GURU's Netgear wndr 3400 update - test build page 7

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 20, 21, 22, 23  Next
Author Message
Latharion
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Sep 2011
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat May 26, 2012 21:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
The .chk files are specifically for converting the router from the stock firmware (which uses the .chk extension) to the DD-WRT firmware, (which uses the .bin extension). Look for a standard build that has the .bin extension and it should work fine through the web update interface.

If you want to revert the router back to the stock firmware, (which uses the .chk extension), then the old firmware has to be deleted from the router using a command that is built into DD-WRT... there are very good instructions on the wiki on how to do that.
Sponsor
wooglin280
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Jul 2012
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Jul 19, 2012 18:09    Post subject: 5Ghz band not working Reply with quote
Have there been any updates on the problem with the 5Ghz wireless band causing the router to crash/restart?

I have used the following firmware:
Eko:
    dd-wrt.v24-17990_NEWD-2_K2.6_mini-WNDR3400.chk
    dd-wrt.v24-17990_NEWD-2_K2.6_mega-nv64k.bin
    dd-wrt.v24-18946_NEWD-2_K2.6_mega-nv64k.bin (Bricked)

Brainslayer:
    dd-wrt.v24-17990_NEWD-2_K2.6_mini-WNDR3400.chk
    dd-wrt.v24-18024_NEWD-2_K2.6_big-nv64k.bin
    dd-wrt.v24-19342_NEWD-2_K2.6_big-nv64k.bin (**Sort of Bricked]

The brainslayer 19342 big firmware seems to automatically enable the 5Ghz band by default and this is causing the restart/crash issue. It wouldn't stay up long enough to disable the 5Ghz band.

By the way, i used the pin short technique to de-brick this router. I tried just using tftp for hours with no luck. Here's the link if you're interested. I've used both the dd-wrt.v24-17990_NEWD-2_K2.6_mini-WNDR3400.chk firmware and the official netgear firmware with this technique. Do this at your own risk. http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=682890

My router is WNDR3400v1
psycho2097
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Aug 2012
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2012 6:21    Post subject: How to enable NTFS? NOOB ALERT Reply with quote
So huge noob here, n this is gonna b my first time flashing dd-wrt on my 3400. I hav had a brief encounter on Linksys 160NL, but thats it. Up till now, most of the flashing process i understand well enuf, after copious amounts of reading. But one thing i jus cant figure out:
One of my primary uses is sharing an external NTFS HDD thru this router, how do i go about getting NTFS support on the 17990 build?
2 TB HDD partitioned into 1.3TB NTFS and 600MB ext3. I guess the ext3 partition will be seen easily enuf, wat do i do abt the NTFS?
I need very simple explanations, pls...... It would be extremely helpful.
dugle80
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Aug 2012
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2012 23:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
Has anyone gotten dd-wrt successfully installed onto a netgear wndr3400v2? I'm a little confused if it is or isn't supported at the moment. Even after reading through this thread. I've tried using dd-wrt.v24-17990_NEWD-2_K2.6_mini-WNDR3400.chk, 18946, 17584, 17567 and the router always rejects it off the bat with "Firmware upgrade failed. Please check your file." I saw some test builds posted in this thread a while back, and I tested those as well with the same result.

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks!
Latharion
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Sep 2011
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2012 18:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
As of right now the WNDR 3400v2 is NOT supported. THe current mini drive DD-WRT will most likely brick a v2 so it would be very prudent to not attempt it.
tavus
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Aug 2012
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Fri Aug 24, 2012 20:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
Using version:

dd-wrt.v24-17990_NEWD-2_K2.6_mini-WNDR3400.chk

I got into an issue while trying to setup a webcam for a nursery. There's some type of loopback issue. Ports forwarded are open but times out everytime.

Is any build before this free of the issue or do I have to go trial and error on my own?
buddee
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 06 Feb 2010
Posts: 7371
Location: Little Rock

PostPosted: Fri Aug 24, 2012 23:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
tavus wrote:
Using version:

dd-wrt.v24-17990_NEWD-2_K2.6_mini-WNDR3400.chk

I got into an issue while trying to setup a webcam for a nursery. There's some type of loopback issue. Ports forwarded are open but times out everytime.

Is any build before this free of the issue or do I have to go trial and error on my own?


Refer to my sig for loopback code testing. Its with # 15760 where loopback gets broken, so no, there isn't a build that you can roll back to before this issue was introduced, because that unit was supported with 17567 and on.

_________________
Wireless N Config | Linking Routers | DD-WRT Wiki | DD-WRT Builds | Peacock - Broadcom FAQ

Having problems with port forwarding? Check out Port Forward Troubleshooting for more info.
tavus
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Aug 2012
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2012 4:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks buddee and all involved. I did find the adequate working command for my issue on that thread.

Problem solved!
metalchewy
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Sep 2012
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Sep 04, 2012 19:27    Post subject: New to dd-wrt Reply with quote
Hi,

I've been watching this forum since my netgear v1 crapped out on me about about February of last year. It was under warranty, but they wanted me to 'pay' an additional $95 for software support to get someone to log on and fix it.

At any rate. I finally had some time this last weekend to install

dd-wrt.v24-17990_NEWD-2_K2.6_mini-WNDR3400.chk

It installed fine, but when I tried to update it to:

dd-wrt.v24-18946_NEWD-2_K2.6_big.bin

The upgrade fails. it fails via the update facility on the router and via tftp and tftp2 from either windows or linux

Trying to figure out what I am doing wrong. tftp and tftp2 both fail on timeout, but the update utility gets all the way to "Upgrading Firmware, Please Wait" wait popup and then eventually fails.

Any ideas would be appreciated.

Edit: Is there another version I should be going to instead of this? I need USB Support. And eventually would like to re-enable 5GHz.
metalchewy
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Sep 2012
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Sep 05, 2012 14:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
I tried a few more, Still havent successfully ugraded from the base mini.

dd-wrt.v24-18946_NEWD-2_K2.6_mini_usb.bin
On start of Upgrade after button is clicked, Router goes down. Wireless shuts off and Router resets.
tftp times-out and tftp2 fails upgrade

dd-wrt.v24-18946_NEWD-2_K2.6_std_usb_nas-nv64k.bin
On start of Upgrade after button is clicked, Router goes down. Wireless shuts off and Router resets.
tftp times-out and tftp2 fails upgrade
metalchewy
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Sep 2012
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Sep 05, 2012 18:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
Tried enabling 5Ghz. Couldnt connect to 5ghz and the 2Ghz band would only keep a connection for about 30 seconds. Just short enough that I couldnt turn off the 5Ghz thru the UI.

30-30-30 and restored the settings.

BTW, the Repeater Bridge, still working great. Have a shelf up near the vaulted ceiling that enables the broadcast to hit every room in the house with 75% or higher, Plus can picke it up acrossed the street or at the neighbors at 50%. Very good.

Once I get USB working and setup SAMBA on it, It'll be set.

Still not sure why it wont upgrade beyond the mini.
Defkon
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Sep 19, 2012 23:48    Post subject: Just purchased a WNDR3400v2 Reply with quote
Just bought one of these yesterday. I am willing to help out in any way I can to speed up the process. Just let me know what I can do.
AgostinhoF
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Sep 2012
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 20:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
mbze430 wrote:
Well, my *sorta* works. Everything is fine except my 2.4ghz NG-Mixed and N-Only is has REALLY slow speeds. No more than 3MB/sec.

I am about to do a 30/30/30 and go back to the Netgear firmware and test the 2.4ghz band again. If everything seems ok with the 2.4ghz with the Netgear, I'll go back to the DD-WRT upgrade path and see how it works.



Same problem, the higest speed i can set is 54Mbps at 2.4ghz, file transfer is reeeealy slow.

I'm using the 17790 big, for that version, wich is the better dlna (working) server? I installed the OTRW, and, the twonky server is not properly working...
zefie
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Nov 2006
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Sep 27, 2012 21:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
Been using DD-WRT for months without issue, all of a sudden while trying to isolate a LAN port from the rest of the LAN, one of the reboots becomes a brick.

I'm trying to understand how an nvram update of any kind could brick my router to the point that it is now. 30-30-30 does not work, no ethernet ports initialize, and it just sits with internet (amber) and 1 2 3 4 (green) lit up. It acts like a bad flash of the worse kind, but the firmware itself was not touched, just nvram via admin startup commands in the GUI.

Can't understand how this is possible. I would think even a bad nvram could be recovered via 30-30-30 but it does nothing.

Perhaps my hardware decided to just quit, idk.
djroketboy
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Mar 2012
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Mon Oct 01, 2012 16:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
I just want to let everyone following this thread that I have successfully flashed 2 WNDR3400 v1's running Fractals 20058 build. Its on the barryware ftp site. I used the nv64k bin. There are now WNDR3400.bin's but they appear to be labeled incorrectly, as the named files should only be used for initial flashing. And should be .chk's not .bin's.

Note 4 - http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=51486
search for "4. CHECK and UNDERSTAND the proper build for your router."

File: dd-wrt.v24-20058_NEWD-2_K2.6_std_usb_nas-nv64k.bin

There are other files, mega, big, etc... I only use the std builds.

When flashing I assume you are already running dd-wrt. If you are on stock firmware, follow the guides posted in this thread.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 20, 21, 22, 23  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 21 of 23
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum