt the same script with gpio 3, in the previous post


no led is flashing :(

tried it via telnet, doesnt work Sad

_________________
HW: Buffalo WHR-HP-G54-DD
FW: DD-WRT v24-sp2 (10/10/09) std - build 13064

HW: TP-Link WR841NDv5
FW: Gargoyle 1.5.2
mojso
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Sep 2007
Posts: 232
Location: Macedonia

PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2010 18:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
dende wrote:
mojso wrote:

[...]
Attempt the same script with gpio 3, in the previous post


no led is flashing :(

tried it via telnet, doesnt work Sad



ok thanks, that means working with gpio 7, does not work with gpio 3 in your case
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum