Wippies WifiBox

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
Author Message
moff
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Sep 2007
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Sep 12, 2007 16:55    Post subject: Wippies WifiBox Reply with quote
Today I got home a new wifi router which, like the f*nera, is free of charge.
http://www.wippies.com/ Wippies is big in Finland.

Got some details:
Bewan Wi-Fi APG61
Atheros AR2317 Single-Chip 2.4 GHz Access Point Solution (AR5007AP-G) http://www.atheros.com/pt/AR5007AP-G.htm
Integrated switch (4 ports) IP175C http://www.icplus.com.tw/pp-IP175C.html

Is there a possible way to use dd-wrt on it? Any hints on how to figure out how to enable ssh?
Somebody else uses Wippies?

/MoFF
Sponsor
Jacxz
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Dec 2007
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sun Dec 23, 2007 20:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi I got one of these myself and is a bit interested in the possibilty to get wrt working on it Smile
However i got one question.
Because wippies require you to have the box online for one year before you're "free" to do what you want with it I was thinking.
Lets say i get the box properly upgraded with wrt, what would then happen if I used the hardware resetbutton? Is the stock firmware hopefully installed?

Well well, some more specs I've found out:

8Mb Flash memory ( M25P64 )
http://www.st.com/stonline/products/literature/ds/10987/m25p64.pdf

256Mb SDRAM ( IS42S16160B )
http://biznet.issi.com/ISSIMigration/PSearch/ViewPSearchPDF.aspx?DocName=42S83200B-16160B.pdf

A pic and some serial data I've found. http://wiki.openwrt.org/usr5463
It's not the same manufacturer though the board layout is exactly the same, and the numbers on the board (141400520017J, REV:01) is the same.
And as it comes with a costum wippies FW i guess its a big difference...
mazilo
DD-WRT User


Joined: 10 Jun 2006
Posts: 385

PostPosted: Mon Dec 24, 2007 0:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ooops, ... this is only for Estonia, Finland, and Sweden countries. If they go global to US, I wouldn't mind to let them use my broadband for one year.
_________________
Mazi
UK non-geo DID #: +447031942574
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17485
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Mon Dec 24, 2007 14:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
send one device to brainslayer and we will see
_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
cellyboy
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Feb 2008
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2008 0:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
Here's a dumplog of the bootup procedure of the Wippies Wifi-Box.

Code:

   _                             
  | |__   _____      ____ _ _ __ 
  | '_ \ / _ \ \ /\ / / _` | '_ \
  | |_) |  __/\ V  V / (_| | | | |
  |_.__/ \___| \_/\_/ \__,_|_| |_|

Portions Copyright (c) 2005-2007 bewan systems
   www.bewan.com


Parameters:
  Product         : A50701
  Product family  : A50700
  Flash size      : 800000
  DRAM size       : 2000000
  Ethernet        : MII
  LAN MAC address : **
  WAN MAC address : **
  Dual bank boot  : yes
  Reset           : no
  Serial number   : **
  WEP key         : **
  Loader version  : 5962


Found valid bootable partition 0:
  Copyright (c) 2006-2007 BeWAN Systems
  Arcadyan WG4005G-LF-17 - Saunalahti
  A50701
  2007-05-29-16:10:49
  A50701-saunalahti-6-5962.bin

Booting from partition 0 in flash.

Loading: Linux Kernel Image

Load address = 80000000
Uncompressing Linux...................
done, booting the kernel.

start addr = 8028A000
memsize=32
Linux version 2.6.16bewan (karl@bob) (gcc version 3.3.4) #1 Fri May 25 17:50:48 CEST 2007

CPU revision is: 00019064

Determined physical RAM map:

 memory: 02000000 @ 00000000 (usable)

User-defined physical RAM map:

 memory: 02000000 @ 00000000 (usable)

Built 1 zonelists

Kernel command line: console=ttyS0,115200 nofpu console=ttyS0,115200n1 bewan_boot=flash0 bewan_fs_addr=0x103000 bewan_fs_size=0x288000 mem=32M

Primary instruction cache 16kB, physically tagged, 4-way, linesize 16 bytes.

Primary data cache 16kB, 4-way, linesize 16 bytes.

Synthesized TLB refill handler (20 instructions).

Synthesized TLB load handler fastpath (32 instructions).

Synthesized TLB store handler fastpath (32 instructions).

Synthesized TLB modify handler fastpath (31 instructions).

PID hash table entries: 256 (order: 8, 4096 bytes)

Using 92.000 MHz high precision timer.

Dentry cache hash table entries: 8192 (order: 3, 32768 bytes)

Inode-cache hash table entries: 4096 (order: 2, 16384 bytes)

Memory: 29568k/32768k available (2160k kernel code, 3184k reserved, 435k data, 136k init, 0k highmem)

Mount-cache hash table entries: 512

Checking for 'wait' instruction...  available.

NET: Registered protocol family 16

squashfs: version 3.0 (2006/03/15) Phillip Lougher

Squashfs 2.2 with LZMA support

devfs: 2004-01-31 Richard Gooch (rgooch@atnf.csiro.au)

devfs: boot_options: 0x1

Initializing Cryptographic API

io scheduler noop registered (default)

Serial: 8250/16550 driver $Revision: 1.1 $ 5 ports, IRQ sharing disabled

ttyS0: autoconf (0x0000, 0xb1100003): type=16550A

serial8250: ttyS0 at MMIO 0x0 (irq = 37) is a 16550A

RAMDISK driver initialized: 16 RAM disks of 8192K size 1024 blocksize

loop: loaded (max 8 devices)

spi probe init

Atheros ar531x serial flash device: 0x800000 at 0xa8000000

MTD driver for SPI flash.

spiflash: Probing for Serial flash ...

spiflash: Found SPI serial Flash.

8388608: size

Creating 5 MTD partitions on "spiflash":

0x00000000-0x00800000 : "Flash"

0x00000000-0x00010000 : "Loader"

0x00010000-0x00040000 : "Config"

0x00040000-0x00420000 : "Firmware"

0x00420000-0x00800000 : "OldFirmware"

Creating 1 MTD partitions on "spiflash":

0x00103000-0x0038b000 : "romFS"

NET: Registered protocol family 2

IP route cache hash table entries: 512 (order: -1, 2048 bytes)

TCP established hash table entries: 2048 (order: 1, 8192 bytes)

TCP bind hash table entries: 2048 (order: 1, 8192 bytes)

TCP: Hash tables configured (established 2048 bind 2048)

TCP reno registered

ip_conntrack version 2.4 (256 buckets, 2048 max) - 212 bytes per conntrack

ip_tables: (C) 2000-2006 Netfilter Core Team

TCP bic registered

Initializing IPsec netlink socket

NET: Registered protocol family 1

NET: Registered protocol family 17

NET: Registered protocol family 15

802.1Q VLAN Support v1.8 Ben Greear <greearb@candelatech.com>

All bugs added by David S. Miller <davem@redhat.com>

Ethernet Multiplexer Support v1.0 Christophe Piel (c) 2006 BeWAN systems

VFS: Mounted root (squashfs filesystem) readonly.

Mounted devfs on /dev

Freeing unused kernel memory: 136k freed
cellyboy
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Feb 2008
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2008 0:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
Code:
init started:  BusyBox v1.00 (2007.05.25-15:55+0000) multi-call binary
Starting pid 100, console /dev/tts/0: '/etc/rc'
Algorithmics/MIPS FPU Emulator v1.5

Mon Jan  1 00:00:00 UTC 2007
LED and Buttons driver: v2.6.0

 _                             
| |__   _____      ____ _ _ __ 
| '_ \ / _ \ \ /\ / / _` | '_ \
| |_) |  __/\ V  V / (_| | | | |
|_.__/ \___| \_/\_/ \__,_|_| |_|
/etc/init.d/syslog start
/etc/init.d/dsl nothing
modprobe: module ctlmeth not found.
modprobe: failed to load module ctlmeth
/etc/init.d/interface nothing LANEthernetInterface 1
/etc/init.d/wifi nothing 1
/etc/init.d/wifi nothing 2
/etc/init.d/wifi nothing 3
/etc/init.d/autodslam start auto-stop
/etc/init.d/lan nothing 1
/etc/init.d/lan nothing 2
/etc/init.d/lan nothing 3
/etc/init.d/users start
/etc/init.d/unix start
/etc/init.d/unixusers start 1
/etc/init.d/unixusers start 2
/etc/init.d/time start
/etc/init.d/mdns nothing
/etc/init.d/rmthttp start
/etc/init.d/wan nothing 1
/etc/init.d/qos start all
/etc/init.d/dhcp start all
/etc/init.d/dhcpd start all
/etc/init.d/dhcrelay start all
/etc/init.d/hbrdhcp start all
/etc/init.d/dnsmasq start
/etc/init.d/pppd start all
/etc/init.d/dhclient start all
/etc/init.d/hostapd nothing all
/etc/init.d/wpa_supplicant nothing all
/etc/init.d/pptp stop
/etc/init.d/openl2tp stop
/etc/init.d/ipsec restart all
/etc/init.d/ipsec nothing 1
/etc/init.d/racoon stop
/etc/init.d/fwrules start
/etc/init.d/iptables start
/etc/init.d/ebtables nothing
/etc/init.d/routes start
/etc/init.d/upnp nothing
/etc/init.d/dyndns nothing
/etc/init.d/phy nothing 1 1
/etc/init.d/inittab
/etc/init.d/upgd nothing
/etc/init.d/inetd start
/etc/init.d/http start
/etc/init.d/htpwd start
/etc/init.d/tr069 start
rc completed
Starting pid 415, console /dev/null: '/bin/dnsmasq'
Starting pid 416, console /dev/console: '/bin/resetd'
Starting pid 413, console /dev/null: '/sbin/syslogd'
Starting pid 414, console /dev/null: '/sbin/klogd'
/etc/init.d/host start
/etc/init.d/webcam start
/etc/init.d/inittab
Reloading /etc/inittab
Starting pid 434, console /dev/null: '/bin/lighttpd'
Starting pid 432, console /dev/console: '/bin/thttpd'
Starting pid 433, console /dev/console: '/bin/tr069'

Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17485
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2008 23:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
looks nice

but sebastian needs a device on his desk for the port.
so its necessary that u send one device to him.

no board no port Cool

_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
cellyboy
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Feb 2008
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2008 7:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
How would that work? Smile Wippies has some kind've contract that if one cannot provide a heartbeat for at least a year (according to contract) one is said to having broken the contract rules and has to pay for the router in question, would one send it over post then? And how high are the probabilities of him being able to work something out? Smile
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17485
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2008 15:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
plz wirte a email with this topiclink to brainslayer and ask him if its possible and if he´s willing to port.
_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
plugg
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Feb 2008
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2008 14:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
http://forum.wippies.com/index.php/topic,1031.0.html
last post.

I also have one homebox that is not binded by the contract.
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17485
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2008 21:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
hi guy

i just saw that there is no redboot installed. this makres the port a bit more difficult.
but the thing is that on of this must be send to brainslayer

_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
Snigel
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Jul 2007
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon May 26, 2008 23:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sash wrote:
hi guy

i just saw that there is no redboot installed. this makres the port a bit more difficult.
but the thing is that on of this must be send to brainslayer


Suppose it's no problem to port dd-wrt to this device, what would the lack of redboot mean to the end user?
BrainSlayer
Site Admin


Joined: 06 Jun 2006
Posts: 6109
Location: Dresden, Germany

PostPosted: Mon May 26, 2008 23:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
should be no problem for porting. maybe getting into for the first time might be tricky since its no standard bootloader.

for the redboot i'm able to create a redboot for this device if really neccessary. but right now i'm trying to keep it always original to make it possible to flash it back if required.

ah and as information the unit has 32 mb ram, not 256. never swap bit and byte

one interesting point about this device. its based on linux, but i cannot find any gpl sources for it nor any information about the usage of gpl sources.

its not required for me, but might make it easier to find out the wippies firmware format for flashing

_________________
one cigarette costs 2 minutes of your life.
one bottle of beer costs 4 minutes of your life.
one working day costs 8 hours of your life.

DD-WRT supported Concerts @ Bunker Dresden
03.10.2014 - Front 242 / Haujobb / Planet Myer Day
olmari
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 24 Oct 2006
Posts: 1447
Location: Vaasa, Finland

PostPosted: Tue May 27, 2008 16:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
BrainSlayer wrote:

one interesting point about this device. its based on linux, but i cannot find any gpl sources for it nor any information about the usage of gpl sources.


Actually there is, but rather hidden on the help section, and apparently finnish pages only... Direct link to page: http://www.wippies.fi/gpl.phtml

There are 2 diffirent sources, but there are nowadays at least 2 diffirent wippies box too... I think the wifibox is what folks have been talked about, but you might want to look for yourself too if both would be compatible...

P.S. I do not own wippies myself Smile

_________________
Site 1:
P3 1GHz Coppermine with DD-WRT v24 as main router
2x Buffalo WHR-HP-G54 with DD-WRT v24 as AP

Site 2:
AMD64 4200+ Dualcore AM2 with DD-WRT v24 as main router
Buffalo WHR-HP-G54 with DD-WRT v24 as AP
keskju
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 May 2008
Posts: 1
Location: Vaasa, Finland

PostPosted: Tue May 27, 2008 22:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
HomeBox is ADSL modem with wifi router
WifiBox is WiFi router Cool
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 8
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum