TL-WDR3600 v1 upgrade problems

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Author Message
cdrshm
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Jul 2014
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Jul 24, 2014 2:04    Post subject: TL-WDR3600 v1 upgrade problems Reply with quote
I am currently running DD-WRT v24-sp2 (03/25/13) std - build 21061

I have been unable to telnet (won't accept username and password), putty (won't connect me). I have everything enabled and configured in the web interface, but no luck!

so i figured i should upgrade to a newer version. After downloading the newer build, i go to the web interface and browse to the file and upgrade.... it goes for about 3-5 seconds says its successful and reboots, but i am still at the same build. no errors or anything....I am uploading the file using a wired connection....

I can't connect to the device any other way than the web interface, even though i have ssh and telnet enabled. Like i said, telnet prompts me for a username and password but the one i use to log into the web interface with does not work....

Any thoughts?

cdrshm
Sponsor
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 1892
Location: Winnipeg, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Jul 24, 2014 2:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
telnet username is always root, the password is the password you set
_________________
[QUALCOMM ATHEROS] TP-LINK TL-WDR4900 v1.3 --> DD-WRT v24-sp2 (07/31/14) std - build 24756 (private test build)
[QUALCOMM ATHEROS] NETGEAR WNDR3700 v1 ----> DD-WRT v24-sp2 (08/25/14) std - build 24906 (private test build)
[QUALCOMM ATHEROS] D-Link DIR-825 B1 ----------> DD-WRT v24-sp2 (08/25/14) std - build 24906 (private test build)

Qualcomm Atheros Wi-Fi Settings Wiki --> http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/QCA_wireless_settings

LATEST FIRMWARE(S) --> ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/

When im drunk im usually more helpful just saying..
cdrshm
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Jul 2014
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Jul 24, 2014 2:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ahhhhh... Thank you!! Any thoughts on why i can't upgrade?
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 1892
Location: Winnipeg, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Jul 24, 2014 4:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
what build are you trying to update to?
_________________
[QUALCOMM ATHEROS] TP-LINK TL-WDR4900 v1.3 --> DD-WRT v24-sp2 (07/31/14) std - build 24756 (private test build)
[QUALCOMM ATHEROS] NETGEAR WNDR3700 v1 ----> DD-WRT v24-sp2 (08/25/14) std - build 24906 (private test build)
[QUALCOMM ATHEROS] D-Link DIR-825 B1 ----------> DD-WRT v24-sp2 (08/25/14) std - build 24906 (private test build)

Qualcomm Atheros Wi-Fi Settings Wiki --> http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/QCA_wireless_settings

LATEST FIRMWARE(S) --> ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/

When im drunk im usually more helpful just saying..
cdrshm
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Jul 2014
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Jul 24, 2014 12:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
tatsuya46 wrote:
what build are you trying to update to?


ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/others/eko/BrainSlayer-V24-preSP2/2014/06-23-2014-r24461/tplink_tl-wdr3600v1/
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 1892
Location: Winnipeg, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Jul 24, 2014 18:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
try r23919 first then to r24461
_________________
[QUALCOMM ATHEROS] TP-LINK TL-WDR4900 v1.3 --> DD-WRT v24-sp2 (07/31/14) std - build 24756 (private test build)
[QUALCOMM ATHEROS] NETGEAR WNDR3700 v1 ----> DD-WRT v24-sp2 (08/25/14) std - build 24906 (private test build)
[QUALCOMM ATHEROS] D-Link DIR-825 B1 ----------> DD-WRT v24-sp2 (08/25/14) std - build 24906 (private test build)

Qualcomm Atheros Wi-Fi Settings Wiki --> http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/QCA_wireless_settings

LATEST FIRMWARE(S) --> ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/

When im drunk im usually more helpful just saying..
cdrshm
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Jul 2014
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri Jul 25, 2014 3:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
tatsuya46 wrote:
try r23919 first then to r24461


Well I tried that with the same results, I don't think its an issue with the firmware. When I go to update the firmware, I select the correct file and then click upgrade. I get the countdown timer of 300 seconds, and literally 3 seconds goes by and it says upgrade complete and the router reboots... but it never upgrades......
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 1892
Location: Winnipeg, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Jul 25, 2014 4:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
if you try to flash 21061 again does it accept it or do the same thing?
_________________
[QUALCOMM ATHEROS] TP-LINK TL-WDR4900 v1.3 --> DD-WRT v24-sp2 (07/31/14) std - build 24756 (private test build)
[QUALCOMM ATHEROS] NETGEAR WNDR3700 v1 ----> DD-WRT v24-sp2 (08/25/14) std - build 24906 (private test build)
[QUALCOMM ATHEROS] D-Link DIR-825 B1 ----------> DD-WRT v24-sp2 (08/25/14) std - build 24906 (private test build)

Qualcomm Atheros Wi-Fi Settings Wiki --> http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/QCA_wireless_settings

LATEST FIRMWARE(S) --> ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/

When im drunk im usually more helpful just saying..
johnnynl
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Apr 2014
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Fri Jul 25, 2014 7:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
Did you upload the BIN file to /tmp and tried flashing in SSH?
I had the same issue on my WDR3600 and i resolved the issue by doing this.

Code:
1. You will have to flash via WinScp and before enable the ssh daemon (service)? If not, SSH administration will be greyed out and disabled. You need to enable both the service and the administration. 
 
2. Upload the web revert (dd-wrt to stock)file using Winscp in the /tmp folder of your router. 
 
3. Connect with Putty and give this commands: 
 
cd /tmp 
 
mtd -r write xxx.bin linux 
 
[b]Every command at once hitting Enter.[/b] 
 
Wait for the flashing to complete then restart and reset to factory defaults. 
cdrshm
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Jul 2014
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Jul 28, 2014 23:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
johnnynl wrote:
Did you upload the BIN file to /tmp and tried flashing in SSH?
I had the same issue on my WDR3600 and i resolved the issue by doing this.

Code:
1. You will have to flash via WinScp and before enable the ssh daemon (service)? If not, SSH administration will be greyed out and disabled. You need to enable both the service and the administration. 
 
2. Upload the web revert (dd-wrt to stock)file using Winscp in the /tmp folder of your router. 
 
3. Connect with Putty and give this commands: 
 
cd /tmp 
 
mtd -r write xxx.bin linux 
 
[b]Every command at once hitting Enter.[/b] 
 
Wait for the flashing to complete then restart and reset to factory defaults. 


Well I wanted to give an update, in case someone else has this issue. I couldn't downgrade, couldn't even upload files via WinSCP, couldn't ssh, could only telnet. So I put the firmware on a usb drive and plugged it in. used telnet to get to the usb drive and ran the mtd -r write xxx.bin Linux command and everything worked great!

Thanks for everyone's assistance!!

cdrshm
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum