TRENDnet TEW-811DRU [experiences so far]

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
Author Message
JQuantum
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Feb 2014
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Feb 21, 2014 21:46    Post subject: TRENDnet TEW-811DRU [experiences so far] Reply with quote
I don't really have a problem with this since it's just something I wanted to try out, so just wanted to post some information for those who might be wondering if the router works with dd-wrt.

This router is listed on the supported devices with some incomplete information so AFAIK it's a WIP?

From what I read on smallnetbuilder, this router is using a broadcom BCM4708.

Router hardware
Model Number: TEW-811DRU/A (H/W:V1.0R)
UPC: 71093130133

RAM: 64MB
FLASH: 8MB
2.4G Radio: BCM43217KMLG
5G Radio: BCM4352KMLG

dd-wrt version
02-19-2014-r23598/trendnet-811DRUv2



dd-wrt beta build 23598 flashed perfectly from stock webUI without any problems (supposedly works from 231289). Flashing dd-wrt from stock was straightforward, load the webUI, upgrade and wait.

Simplest procedure used:
Using Windows 8.1, from Chrome 32.0.1700.107.
- Connect via Ethernet
- Logged into router with credentials in packaging
- Opened Administrator > Firmware Upgrade
- Browsed for trendnet-811dru-webflash.bin
- Click Apply
- Waited until finished
- Configured dd-wrt

My experience so far:
Both are currently running for over an hour.
Both 811DRU uses WPA2/AES, both for 5G are set to AC-only, 80MHz. Both 2.4G are set to mixed mode, 40MHz.

Speedtest.net gets the same as my internet speed, and ping is not significantly affected by the added routers.

Sample desktop to my NAS:
Ethernet (DRU-1) > Ethernet (AC66): 112MB/s read; 114MB/s write
Ethernet (DRU-2) > 5G AC (DRU-2) > 5G AC-Only (AC66) > Ethernet (AC66): 15MB/s read; 17MB/s write (DD-WRT shows connection of 173MB/s)
Ethernet (DRU-2) > 5G NA-Mixed (DRU-2) > 5G NA-Mixed (AC66) > Ethernet (AC66): 15MB/s read; 17MB/s write (DD-WRT shows connection of 173MB/s)
Ethernet (DRU-2) > 5G N-Only (DRU-2) > 5G N-Only (AC66) > Ethernet (AC66): 15MB/s read; 17MB/s write (DD-WRT shows connection of 173MB/s)

There's some minor hiccups (randomly slows down for a second) but quickly goes away.
As a pure router for getting online it works fine.
Until I put my AC desktop card into the computer I won't be able to properly test the wifi performance. Overall I think it looks great so far Very Happy



Probably TMI and doesn't make sense. Basically this post just to confirm that the build is so far working on the TrendNet router.
Sponsor
JQuantum
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Feb 2014
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Apr 03, 2014 18:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
Just wanted to bump with the 03-29-2014 build.

Link -> 03-29-2014-r23838/trendnet-811DRU

So, I reformatted my RT-AC66U with the merlin build for stability and I know the AC speeds work properly on it.

Connected my desktop to a GigE port on the router.
Flashed (upgrade from the previous to) this build.
Swapped setup to 192.168.1.2 and connected the router in client bridge mode to my AC network. WL1 connection rate says 866.5 Mbps! (yay)
Copied a 1GB file from my server (connected to my AC66) to my desktop SSD, the copy rate increased to about 60MB/s and stabilized. Wrote a 1GB VHD to the server around 45-50MB/s. So getting about 480/360Mbps read/write at the moment.

Good thing about this build is that it seems less flaky than the last as I could make the connections more easily and there's no random disconnects happening. Also, no slowdowns as of yet.

Oh, one major major hitch I suppose is the CPU temp is an amazing 96.4 C. Maybe because I had it on it's side, since I have it upright now and it's cooled to 93.6 already. Radio temperature seems normal though.

Interesting to note: Underclocking to 600MHz reduces the AC rate to 526.5 and my read/write drops a bit as well. Well I guess sorta expected
Fei.Tian
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Apr 2014
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Apr 03, 2014 19:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
thanks for sharing. is services \NAS sub tab working?
mine goes blank.
JQuantum
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Feb 2014
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Apr 03, 2014 21:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
Fei.Tian wrote:
thanks for sharing. is services \NAS sub tab working?
mine goes blank.

Just tried and it goes blank for me as well. I don't recall the first one I tried doing it though. Not a stopper for me since I have a dedicated machine for it. Maybe it can be configured over telnet or ssh since the USB tab still works.
Fei.Tian
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Apr 2014
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Apr 03, 2014 21:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
JQuantum wrote:
Fei.Tian wrote:
thanks for sharing. is services \NAS sub tab working?
mine goes blank.

Just tried and it goes blank for me as well. I don't recall the first one I tried doing it though. Not a stopper for me since I have a dedicated machine for it. Maybe it can be configured over telnet or ssh since the USB tab still works.

Thanks. seems it SAMBA service not provide for Kernel 3.10, we have to wait.
TheEvidence
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Nov 2014
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Nov 13, 2014 15:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
Just picked up a pair of 811DRU to wirelessly bridge a short, but difficult to wire, distance.

Didn't have any luck with the standard firmware (1.0.6.1) and getting encrypted WDS working, so I switched to DD-WRT. The only information I could find on the wiki was "build 23189 or better", so I decided to try using build 23804 (from the router database... I know, not the greatest idea, we all have our moments of weakness).

I was able to bridge the units, but it isn't that reliable. Sometimes one of the routers will just crap out and do nothing but respond to pings with higher than expected latency (~20ms via direct connection, normally <1ms). Nothing to do then but power cycle.

Would the OP still recommend 23838?

Does anyone else have a recommendation?

More importantly, if I have test everything from 23189 up myself, are there any builds to avoid at all costs?

Thanks!
lex17
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Dec 2014
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2014 9:56    Post subject: SNMP Reply with quote
811DRU have 8mb flash. I bought 811DRU, because I need SNMP in my router. Is there any way to get SNMP in 811DRU?
derekc
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Mar 2011
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Sun Feb 15, 2015 16:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
It seems TEW-811DRU is the cheapest 802.11AC router that can do DD-WRT and has Broadcom chipset. Most people don't use every feature of it. I myself just need two of them running client bride and one running QOS. Hope we will continue to see work and improvement on this.

Or any other cheap AC router with broadcom chipset?
lilmister
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Sep 2014
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Mon Feb 16, 2015 19:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
hows the range? thats the thing i read most about in reviews in poor range..
derekc
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Mar 2011
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Tue Feb 17, 2015 16:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
Not too good I am afraid.
But good enough to have one in a bedroom (that I can't run ethernet to) to reach the central TEW-811DRU in the living room.
I tried N, and powerline. AC seems to be much faster and good ping.
deception
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Feb 2015
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Feb 25, 2015 16:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have purchased two TEW-812DRU to do a repeater bridge. Not much luck so far, sometimes the connection works but it's very unreliable. Hoping to see progress on this, I followed all the instructions on the wiki and the peacock thread.
derekc
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Mar 2011
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Wed Feb 25, 2015 17:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
Actually, they work quite well for me in my 3000 sqft 2-story home. I have ten routers (see photo):
Gateway is comcast cisco 3939
garage and workshop are E4200
office and closet are TEW-811DRU running DD-WRT as AP
Rest are dead corners in my house that I can't run ethernet to. They are TEW-811DRU running DD-WRT as client bridge

Finallly no ping loss and my geovision DVR no longer complains about connection lost to my cameras.

When I was using 5GHz N, the ping could go up to 500 or 1000ms periodically. PowerLine adapters didn't work well either. So I have to say finally AC gave me a solution.



2015-02-25 09_08_46-MetaPing _ 1.2.3.19 - Hammer Software © 2009 - 2010.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  148.78 KB
 Viewed:  32729 Time(s)

2015-02-25 09_08_46-MetaPing _ 1.2.3.19 - Hammer Software © 2009 - 2010.jpg


devhen
DD-WRT User


Joined: 17 Mar 2014
Posts: 74

PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2015 0:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
I just got a TEW-811DRU v1.0R, I'm running the latest build (07-09-2015-r27506) and everything seems to work well except I can't connect to the web gui via https. I have it enabled but its not running and if I manually run `httpd -S` I get a segmentation fault. Is this a known issue? Is there a bug report somewhere that I can follow.

Thanks
carlitos
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Oct 2009
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Tue Jul 28, 2015 15:29    Post subject: Is the dd-wrt at trendnet safe? Reply with quote
I just purchased the router a week ago and since it is vulnerable to the kcodes netusb flaw I decided to upgrade the router to dd-wrt. The upgrade worked just fine.

This is the information:
DD-WRT v24-sp2 (03/27/14) std
(SVN revision 23808)

I was wondering if it is safe to keep the router on this build or is it possible to get a newer build?

If so, how/where do I get it?

I am reading in the forum people have newer builds but I am not entirely sure how to get those (specific to the hardware, etc)

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

I will, in another post, tell some of the things I experienced when I had upgraded. Some things were a bit flaky at first but I think I have it all running smoothly now.

Thanks in advanced.
devhen
DD-WRT User


Joined: 17 Mar 2014
Posts: 74

PostPosted: Tue Jul 28, 2015 15:39    Post subject: Re: Is the dd-wrt at trendnet safe? Reply with quote
carlitos wrote:
I just purchased the router a week ago and since it is vulnerable to the kcodes netusb flaw I decided to upgrade the router to dd-wrt. The upgrade worked just fine.

This is the information:
DD-WRT v24-sp2 (03/27/14) std
(SVN revision 23808)

I was wondering if it is safe to keep the router on this build or is it possible to get a newer build?

If so, how/where do I get it?

I am reading in the forum people have newer builds but I am not entirely sure how to get those (specific to the hardware, etc)

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

I will, in another post, tell some of the things I experienced when I had upgraded. Some things were a bit flaky at first but I think I have it all running smoothly now.

Thanks in advanced.


Go here:

ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2015/

Click on the latest build which currently is 07-09-2015-r27506, then click on trendnet-811DRU which will take you here:

ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2015/07-09-2015-r27506/trendnet-811DRU/

Download the trendnet-811dru-webflash.bin file and flash the router with that file.

You can repeat this process for any new builds that come out.
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 8
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum