Asus RT-N66U

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
dpslusser
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Mar 2014
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Wed Mar 12, 2014 13:56    Post subject: Asus RT-N66U Reply with quote
Hello,

So I obtained an Asus RT-N66U yesterday and I wanted to use it for repeating my Verizon 4G MIFI signal. After doing a little bit of research, it seemed DD-WRT would be the way to go.

I'm not even 24 hours old into the world of open source routing.

But here is my progress:

1. I followed the steps located here. http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Asus_RT-N66U I used the Recovery Tool instead of the GUI. Loaded dd-wrt.v24-21676_NEWD-2_K3.x_mega_RT-N66U.trx Then dd-wrt.v24-18946-2_K2.6_mega.bin per the instructions.

2. Everything worked after some patient waiting. I started to configure the router using repeater mode. There were some technical difficulties between my MIFI and the router that I fought with for about 2 hours. But I pretty much had it.

3. I wanted to switch back from repeater to (what ever the normal router mode is called). After selecting the normal mode, and applying the settings, the GUI timed out. I waited for about 20 minutes before unplugging to rebooting. After I did that, I couldn't get the router to work again.

4. I tried powering up holding the WPS button to clear the NVRAM. That didn't work

5. I was able to get into recovery mode using the weird >0< button. I tried rebooting using the recovery GUI and also clear the NVRAM. With no success.

6. So what do I do now? I don't want to make anything worse, but I'm not even sure how I screwed it up.


Thanks Guys!!
Sponsor
flipy
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 May 2012
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Thu Mar 13, 2014 16:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
Do a 30/30/30
dpslusser
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Mar 2014
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Fri Mar 14, 2014 5:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ok, so I got DD-WRT loaded up. I had to revert back to the OEM firmware and then flash with dd-wrt.v24-21676_NEWD-2_K3.x-big-RT-N66U

I didn't think it was working becasue I got this error when I tried 192.168.1.1

"Settings have been updated. Web page will now refresh.
Changes have been made to the IP address or port number. You will now be disconnected from RT-N66U.
To access the settings of RT-N66U, reconnect to the wireless network and use the updated IP address and port number."

So I unplugged the network cable and turned my wifi card on, and noticed that there was a DD-WRT signal. I connected to. Lo and behold, it was the WRT GUI!!!

But therein lies my problem. My LAN ports aren't working. I can connect to the WAN just fine.

I have not changed a single setting in the GUI. I have tried a few computers. All the NIC card settings are set to automatic. I even tried setting statics of 192.168.1.10 and 1.110. No dice.

I followed the directions for a 30/30/30 Hard reset. Tried that multiple times. I tried the wps button reset

I have not loaded a new .bin file since I can only connect over WIFI. I didn't want to load any files if I wasn't connected via hardwire.
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 1877

PostPosted: Fri Mar 14, 2014 9:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
Telnet into it and do, erase nvram, reboot.
If that doesn't work flash it with http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/K3-AC/23655/ over wireless.
I've done it as a last resort.

_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
flipy
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 May 2012
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Fri Mar 14, 2014 12:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
Enter recovery mode (hold reset for ~10s while powering up the unit), do a NVRAM erase and flash the latest Kong K3 release.
dpslusser
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Mar 2014
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Fri Mar 14, 2014 15:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
No Dice!

I updated the .BIN via a WIFI connection since that is the only way I can get into the router with the DD-WRT firmware.

I used the .BIN from the above post. And the LAN ports still don't work.

Altough when I am under the STATUS page is shows that the router is a Linksys router.
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7017

PostPosted: Fri Mar 14, 2014 16:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
dpslusser wrote:


I used the .BIN from the above post. And the LAN ports still don't work.

Altough when I am under the STATUS page is shows that the router is a Linksys router.


The LAN ports doesn't work because of wrong router type detection.
This is exactly what happens after doing an nvram erase by telnet cmd or by doing a long reset when the router boots up. Both stock and ddwrt gui has reset to default configuration buttons, use them!!

Start over by flashing stock firmware, reset to defaults, then flash dd-wrt.
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 1877

PostPosted: Fri Mar 14, 2014 16:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
For the record, I don't recommend erase nvram in Telnet with every router.
I used it on my rt-n66u when the LAN ports were not working.

_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
dpslusser
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Mar 2014
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Fri Mar 14, 2014 16:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
So I will:

1. Put the N66U into recovery mode

2. Flash with stock ASUS firmware

3. Load ASUS GUI and restore defaults and reboot

4. Set a Static on my NIC and Boot into ASUS recovery again

5. Load the K3.TRX build

6. Wait about 15-20 Minutes for the router to reboot. Last time I waited, the router never reboot, so I did it manually.

7. Once into DD-WRT, I will restore factory defaults, like suggested above and reboot.

8. Into DD-WRT GUI again, I will load the K3.BIN

9. Clear the factory defaults again and reboot

10. Hope that all works.
dpslusser
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Mar 2014
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Fri Mar 14, 2014 20:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
I tried everything I could find online. I tried everything I posted on this thread. I'm just not sure what I'm doing wrong.

After the router is flashed with DD-WRT, the GUI still displays it as a Linksys WRT54G/GL/GS and the LAN ports refuse to work.

Does anyone else have any suggestions?

Again, this is an ASUS RT-N66U Dark Knight that originally had OEM F/W 3.0.0.4.220 H/W:B1

Thanks Guys
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 1877

PostPosted: Fri Mar 14, 2014 20:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
Which build do you have on it right now?
_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
dpslusser
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Mar 2014
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Fri Mar 14, 2014 22:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
Firmware: DD-WRT v24-sp2 (05/27/13) big

Kernel: Linux 3.9.4 #125 Mon May 27 10:19:14 CEST 2013 mips

Here is the .TRX I used: dd-wrt.v24-21676_NEWD-2_K3.x-big-RT-N66U.trx


And here is the .BIN I tried using: dd-wrt.v24-21676_NEWD-2_K3.x_big.BIN
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 1877

PostPosted: Fri Mar 14, 2014 22:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
Use the one I linked you earlier.
The trx and the bin you flashed are the same two builds.
The trx is used if you are on asus. The other is used once you are on dd-wrt.
So basically you flashed the same build twice.
To flash back to ddwrt change the ending of the trx on the asus fw to .bin.
Then once on, stock flash the second one down here, ftp://dd-wrt.com/betas/2014/03-13-2014-r23720/broadcom_K3X/
Then flash the kong build from earlier.

Edited for spelling.

_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.


Last edited by Malachi on Fri Mar 14, 2014 23:02; edited 3 times in total
dpslusser
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Mar 2014
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Fri Mar 14, 2014 22:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
Malachi wrote:
Use the one I linked you earlier.


I'l give it another shot. I did try earlier with no success.
dpslusser
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Mar 2014
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Fri Mar 14, 2014 23:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
Malachi wrote:
Use the one I linked you earlier.
The trx and the bin you flashed are the same two builds.
The trx is used if you are on asus. The other is used once you are on dd-wrt.
So basically you flashed the same build twice.
To flash back to ddwrt change the ending of the trx on the asus fw to .bin.
Then once on, stock flash the second one down here, ftp://dd-wrt.com/betas/2014/03-13-2014-r23720/broadcom_K3X/
Then flash the kong build from earlier.

Edited for spelling.



Malachi, I do appreciate you helping me on this. But could you be just a little more clear on what to do? I don't want to keep screwing this up.

Currently i am on DD-WRT. Is it best to start over with the stock ASUS FW?

If so, which DD-WRT do i flash to?

After the above flash, I will do the AC66U flash you suggested earlier.
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 3
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum