Can dd-wrt enable the Hardware NAT on TP-LINK WDR4300?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
hero7
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Jul 2011
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Apr 15, 2013 3:57    Post subject: Can dd-wrt enable the Hardware NAT on TP-LINK WDR4300? Reply with quote
I found that the factory firmware of TP-LINK WDR4300 had some annoying problems, such as failed on using PPTP/Cisco IPSec, disconnection on WAN for using BT on a certain time.

I am thinking about changing to use DD-WRT. However, I bought WDR4300 because of hardware NAT.

Can dd-wrt use the hardware NAT of this router? Thanks.
Sponsor
luxury54
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Sep 2006
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Mon Apr 15, 2013 4:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
no, it can not...and neither can any 3-rd party software at this point
hero7
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Jul 2011
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Apr 15, 2013 7:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
luxury54 wrote:
no, it can not...and neither can any 3-rd party software at this point


Thanks. Surprised
c1355054
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Feb 2013
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Thu Aug 08, 2013 2:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
That said, do you have a >400MBps WAN connection? If not, the router's processor running open source firmware can handle it.
checho
DD-WRT User


Joined: 27 Feb 2007
Posts: 499
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Thu Aug 08, 2013 3:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
c1355054 wrote:
That said, do you have a >400MBps WAN connection? If not, the router's processor running open source firmware can handle it.


It's not the speed my friend, it's the number of packets per second that matters Wink
nebbia88
DD-WRT User


Joined: 08 Mar 2010
Posts: 173

PostPosted: Sun Aug 11, 2013 13:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
checho wrote:

It's not the speed my friend, it's the number of packets per second that matters Wink


so what is the limit with or without HW NAT?
AlunS
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Nov 2013
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Nov 12, 2013 12:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
nebbia88 wrote:
checho wrote:

It's not the speed my friend, it's the number of packets per second that matters Wink


so what is the limit with or without HW NAT?

I'm interested in this topic too. I have a WDR4300 and flashed it with DD-WRT and was overall quite impressed, but WAN throughput on my 150MBps cable connection seemed to be limited to about 130Mbps. This was using my ISP's own speedtest facility which consistently returns 150Mbps figures with the stock firmware.

I'm due for an upgrade to 200Mbps soon, so I'd like to know too whether there's anything I can do to achieve my full WAN speed on the WDR4300 with DD_WRT.
fgimenez
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Jun 2006
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Thu Jul 31, 2014 1:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
bump
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 1903
Location: Winnipeg, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Aug 01, 2014 0:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
no BUT, there is ddtb now, ddwrt turbo boost. if i understand the code correctly it only seems to be for k3.10 & up, it was removed from k3.5 probably cause it dont work. but i think wdr4300 uses k3.10 as does the wdr4900
_________________
[QUALCOMM ATHEROS] TP-LINK TL-WDR4900 v1.3 --> DD-WRT v24-sp2 (07/31/14) std - build 24756 (private test build)
[QUALCOMM ATHEROS] NETGEAR WNDR3700 v1 ----> DD-WRT v24-sp2 (08/28/14) std - build 24939 (private test build)
[QUALCOMM ATHEROS] D-Link DIR-825 B1 ----------> DD-WRT v24-sp2 (08/28/14) std - build 24939 (private test build)

Qualcomm Atheros Wi-Fi Settings Wiki --> http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/QCA_wireless_settings

LATEST FIRMWARE(S) --> ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/

When im drunk im usually more helpful just saying..

No im not japanese
fgimenez
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Jun 2006
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Fri Aug 01, 2014 6:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
ddtb?
Where can I find more details about that? did forum and wiki searches and found nothing.
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 1903
Location: Winnipeg, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Aug 01, 2014 7:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
Code:
New:

  -DD-WRT Turboboost (NAT acceleration) with qos support. WAN-LAN routing speed in lab ~800Mbps


http://desipro.de/ddwrt/K3-AC-Arm/Changelog

kong's builds for broadcom but the ddtb commits were done on the main svn tree for k3.10 & up & some atheros runs k3.10 so..im not sure if its using the actual nat chip or just using other methods but its something

it should be in the next release

_________________
[QUALCOMM ATHEROS] TP-LINK TL-WDR4900 v1.3 --> DD-WRT v24-sp2 (07/31/14) std - build 24756 (private test build)
[QUALCOMM ATHEROS] NETGEAR WNDR3700 v1 ----> DD-WRT v24-sp2 (08/28/14) std - build 24939 (private test build)
[QUALCOMM ATHEROS] D-Link DIR-825 B1 ----------> DD-WRT v24-sp2 (08/28/14) std - build 24939 (private test build)

Qualcomm Atheros Wi-Fi Settings Wiki --> http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/QCA_wireless_settings

LATEST FIRMWARE(S) --> ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/

When im drunk im usually more helpful just saying..

No im not japanese
fgimenez
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Jun 2006
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Sat Aug 02, 2014 5:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
Interesting.
Checking the Changeset's log looks like changeset 24556 is when this was introduced, just 4 weeks ago.

In changeset 24567 it said "shameless reimplementation of broadcom ctf nat acceleration driver"

It looks broadcom oriented. I wonder if this is something that would work on Atheros too.
Not sure if the broadcom and atheros hardware acceleration chips use compatible interfaces.
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 1903
Location: Winnipeg, Canada

PostPosted: Sat Aug 02, 2014 5:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
but in the config files atheros routers have "CONFIG_DDTB=y"

be able to find out quickly if i had some 250mbps wan but i dont..(thats $150+/month here)

_________________
[QUALCOMM ATHEROS] TP-LINK TL-WDR4900 v1.3 --> DD-WRT v24-sp2 (07/31/14) std - build 24756 (private test build)
[QUALCOMM ATHEROS] NETGEAR WNDR3700 v1 ----> DD-WRT v24-sp2 (08/28/14) std - build 24939 (private test build)
[QUALCOMM ATHEROS] D-Link DIR-825 B1 ----------> DD-WRT v24-sp2 (08/28/14) std - build 24939 (private test build)

Qualcomm Atheros Wi-Fi Settings Wiki --> http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/QCA_wireless_settings

LATEST FIRMWARE(S) --> ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/

When im drunk im usually more helpful just saying..

No im not japanese
fgimenez
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Jun 2006
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Sat Aug 02, 2014 8:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
you could plug the WAN port into another gigabit router's LAN port and try "iperf" between two machines, one on each side of the router.

I don't have another gigabit router (and I haven't decided what to flash on my wdr3600 yet) otherwise I could test it myself.

I guess it's not a big deal anyway since that kind of bandwidth is not even available where I live (unless you pay an insane amount of money), but anything that can offload stuff from the CPU is probably a good idea if you plan to use the CPU for other stuff.

I think this feature could be a big differentiator for DD-Wrt since OpenWrt apparently has no interest in making any NAT offloading work anywhere.
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 1903
Location: Winnipeg, Canada

PostPosted: Sat Aug 02, 2014 9:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
didnt think it was that easy ill try that tomorrow then
_________________
[QUALCOMM ATHEROS] TP-LINK TL-WDR4900 v1.3 --> DD-WRT v24-sp2 (07/31/14) std - build 24756 (private test build)
[QUALCOMM ATHEROS] NETGEAR WNDR3700 v1 ----> DD-WRT v24-sp2 (08/28/14) std - build 24939 (private test build)
[QUALCOMM ATHEROS] D-Link DIR-825 B1 ----------> DD-WRT v24-sp2 (08/28/14) std - build 24939 (private test build)

Qualcomm Atheros Wi-Fi Settings Wiki --> http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/QCA_wireless_settings

LATEST FIRMWARE(S) --> ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/

When im drunk im usually more helpful just saying..

No im not japanese
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum