Channel Width HT40 does not work on TP-Link TL-WR841N(D) 8.x

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Author Message
kelvinlaw
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Dec 2011
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Mon Feb 02, 2015 13:31    Post subject: Channel Width HT40 does not work on TP-Link TL-WR841N(D) 8.x Reply with quote
I just bought TP-Link TL-WR841N(D) 8.x and found the DD-WRT v24-sp2 (01/29/15) std - build 26081 is buggy on wireless Channel Width HT40 (802.1n with 2.4G).

All the following cases with Channel Width = Wide HT40 (20+20 MHz) and Wireless Network Mode = Mixed and Regulatory Domain=HONG KONG (1-13)


1) Wireless Channel=11, Extension Channel=Lower
but the wireless status page show Channel=11 + 15 (2462)
(I chose Lower, but the extension channel is 15, which is Upper, and HK does not allow 15)

2) Wireless Channel=6, Extension Channel=Lower
but the wireless status page show Channel=6 + 10 (2437)
(I chose Lower, but the extension channel is 10, which is Upper)

3) Wireless Channel=6, Extension Channel=Upper
but the wireless status page show Channel=6 + 2 (2437)
(I chose Upper, but the extension channel is 2, which is Lower)

and most importantly, although the Wireless status page shows Rate=300 Mb/s, but all my my wifi devices (supports upto 450mbps) cannot connect with HT40, only HT20 is enabled (Max 144Mb/s).


Last edited by kelvinlaw on Tue Feb 03, 2015 13:30; edited 1 time in total
Sponsor
KrypteX
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Jan 2014
Posts: 2327

PostPosted: Mon Feb 02, 2015 15:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
The HT40 channel display on the Status-Wireless page has been extensively discussed in ticket 3951, but it looks like BrainSlayer removed the ticket entirely for whatever reason. http://svn.dd-wrt.com/ticket/3951

The bug is still not fixed for Atheros-based routers (showing an Upper extension channel instead of Lower and vice-versa). The fix would be easy, but he considers it incorrect to implement and said repeatedly that it works for him. But you see that it displays it wrong for you and also for others.

I would propose to report your issue in a new ticket on bug trac, but the registration there for new users is also locked, strangely. So yeah, we have no choice, but to switch to other firmwares with friendlier communities (you know which one I'm talking about).

If you choose to still use DD-WRT, then have fun with seeing HT40 channels displaying combinations such as 1+ -3, 2+ -2, 4+0, 11+15 or 13+17 ! As I see it, the situation won't change any time soon...

_________________
THERE ARE NO STRANGERS HERE; ONLY FRIENDS YOU HAVEN'T YET MET.
________________________________________________________________________________________________________
DD-WRT CHANGELOG | DEVICES | DD-WRT BUILDS | KONG BUILDS | UNOFFICIAL BUILDS | DD-WRT in VIRTUALBOX

Testing BrainSlayer's DD-WRT build 30520 on various units:
ArcherC7v3 WR1043NDv3 WR740Nv4 WR740Nv6 WR710Nv1 WR810Nv1 WA901NDv3 WA901NDv4
WNDR3800 WNDR3800CH WNDRMACv2 WNDRMACv1 WNR2200 WNR2000v3
DIR-862L DIR-615D2 VirtualBox|x86_64
kelvinlaw
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Dec 2011
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Tue Feb 03, 2015 13:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks for your reply and letting me know that it is not particular issue for my router, but a common issue.

by the way, may I know can you actually get channel width HT40 work? because all my wifi devices cannot get the highest connection rate, 144MB/s at most, and max real data transfer rate above 80MB/s. Is it normal?
Mile-Lile
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 24 Feb 2013
Posts: 1068
Location: Belgrade

PostPosted: Tue Feb 03, 2015 14:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
You must use WPA2+AES, check Regdomain... if not sure use channel 6 because it is in the middle of the spectrum... mode NG mixed (only N was broken last time I checked)...
_________________
WDS AP TL-WR1043ND v2.1
WDS STA TL-WR740N v4.27

HOW TO: Passive FTP on DD-WRT with CT helpers
DD-WRT enhanced security
HOW TO:Hotspotsystem
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 4605
Location: Winnipeg, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Feb 03, 2015 21:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
as long as status page says x + x in ap or wds ap mode then ht40 is on
_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S) || Qualcomm Atheros Wi-Fi Settings || Qualcomm Atheros Repeating

[QUALCOMM] R7800 ---------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r30532 std (private test)
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L A1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r30532 std (private test)
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L A1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r30532 std (private test)
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 ------> DD-WRT v3.0-r30532 std (private test)

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers



Never forget mm/cl/AM..
quickmic
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Feb 2013
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Tue Nov 03, 2015 13:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
I can confrim the HT40 wireless status bug with Linksys E4200 too. It happens only with K2.6 images.
With K3.x it's correctly displayed.
Current image 28072 but this belongs to all of the last images I had tested.
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 4605
Location: Winnipeg, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Nov 03, 2015 20:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
this is atheros not broadcom..
_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S) || Qualcomm Atheros Wi-Fi Settings || Qualcomm Atheros Repeating

[QUALCOMM] R7800 ---------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r30532 std (private test)
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L A1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r30532 std (private test)
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L A1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r30532 std (private test)
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 ------> DD-WRT v3.0-r30532 std (private test)

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers



Never forget mm/cl/AM..
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum