GURU's Netgear wndr 3400 update - test build page 7

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 21, 22, 23  Next
Author Message
dadget
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Jul 2011
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Fri Jul 29, 2011 15:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
LOM wrote:
Starks wrote:
I wouldn't.

My assumption is that this router will require a few things established first.

1. NEWD or NEWD2?
2. K2.4 or K2.6?
3. Multi-flash for first use?
4. Special builds?
5. Is the necessary code even in the trunk?


1. NEWDX Wink (latest Broadcom wifi driver, the radio is already used in other dd-wrt supported routers)

2. K26
3. Yes
4. Yes, nv64 build like the WNDR4000 for Netgear routers with 64KByte nvram.
5. Yes

Can you please extract mtd/1, mtd/16, mtd/17 and upload them here or include them in a pm to me.

I don't think Eko ever got a donated router (he usually acknowledge that in a forum post) but it looks like it is possible to add dd-wrt support for the router now without a physical router on his table.



cfe(mtd0).bin
 Description:
mtd/0 (should be the same as Starks')

Download
 Filename:  cfe(mtd0).bin
 Filesize:  256 KB
 Downloaded:  362 Time(s)

Sponsor
dadget
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Jul 2011
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Fri Jul 29, 2011 15:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
Zipped up mtd/1, mtd/16, mtd/17


wndr3400_mtd1_16_17.zip
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  wndr3400_mtd1_16_17.zip
 Filesize:  6.94 MB
 Downloaded:  404 Time(s)

Starks
DD-WRT User


Joined: 18 Feb 2008
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Fri Jul 29, 2011 16:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
Just to make sure that our files are the same...


wndr3400.zip
 Description:
mtd1, mtd16, mtd17

Download
 Filename:  wndr3400.zip
 Filesize:  6.72 MB
 Downloaded:  421 Time(s)

dadget
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Jul 2011
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Fri Jul 29, 2011 18:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
Upon generating an MD5 Hash for each file, the corresponding ones are different. This may be because there is some unit specific info. in each file, and/or because I am using an outdated official firmware. On the other hand, the file size of each corresponding file is the same.
Starks
DD-WRT User


Joined: 18 Feb 2008
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Fri Jul 29, 2011 19:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
Even if the only difference is the MAC addresses, it would be enough to change the MD5.

Then again, our models are explicitly listed as WNDR3400 CVNA (Cablevision North America?).

Latest Cablevision-specific firmware is 1.0.0.46, newer than the 1.0.0.38 on Netgear's site.
dadget
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Jul 2011
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Fri Jul 29, 2011 19:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
I also have the Cablevision version (default user and password are different than the regular WNDR3400). However, I have not yet updated to the latest firmware from CV yet. I think we're ok though.
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7219

PostPosted: Fri Jul 29, 2011 19:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks for the files guys, I will message Eko and pass on the information to him and ask for dd-wrt support of WNDR3400.

mtd 16 and 17 are router unique so will always differ between routers.

_________________
I'm on a whiskey diet, lost 3 days already
dadget
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Jul 2011
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Fri Jul 29, 2011 19:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
I would think that one dd-wrt image would work for both models; hardware is definitely the same
dadget
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Jul 2011
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Fri Jul 29, 2011 19:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
LOM wrote:
Thanks for the files guys, I will message Eko and pass on the information to him and ask for dd-wrt support of WNDR3400.

mtd 16 and 17 are router oeunique so will always differ between routers.


Thanks LOM!
Starks
DD-WRT User


Joined: 18 Feb 2008
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Fri Jul 29, 2011 19:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
So, what's the bottom line on this router and its wondrous 8MB flash?

std? mega? big?

Will we be able run Optware using the USB?

I have grand aspirations of turning this thing into a $200 router.
dadget
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Jul 2011
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Fri Jul 29, 2011 19:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
Starks wrote:
So, what's the bottom line on this router and its wondrous 8MB flash?

std? mega? big?

Will we be able run Optware using the USB?

I have grand aspirations of turning this thing into a $200 router.


I run Mega on a WRT54GS w/ 8MB flash, so I would think we can do the same here. Also really excited for the possibility of installing Optware packages on the USB flash drive.
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7219

PostPosted: Fri Jul 29, 2011 20:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
It will be up to Eko to decide what firmware types he wants to make, std++ or mega/big--.
Netgear routers has, due to a stupid checksum, less usable flash than other routers so the normal mega or big doesn't fit.
The size of stock firmwares mtd1, 6976 KByte, is the max size available for Eko to play with.

_________________
I'm on a whiskey diet, lost 3 days already
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7219

PostPosted: Mon Aug 01, 2011 3:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
Just a short notice for those who are waiting for a build to happen - Eko is currently on vacation and will start working on it when he gets back home.
_________________
I'm on a whiskey diet, lost 3 days already
dadget
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Jul 2011
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Tue Aug 02, 2011 20:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
LOM wrote:
Just a short notice for those who are waiting for a build to happen - Eko is currently on vacation and will start working on it when he gets back home.


Thanks for the update Very Happy If anything else is needed, please let us know! Wink
IAmWEC
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Oct 2010
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2011 20:45    Post subject: Right Time Reply with quote
So apparently me buying this router today and hoping that it would work with DD-WRT came at the right time! I can't stand the default Netgear webgui and was about to take it back because I couldn't find DD-WRT for it! Very Happy
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 21, 22, 23  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 4 of 23
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum