Unbrick 610n V1 - so far no luck

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
hardmankam
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Feb 2010
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Nov 25, 2010 4:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
hi, any updates on unbricking your 610nv1? I have the exact same problem as your router. thanks!
Sponsor
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 12846
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Thu Nov 25, 2010 13:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
if the normal "bag of tricks" won't work.. you need serial console to fix the router.
_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
hardmankam
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Feb 2010
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2010 3:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
I just got myself a cloned n0kia ca-42 cable which contains the prolific chipset. I will dissemble it and see if i can connect via serial.

Update: I debricked my 610nv1 using the serial method. I cut open a slot at the bottom of the case and soldered wires to the connectors. The serial method works like a charm. Thanks to the dd-wrt community.

I suggest the original poster using the serial method as well. It only takes 10 mins for the fix.
marty_
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Jun 2010
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sat Dec 04, 2010 7:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks for the update!,

I found another 610n, but v2 this one, on sale for 89$. So it was the easy way but I still have my bricked 610nV1 around so you gave me hope with this serial adapter method.

I saw the cable you mentioned is this it? http://cgi.ebay.ca/NOKIA-connectivity-cable-driver-ca-42-OEM-NIB-/280598280155?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item4154f5f7db

What wires did you solder to the serial connectors of the 610?
Pied Piper
DD-WRT User


Joined: 18 Sep 2010
Posts: 499

PostPosted: Sat Dec 04, 2010 16:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
There is a serial recovery wiki article with info and links to all that you need....
hardmankam
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Feb 2010
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Dec 06, 2010 2:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
marty_ wrote:
Thanks for the update!,

I found another 610n, but v2 this one, on sale for 89$. So it was the easy way but I still have my bricked 610nV1 around so you gave me hope with this serial adapter method.

I saw the cable you mentioned is this it? http://cgi.ebay.ca/NOKIA-connectivity-cable-driver-ca-42-OEM-NIB-/280598280155?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item4154f5f7db

What wires did you solder to the serial connectors of the 610?


Yes, that's the usb-serial phone cable i got. I only need 3 wires in that cable. ground, Tx & Rx.

Instead of opening the whole case, I cut the bottom of the case (near the top left corner) and underneath, there are the serial connections. I then solder 3 extended wires to the 3 connections and attached the 3 wires this way. I can take a photo for you tonight.

As for how to serial recovery, there are tons of articles out there. If you need further help, just ask.



IMG_3408_resize.JPG
 Description:
610v1 cut bottom
 Filesize:  86.35 KB
 Viewed:  4313 Time(s)

IMG_3408_resize.JPG


nellux
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Dec 2010
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Dec 07, 2010 1:59    Post subject: Bricked as well.. Reply with quote
Hi,

I have flashed my 610n with dd-wrt.v24_mega_generic - latest version.

It was unstable, so I tried to flash it back to an earlier working firmware, but sadly it hung up while starting the upload in management mode.

I've hard-reset it many times now, but the router is still not responding to pings.
The power and ethernet lights work fine, and the router reacts normally to a reset (more leds light up, including the middle purple one).
I'm still waiting, not wanting to JTAG (don't have the cable ready).

The router (or is it?) assigns me 169.254.147.247, which I guess can be interpreted as a vital sign, but I still can't get it to respong to ping :P

Should I JTAG?

Thanks.
fggs
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Jan 2008
Posts: 1716

PostPosted: Tue Dec 07, 2010 2:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
You get this ip when dhcp server doesn't respond. If it's a v1, see the wiki to put it on Recovery GUI, if it's a v2, DON'T DO A HARD RESET or you will lose the ability to enable Recovery GUI.
nellux
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Dec 2010
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Dec 07, 2010 2:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ok.

I don't know how to check if I have a v1 or v2, but I guess I have v2 from what you have told me.

I hard-resetted my device more than once, and it still does not respond.

Ish...
fggs
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Jan 2008
Posts: 1716

PostPosted: Tue Dec 07, 2010 2:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
Look at the bottom, it will tell you if it's a v1 or a v2. For a v2 you will need a Serial-to-TTL adapter, the most common is mobile data cables, like Nokia CA-42. You can solder the wires like hardmankam did or access serial through wan port (check "Routers with serial inside wan port" thread).
nellux
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Dec 2010
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Dec 07, 2010 2:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sorry to ask again, but how do I know if it's a v1 or v2?

The only interesting thing under the router is CTG01Hxxxxxx, in which the 01 could mean v1, but then again...
fggs
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Jan 2008
Posts: 1716

PostPosted: Tue Dec 07, 2010 3:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
You got lucky, it's a v1. A v2 would be CTG11...

See: http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Linksys_WRT610N#Recovery_.28Unbricking.29
hardmankam
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Feb 2010
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Dec 07, 2010 3:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
nellux: If you see my photo I posted above, at the bottom of the router where it reads: WRT610N (this is a version 1). If your reads WRT610Nv2, then you have a version 2.
Goto page Previous  1, 2 Display posts from previous:    Page 2 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum