Issue with TP Link TL-WR840N - stuck at CFE.

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
aeroknight
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Jul 2006
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Mon Dec 09, 2013 5:51    Post subject: Issue with TP Link TL-WR840N - stuck at CFE. Reply with quote
I purchased a new TP Link WR840N Ver:1.0 (FCC: TE7WR840N) - a supported device.

Did 30-30-30
Flashed factory-to-ddwrt.bin from here:http://www.dd-wrt.com/routerdb/de/download/TP-Link/TL-WR840N/v1.x/factory-to-ddwrt.bin/4167 (which I found via the Router Database)

And thats about it never got a chance to flash the webflash file after that.

The power light comes on and the corresponding LAN/WAN light when a cable is plugged in but no wifi light or gear icon light.

If I set my computer to 192.168.1.2 I can ping and access the CFE miniWeb Server on 192.168.1.1 (funny thing is that the webpage says "Broadcom - CFE miniWeb Server").

I have tried flashing the webflash file (http://www.dd-wrt.com/routerdb/de/download/TP-Link/TL-WR840N/v1.x/tl-wr840n-webflash.bin/4168) from the CFE miniWeb Server but though it uploads and the devices reboots it remains in exactly the same status.

I tried TFTP and though I PUT the bin file to the device successfully; same thing - nothing changes.

Can someone please suggest how I can get out of this predicament?

Thanks for your help.
Sponsor
aeroknight
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Jul 2006
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Tue Dec 10, 2013 8:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
Attached is a screen shot.
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7079

PostPosted: Tue Dec 10, 2013 9:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
TP-Link has made a fustercluck.

WR840Nv1 was an Atheros based router for the Chinese market and now they have produced an international one with the same model and version numbers but based on Broadcom chipset.

So your router is not dd-wrt supported and is likely to never be supported.

_________________
I'm on a whiskey diet, lost 3 days already
aeroknight
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Jul 2006
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Tue Dec 10, 2013 10:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks LOM - that explains alot!

Any ideas if / advice on how I can reload the stock firmware from the CFE screen?

The TP Link firmware is available to download as a zipped bin file.

If not possible I'll just put it in the trash.

Thanks again / in advance!
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7079

PostPosted: Tue Dec 10, 2013 11:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
Click restore default nvram button, then unzip the archive and point the cfe miniweb server to where the .bin file is located.
_________________
I'm on a whiskey diet, lost 3 days already
aeroknight
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Jul 2006
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Tue Dec 10, 2013 11:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks LOM but that didnt work ...

It gives me a rather unceremonious...

"Receive file size=4063793
The file transferred is not a valid firmware image."
nebbia88
DD-WRT User


Joined: 08 Mar 2010
Posts: 173

PostPosted: Tue Dec 10, 2013 20:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
could you link the firmware you are trying to upload?

you unzipped it, right?
aeroknight
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Jul 2006
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Wed Dec 11, 2013 4:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi nebbia,

Link to stock firmware I am trying to restore: http://www.tp-link.ae/resources/software/TL-WR840N_V1_130829.zip

Yes, I unzipped the file and was pointing the browser to the bin file.

For good measure I used different browsers and tried an older stock firmware too. Same result no matter what I try - it just says The file transferred is not a valid firmware image.

Thanks.
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7079

PostPosted: Wed Dec 11, 2013 5:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
Try this one:
(you may have to rename it, I don't know how long filenames the cfe web server supports)

_________________
I'm on a whiskey diet, lost 3 days already


Last edited by LOM on Wed Dec 11, 2013 10:24; edited 1 time in total
aeroknight
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Jul 2006
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Wed Dec 11, 2013 6:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks for your help.

The file uploaded fine. I got: Upload Successful. Rebooting - or something to that effect.

On reboot the LEDs didnt change (no wifi or gear icon - if the firmware was applied successfully I assume these would have come on).

I have used the reset button and rebooted since but nothing - just power light and LAN 1 light (which is connected to my computer).

I cannot reach CFE anymore. Any ideas what I can do here?
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7079

PostPosted: Wed Dec 11, 2013 10:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
RMA it as not working, it does at least have the right TP-Link firmware on it now but probably written in the wrong location in flash.
It is apparent that the cfe rescue web server doesn't work as it should do, it should have accepted either the stock firmware or my modified version with removed boot loader.

_________________
I'm on a whiskey diet, lost 3 days already
aeroknight
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Jul 2006
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Wed Dec 11, 2013 14:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks LOM for your help! I really appreciate it.
nappers
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Jan 2014
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Jan 30, 2014 17:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
aeroknight, did you manage to fix your router?

I also bought the same router and unwittingly tried to flash it with the factory-to-ddwrt.bin firmware, which I now see was a bad idea. I get the power light and a LAN light when connected and I can ping the router on 192.168.0.1 (ttl=100), but I don't manage to connect to the CFE miniWeb Server that you mentioned. I have tried to use the tftp flash method to put the original firmware back on it, but I just get a "Transfer timed out." error message. Any ideas?

Thanks for any help.
aeroknight
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Jul 2006
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Fri Jan 31, 2014 6:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
nappers, short answer no. Never could revive it.

I went out and bought a TP-Link TL-WR841ND v8 and loaded dd-wrt on it and I am very happy with its performance.

Gave the non-working WR840N to a patient friend who RMA'd it and got a replacement. He is using it with stock firmware. FWIW, he isn't too impressed with the WR840N's performance with stock but he's kind of stuck with it without any TP firmware options.
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17417
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Fri Jan 31, 2014 14:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
nappers wrote:
aeroknight, did you manage to fix your router?

I also bought the same router and unwittingly tried to flash it with the factory-to-ddwrt.bin firmware, which I now see was a bad idea. I get the power light and a LAN light when connected and I can ping the router on 192.168.0.1 (ttl=100), but I don't manage to connect to the CFE miniWeb Server that you mentioned. I have tried to use the tftp flash method to put the original firmware back on it, but I just get a "Transfer timed out." error message. Any ideas?

Thanks for any help.


https://secure.dd-wrt.com/site/support/router-detection

_________________
GEGEN die EEG-UMLAGE auf EIGENVERBRAUCH!
_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum