"Apply Settings" - What does it actually do?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> General Questions
Author Message
incidentnormal
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Apr 2017
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Apr 24, 2017 12:41    Post subject: "Apply Settings" - What does it actually do? Reply with quote
This is a general question, as I imagine it's common across all DD-WRT builds and models, as it seems like a fundamental aspect of the implementation.

So on most modern routers, you can update most settings "on the fly" - i.e. you won't experience any interruption in service/connectivity to clients if you say, change a port forwarding value on the router.

On DD-WRT it seems like when you select "Apply Settings", it resets all router subsystems which causes (amongst other things) clients to disconnect/reconnect and so forth. Clicking "Save" obviously doesn't actually activate the changes you've made.

Is it common practice to aggregate all Saved changes until a point where a connectivity interruption is deemed OK and then "Apply Settings" then? Or is there another way to change settings on the router without causing all subsystems to restart?

Thanks,
D

[Note to mods: Apologies if this is actually not a "general" query after all, I don't know enough about the differences between builds to know whether this could be chipset/build specific behaviour or general behaviour across all versions, but I made my best guess]
Sponsor
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> General Questions All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum