Can't get full speed

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
Nerdy3.14159265
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Jan 2013
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Sun Jun 21, 2015 4:22    Post subject: Can't get full speed Reply with quote
No matter what I do, I keep having issues trying to get my full bandwidth on my router. If I directly connect to the modem I can get like 200/20 but with the router I'm lucky to get 100/10. Not only that but the speed isn't even consistent, it has a lot of fluctuation.

Watching the router's cpu usage during the speedtests doesn't indicate it's getting capped out from that.

Router: TL-WDR3600v1
Firmware: v3.0-r27343 (06/17/15)
Kernel: Linux 3.10.80 #3867
Sponsor
pirithous
DD-WRT User


Joined: 19 Dec 2013
Posts: 81

PostPosted: Sun Jun 21, 2015 17:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
You have a 50 dollar router (sometimes cheaper when on sale) running third party firmware. That's to be expected. If you want high performance, buy Cisco-grade gear. You can also use a PC and turn that into a router.

Further DD-WRT optimizations will come in the future.
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 3289
Location: Winnipeg, Canada

PostPosted: Sun Jun 21, 2015 22:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
ar9344 should take that speed, that looks more like a switch using 100mbps instead of gigabit, issue..
_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S) || Qualcomm Atheros Wi-Fi Settings || Qualcomm Atheros Repeating

[QUALCOMM ATHEROS] TL-WDR4900 v1.3 --> DD-WRT v3.0-r27456 (06/27/15) std
[QUALCOMM ATHEROS] DIR-862L A1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r27456 (06/27/15) std
[QUALCOMM ATHEROS] WNDR4300 v1 ------> DD-WRT v3.0-r27456 (06/27/15) std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[QUALCOMM ATHEROS] WNDR3700 v1 ------> DD-WRT v3.0-r27456 (06/27/15) std
[QUALCOMM ATHEROS] DIR-825 B1 ---------> DD-WRT v3.0-r27456 (06/27/15) std

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers
Nerdy3.14159265
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Jan 2013
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Sun Jun 21, 2015 23:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
How can I check if it's using 100mbps or gigabit? The cable should be fine, I was able to hit over 100mbps with it hooked to my computer to the modem and it registered as a gigabit connection.
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 3289
Location: Winnipeg, Canada

PostPosted: Sun Jun 21, 2015 23:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
"dmesg" command.

when checking speed telnet login & type "top", ull see this plus running process list, whats the reported cpu usage there? especially idle & sirq

CPU: 0.0% usr 0.0% sys 0.0% nic 97.8% idle 0.0% io 0.0% irq 2.2% sirq

_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S) || Qualcomm Atheros Wi-Fi Settings || Qualcomm Atheros Repeating

[QUALCOMM ATHEROS] TL-WDR4900 v1.3 --> DD-WRT v3.0-r27456 (06/27/15) std
[QUALCOMM ATHEROS] DIR-862L A1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r27456 (06/27/15) std
[QUALCOMM ATHEROS] WNDR4300 v1 ------> DD-WRT v3.0-r27456 (06/27/15) std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[QUALCOMM ATHEROS] WNDR3700 v1 ------> DD-WRT v3.0-r27456 (06/27/15) std
[QUALCOMM ATHEROS] DIR-825 B1 ---------> DD-WRT v3.0-r27456 (06/27/15) std

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers
Nerdy3.14159265
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Jan 2013
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Tue Jun 23, 2015 0:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ran top during a speed test. sirq maxed out at a little less than 50% and idle seemed to make up almost all of the rest (typically at least a little larger than 50%)

BTW, I don't know if it affects the results at all but I was using SSH to talk to the router.
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 3289
Location: Winnipeg, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Jun 23, 2015 1:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
its not the cpu, check the switch link speeds from the command i gave u
_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S) || Qualcomm Atheros Wi-Fi Settings || Qualcomm Atheros Repeating

[QUALCOMM ATHEROS] TL-WDR4900 v1.3 --> DD-WRT v3.0-r27456 (06/27/15) std
[QUALCOMM ATHEROS] DIR-862L A1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r27456 (06/27/15) std
[QUALCOMM ATHEROS] WNDR4300 v1 ------> DD-WRT v3.0-r27456 (06/27/15) std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[QUALCOMM ATHEROS] WNDR3700 v1 ------> DD-WRT v3.0-r27456 (06/27/15) std
[QUALCOMM ATHEROS] DIR-825 B1 ---------> DD-WRT v3.0-r27456 (06/27/15) std

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers
Nerdy3.14159265
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Jan 2013
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Tue Jun 23, 2015 1:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
I couldn't make out anything related to the switch link speeds. The only notable thing I found was tons of "Failed to stop TX DMA" messages that you replied to in the other thread.

Could you tell me what I'm specifically looking for in the output?

EDIT: Nevermind, turns out I hadn't used a properly fine toothed comb. "eth0: link up (1000Mbps/Full Duplex)"
Nerdy3.14159265
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Jan 2013
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Wed Jun 24, 2015 18:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
So what's the thought now? It's hooked up with a full gigabit line. So what might be causing the slowdown?
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 3289
Location: Winnipeg, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Jun 24, 2015 18:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
is qos on?
_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S) || Qualcomm Atheros Wi-Fi Settings || Qualcomm Atheros Repeating

[QUALCOMM ATHEROS] TL-WDR4900 v1.3 --> DD-WRT v3.0-r27456 (06/27/15) std
[QUALCOMM ATHEROS] DIR-862L A1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r27456 (06/27/15) std
[QUALCOMM ATHEROS] WNDR4300 v1 ------> DD-WRT v3.0-r27456 (06/27/15) std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[QUALCOMM ATHEROS] WNDR3700 v1 ------> DD-WRT v3.0-r27456 (06/27/15) std
[QUALCOMM ATHEROS] DIR-825 B1 ---------> DD-WRT v3.0-r27456 (06/27/15) std

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers
Nerdy3.14159265
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Jan 2013
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Wed Jun 24, 2015 18:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
It shouldn't be. I just recently did a full 30/30/30, upgrade, never turned on QoS.
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 3289
Location: Winnipeg, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Jun 24, 2015 18:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
turn it on & set down & up global speeds to 0, whats the result then?
_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S) || Qualcomm Atheros Wi-Fi Settings || Qualcomm Atheros Repeating

[QUALCOMM ATHEROS] TL-WDR4900 v1.3 --> DD-WRT v3.0-r27456 (06/27/15) std
[QUALCOMM ATHEROS] DIR-862L A1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r27456 (06/27/15) std
[QUALCOMM ATHEROS] WNDR4300 v1 ------> DD-WRT v3.0-r27456 (06/27/15) std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[QUALCOMM ATHEROS] WNDR3700 v1 ------> DD-WRT v3.0-r27456 (06/27/15) std
[QUALCOMM ATHEROS] DIR-825 B1 ---------> DD-WRT v3.0-r27456 (06/27/15) std

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers
Nerdy3.14159265
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Jan 2013
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Thu Jun 25, 2015 4:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
My speed instantly dropped from 100/20 pre-QoS to like 12/4. Disabling returned my speed back to my normal speed with router.
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 3289
Location: Winnipeg, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Jun 25, 2015 4:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
what is the model of the isp modem?
_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S) || Qualcomm Atheros Wi-Fi Settings || Qualcomm Atheros Repeating

[QUALCOMM ATHEROS] TL-WDR4900 v1.3 --> DD-WRT v3.0-r27456 (06/27/15) std
[QUALCOMM ATHEROS] DIR-862L A1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r27456 (06/27/15) std
[QUALCOMM ATHEROS] WNDR4300 v1 ------> DD-WRT v3.0-r27456 (06/27/15) std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[QUALCOMM ATHEROS] WNDR3700 v1 ------> DD-WRT v3.0-r27456 (06/27/15) std
[QUALCOMM ATHEROS] DIR-825 B1 ---------> DD-WRT v3.0-r27456 (06/27/15) std

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers
Nerdy3.14159265
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Jan 2013
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Thu Jun 25, 2015 5:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
Arris tg1672g
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum