[HowTo Guide] Netgear WRN2000v3 ( unbrick flash recovery )

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Author Message
scorpydude
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Oct 2013
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri Oct 11, 2013 4:36    Post subject: [HowTo Guide] Netgear WRN2000v3 ( unbrick flash recovery ) Reply with quote
Netgear WRN2000v3

Thanks to DD-WRT's "fantastic" website "recommending" that I flash the latest version of DD-WRT onto my Netgear WRN2000v3 which doesn't support a flash of that size, I recently bricked my router. The below un-bricking information will hopefully save someone some trouble who has the same router. I highly recommend reading through it all before you start.

(If anyone is reading this and has access to the wiki can you please make a page for this router and place this information there? I don't understand how to do so. Thank you)

To determine if you have stuffed a flash

* Set your computers network card IP to 192.168.1.50, subnet mask to 255.255.255.0 and gateway to 192.168.1.1
* Start pinging router (windows: ping -t -w 10 192.168.1.1)
* If the pings time out for 10-30s then return for about 4-6 pings then start timing out again you've probably stuffed your firmware. To read about why this happens (DD-WRT tell you the wrong one to install and provide a firmware that will break your device!) Read this http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=756514#756514


To boot into recorvery mode

* Set your computers network card IP to 192.168.1.50, subnet mask to 255.255.255.0 and gateway to 192.168.1.1
* Start pinging router (windows: ping -t -w 10 192.168.1.1)
* Power off router
* Press and hold reset button on router using paperclip
* Continue to press and hold reset button and power on router
* After about 10 seconds pings should start to come back and repeat for more then 5-10seconds, this indicates your in recovery mode


To flash back to standard firmware

* Set your computers network card IP to 192.168.1.50, subnet mask to 255.255.255.0 and gateway to 192.168.1.1
* Download the stock netgear firmware http://www.downloads.netgear.com/files/GDC/WNR2000v3/wnr2000v3-V1.1.2.6.zip and extract files into c:\temp

On Windows XP
* Open command prompt (windows key + r > cmd)
* cd c:\temp
* tftp -i 192.168.1.1 PUT wnr2000v3-V1.1.2.6.img
* The command should respond with "Transfer successful: 3469509 bytes in 3 seconds, 1156503 bytes/s" or something like that. Anything like "Opcode = 18356" means it didnt work.

On Windows 7
* Use this program http://tftpd32.jounin.net/tftpd32_download.html in 'tftp client mode' to FTP the firmware *.img onto the device 192.168.1.1

* Wait 2 minutes for firmware to "initialize"
* Turn off your device for 10s, then turn back on.
* Disable any proxy server you may have set on your web browser
* Start pinging router (windows: ping -t -w 10 192.168.1.1).
* When pings come back constant for 10s or more you can then browse to http://192.168.1.1 which should have the netgear firmware (username "admin" password "password")


To Flash DD-WRT firmware

The DD-WRT website tells you the best firmware to use if you want to brick your Netgear WRN2000v3. So DONT follow that webpage. The DD-WRT website claims the latest firmware works but it doesn't as the flash size of a WRN2000v3 is only 4MB. As of version 18777 of DD-WRT the necessary flash size requirment is larger then that (8mb+).

The following guide assumes you have working stock/factory Netgear firmware on your WRN2000v3.

Download version 18777 of DD-WRT firmware for the WRN2000v3 (the last version that actually will fit on the 4mb flash of the WRN200v3)
* Goto http://dd-wrt.com/site/support/other-downloads?path=others%2Feko%2FBrainSlayer-V24-preSP2%2F
* select 2012 > Then 03-19-12-r18777 > Then netgear-wnr2000v3
* Then download "wnr2000v3-factory_WW.img" if your located anywhere but North America (aka WorldWide) or "wnr2000v3-factory_NA.img" for North America into c:\temp

Upload the 18777 version of DD-WRT to your router
* Log into your router via your web browser.
* Goto Advanced > Firmware > Select the firmware file for exmaple "wnr2000v3-factory_WW.img" then click upload.
* Wait 5 minutes.
* Turn off your device for 10s, then turn back on.
* Set your computers network card IP to 192.168.1.50, subnet mask to 255.255.255.0 and gateway to 192.168.1.1
* Disable any proxy server you may have set on your web browser
* Start pinging router (Windows: ping -t -w 10 192.168.1.1).
* When pings come back constant for 10s or more you can then browse to http://192.168.1.1 which should have the DD-WRT firmware.
* On first load it will ask you to use a username and password for the web admin user.
Sponsor
quiterandom
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Oct 2013
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Oct 11, 2013 17:48    Post subject: WNR2000 v.3 Reply with quote
Hiya, new to this, and also have a WNR2000 v.3

Thanks for posting this, because I was going to install the newest version.

Thanks again, and, how does your properly working WNR2000 work for you?
scorpydude
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Oct 2013
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri Oct 11, 2013 21:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yeah it works well. I needed wpa2 enterprises support so my only choice was ddwrt as stock fw doesn't support wpa2 in repeater or bridge modes.
quiterandom
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Oct 2013
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat Oct 12, 2013 19:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
I want to thank you for pointing out that the newest version would not fit onto the WNR2000.

I would have just loaded it and bricked mine.

I installed and configured mine for client mode, and it's working very well.

Thanks again for pointing out the inability of the newest version to work.
Maliaki
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Oct 2013
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Oct 16, 2013 17:46    Post subject: Too Late. Reply with quote
Well, I found this thread, alas too late.

I had followed the instructions to a T. I used your technique to get into recovery mode (after being stuck in reboot mode). I successfully updated it back into a netgear and then, when I uploaded the file listed "build 18777" and now I'm stuck in some other mode. I can't upload new software or get it into recovery mode. When I boot it up I get 3-4 pings (@64ttl) and then various "requests timed out" and "general error"..

Will start working on it again today.. SOOO CLOSE!
Maliaki
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Oct 2013
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Oct 16, 2013 18:00    Post subject: WHOO HOO! Reply with quote
Well, after doing all the steps last night, and being stuck in some weird mode, I unplugged everything and went to bed (let my laptop run out of batteries during always sunny). Woke up, posted that last post, hooked it all up, power on and PRESTO! I have dd-wrt control panel!

MANY MANY THANKS! They should edit the other instructions (or at least link to this thread in them!)

No to figure out how to set up a repeater!

(I also have an old linksys with "issues", I wonder if this might breath some new life into it..)

Thanks Again!
Maliaki
ryanhall85
DD-WRT User


Joined: 17 Jul 2009
Posts: 100
Location: Chicago North Suburbs

PostPosted: Sun Nov 17, 2013 14:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yeah I was having a similar problem
I flashed the 18777 build starting with the NA.img as advised in the following guide.
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=756514#756514

Now it's stuck in some weird bootloop. It powers on for 2-3 seconds, enough for a couple pings and reboots.

I've tried another 30/30/30 reset, I've tried to get it into recovery mode without success. I unplugged, waited and plugged back in without success.

The recovery mode did work however and after flashing the stock 1.1 firmware, the following DD-WRT flash worked smoothly. I think the firmware downgrade needs to be stressed more in some guides. It is made to sound as if, it just might not work if the firmware is above 1.2 and you can have another go at it. I think the firmware confirmation and downgrade to 1.1 should be a step in red capital letters.
TKerr
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Nov 2013
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Nov 18, 2013 6:40    Post subject: What am I doing wrgon Reply with quote
I think I followed you instructions to the letter
The router has a blinking green power led light, and i get a ttl of 64

When I use the program for windows 7( I am actually on windows 8, but i doubt that makes a difference) I get the pictures I attached

After what I believe is a successful flash message. I leave it for 2 minutes or more and nothing happens. I did a 30-30-30 and nothing happens

Any help would be appreciated


p.s. i just want to add, i got in this mess by trying to update the firmware from the webpage also attached
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17338
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Sun Jan 19, 2014 22:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
http://dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Netgear_WNR2000V3
_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
_________________
Andreas Baumert: "Kundige Menschen befragen Fachleute, ohne ihnen auf die Nerven zu gehen. Sie stellen keine Fragen, die sie mit etwas Fleiß und Lektüre selber beantworten können. Sie wissen, auf welche Quellen es ankommt,und wie man sich Zugang zu ihnen verschafft."
SiegeX
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Feb 2014
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun Feb 16, 2014 8:36    Post subject: Can I upgrade the webflash image? Reply with quote
So once I install both the 18777 wnr2000v3-factory_NA.img and wnr2000v3-webflash.bin files, can I then upgrade to the latest 2014 version of the webflash.bin file located here or will that brick my router?

If the answer is no, you cannot go past build 18777 of even the webflash.bin, then why are new bins being created if they are known to brick?
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum