Netgear WNDR3800 - New N600

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
Vota
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Apr 2012
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun Apr 01, 2012 6:57    Post subject: miniDLNA Reply with quote
I would like know, when will be implemented miniDLNA for this router (wndr3800). I have dd-wrt, but I need DLNA and procedure howto implement miniDLNA is for me too difficult - I dont know linux at all.
Sponsor
mazey
DD-WRT User


Joined: 05 Jun 2011
Posts: 189

PostPosted: Sun Apr 01, 2012 7:10    Post subject: Re: miniDLNA Reply with quote
Vota wrote:
I would like know, when will be implemented miniDLNA for this router (wndr3800). I have dd-wrt, but I need DLNA and procedure howto implement miniDLNA is for me too difficult - I dont know linux at all.


id love this feature as well to be part of the std build.

_________________
[Atheros] Netgear WNDR3800 -> r25648
Vota
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Apr 2012
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun Apr 01, 2012 8:43    Post subject: Re: miniDLNA Reply with quote
mazey wrote:
Vota wrote:
I would like know, when will be implemented miniDLNA for this router (wndr3800). I have dd-wrt, but I need DLNA and procedure howto implement miniDLNA is for me too difficult - I dont know linux at all.


id love this feature as well to be part of the std build.


Everybody knows, when should be std build?
Mekanik
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 May 2009
Posts: 40
Location: Hawaii

PostPosted: Wed Apr 04, 2012 19:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
Has anyone tried printing yet?
_________________
WRT54GLv1.1
WRT54GSv1.1
WRT54Gv1.1
WRT54Gv2
WRT54Gv4
WRT54G2v1
WHR-G300N
DIR-615 E3
WNDR3800
WRT300N
WRT54G-TM
mazey
DD-WRT User


Joined: 05 Jun 2011
Posts: 189

PostPosted: Sat Apr 07, 2012 2:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
ill be switching to 100mbit internet soon and i have wndr3800 with dd-wrt i was wondering would i be able to get the full 100mbit speeds with dd-wrt, i know with stock firmware it shouldnt be a problem getting around 350mbit, but abit worried with dd-wrt ill get less but ill be happy if its 100mbit Very Happy maybe someone with a wndr3700v2 could answer this also do u get full speeds 100mbit?
_________________
[Atheros] Netgear WNDR3800 -> r25648
mazey
DD-WRT User


Joined: 05 Jun 2011
Posts: 189

PostPosted: Sat Apr 07, 2012 3:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
i think you guys can add dd-wrt for wndr3800 to the supported router list.

Chipset AR7161
RAM 128 MB
FLASH 16 MB

Firmware available here: http://www.dd-wrt.com/site/support/other-downloads?path=others%2Feko%2FBrainSlayer-V24-preSP2%2F2012%2F03-19-12-r18777%2Fnetgear-wndr3800%2F

its been running great

Firmware: DD-WRT v24-sp2 (03/19/12) std
Time: 13:16:38 up 12 days, 20:46, load average: 0.03, 0.02, 0.04

_________________
[Atheros] Netgear WNDR3800 -> r25648
Vota
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Apr 2012
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2012 16:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
Is there support for mini-DLNA?


mazey wrote:
i think you guys can add dd-wrt for wndr3800 to the supported router list.

Chipset AR7161
RAM 128 MB
FLASH 16 MB

Firmware available here: http://www.dd-wrt.com/site/support/other-downloads?path=others%2Feko%2FBrainSlayer-V24-preSP2%2F2012%2F03-19-12-r18777%2Fnetgear-wndr3800%2F

its been running great

Firmware: DD-WRT v24-sp2 (03/19/12) std
Time: 13:16:38 up 12 days, 20:46, load average: 0.03, 0.02, 0.04
mazey
DD-WRT User


Joined: 05 Jun 2011
Posts: 189

PostPosted: Thu Apr 12, 2012 6:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
Vota wrote:
Is there support for mini-DLNA?


mazey wrote:
i think you guys can add dd-wrt for wndr3800 to the supported router list.

Chipset AR7161
RAM 128 MB
FLASH 16 MB

Firmware available here: http://www.dd-wrt.com/site/support/other-downloads?path=others%2Feko%2FBrainSlayer-V24-preSP2%2F2012%2F03-19-12-r18777%2Fnetgear-wndr3800%2F

its been running great

Firmware: DD-WRT v24-sp2 (03/19/12) std
Time: 13:16:38 up 12 days, 20:46, load average: 0.03, 0.02, 0.04


no i would love this feature also but i dont think it will be added.

_________________
[Atheros] Netgear WNDR3800 -> r25648
UrbanConquest
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Apr 2012
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Apr 13, 2012 17:32    Post subject: WDS, Repeater Bridge, Client Bridge Reply with quote
Has anyone gotten wireless bridging to work with this router and one with a similar Atheros chipset?

Specifically with Repeater Bridge and Client Bridge modes, or perhaps WDS?

I currently have a WNDR3700v1 and I'm debating between getting a WNDR3700v2 or a WNDR3800. Only a few bucks difference, but the extra memory in the 3800 might come in handy.
Mekanik
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 May 2009
Posts: 40
Location: Hawaii

PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2012 4:32    Post subject: Re: WDS, Repeater Bridge, Client Bridge Reply with quote
UrbanConquest wrote:
Has anyone gotten wireless bridging to work with this router and one with a similar Atheros chipset?

Specifically with Repeater Bridge and Client Bridge modes, or perhaps WDS?

I currently have a WNDR3700v1 and I'm debating between getting a WNDR3700v2 or a WNDR3800. Only a few bucks difference, but the extra memory in the 3800 might come in handy.


I wasn't able to get bridging to work with two WNDR3800s. The stock firmware allows bridging though; its in the WDS section of the advance setup pages.

_________________
WRT54GLv1.1
WRT54GSv1.1
WRT54Gv1.1
WRT54Gv2
WRT54Gv4
WRT54G2v1
WHR-G300N
DIR-615 E3
WNDR3800
WRT300N
WRT54G-TM
FidelCastro
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Nov 2006
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2012 6:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
mazey wrote:
ill be switching to 100mbit internet soon and i have wndr3800 with dd-wrt i was wondering would i be able to get the full 100mbit speeds with dd-wrt, i know with stock firmware it shouldnt be a problem getting around 350mbit, but abit worried with dd-wrt ill get less but ill be happy if its 100mbit Very Happy maybe someone with a wndr3700v2 could answer this also do u get full speeds 100mbit?



WNDR3800 Works fine with 100Mbit + DDWRT
TazNet
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 May 2012
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue May 08, 2012 6:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hey g´day, eh. Complete newbie here, just bought a 3800 as my intro to Netgear and I´m disappointed that out-of-the-box the performance is less than stellar: my wireless connections keep dropping randomly. The only way to reconnect seems to be to reset the router which sucks if a couple of your systems are on VPN connections.

Upgrading to 1.0.0.32 from 1.0.0.24 (out of the box) didn´t solve the problem and I´m not confident that the latest (1.0.0.34) is any better.

So I am hoping that someone here has had this experience and had better luck with a stable connection on both the 2.4 and 5Ghz bands after they installed DD-WWRT... yes?

Also the 3800 doesn´t show up in the Router Database; I only found the download by ¨accidentally" finding this thread.

Another detail: this thread gives links to:

Path: Downloads › others › eko › BrainSlayer-V24-preSP2 › 2012 › 03-08-12-r18767 › netgear-wndr3800

which presumably leads me to down load V24-pre-SP2 (03-08/12) r18767 for the WNDR3800 but in another thread there is mention of r18777 which someone in a Netgear forum posted as having worked for them.. is it ¨supported¨ for the 3800 and is it best to go with that newer one over the one linked to in this thread?

Lastly, should I ¨downgrade¨ to 1.0.0.16 or can either of these versions of DD-WRT install with Netgear´s 1.0.0.32?

This will be my first DD-WRT install so don´t want to brick my router...

So many questions - leaves a newbie´s brain frazzled!!

TIA
TazNet
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 May 2012
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue May 08, 2012 6:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
OK so some of my previous post shows my sleep deprivation but most of the questions still stand - the revs are found only by searching the forums... I humbly await enlightenment....

Thanks,

TazNet
mazey
DD-WRT User


Joined: 05 Jun 2011
Posts: 189

PostPosted: Tue May 08, 2012 21:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
TazNet wrote:
OK so some of my previous post shows my sleep deprivation but most of the questions still stand - the revs are found only by searching the forums... I humbly await enlightenment....

Thanks,

TazNet


u need to downgrade to .16 of netgears firmware then upgrade using this file

http://www.dd-wrt.com/site/support/other-downloads?path=others%2Feko%2FBrainSlayer-V24-preSP2%2F2012%2F03-19-12-r18777%2Fnetgear-wndr3800%2F

its 18777, best and latest dd-wrt build out. load the wndr3800-factory.img file.

_________________
[Atheros] Netgear WNDR3800 -> r25648
MitchMitchell
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 May 2013
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri May 03, 2013 14:10    Post subject: More abut printin'... Reply with quote
Mekanik wrote:
Has anyone tried printing yet?


I just re-flashed my wndr3800 with dd-WRT. I was trying to make the stock firmware work 1.0.0.44. I had some success with it but did not like the access to th unit. Of course the one thing I really did enjoy was how easy it is to use the USB print option. I admit I am new to Linux but am certainly not afraid of the CLI. So, if anyone has any tips regarding printin just like Mekanik I would really appreciate your advise!
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 4 of 5
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum