Wndr3700v3 bricked :'(

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
KZL
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Mar 2014
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Mon Sep 15, 2014 15:39    Post subject: Wndr3700v3 bricked :'( Reply with quote
Hello everyone,

Unfortunately I think that I have bricked my router this morning, trying to change a release with a problem of static ip for an another that works better.

I think that even if I do a 30/30/30 reboot, to have install a wrong .bin of the firmware broadcom_K26 don't work.

Currently, I got only an orange led power, and I can't ping my router when I connect my laptop with an ethernet cable and configure manually the dhcp server.

So what do you could say me to solve my problem ? Sad
Open it ? If someone could explain me with precision I will be glad!

Thank.
Sponsor
KZL
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Mar 2014
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Mon Sep 15, 2014 15:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
I see this but I'm totally lost. Someone could explain precisely ? Sad
Murrkf
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 22 Sep 2008
Posts: 11270

PostPosted: Mon Sep 15, 2014 15:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
See the peacock announcement, note 6.
_________________
SIG:
I'm trying to teach you to fish, not give you a fish. If you just want a fish, wait for a fisherman who hands them out. I'm more of a fishing instructor. So See this:
http://i31.tinypic.com/24mz3ms.png

LOM: "If you show that you have not bothered to read the forum announcements or to follow the advices in them then the level of help available for you will drop substantially, also known as Murrkf's law.."
KZL
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Mar 2014
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Mon Sep 15, 2014 16:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thank a lot for your help. I come back when I know if my router is really bricked or not !!
KZL
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Mar 2014
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Mon Sep 15, 2014 16:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ok, I followed note 6.

I always get this during pinging 192.168.1.1, when I configured my macbook with a connexion :
ip address: 192.168.1.10
netmask : 255.255.255.0
router : 192.168.1.1

During the ping do a hard reset 30/30/30. Same response that below, I displayed only the 50 first, but all the others are the same.
Quote:

Request timeout for icmp_seq 0
Request timeout for icmp_seq 1
Request timeout for icmp_seq 2
Request timeout for icmp_seq 3
ping: sendto: No route to host
Request timeout for icmp_seq 4
ping: sendto: Host is down
Request timeout for icmp_seq 5
ping: sendto: Host is down
Request timeout for icmp_seq 6
ping: sendto: Host is down
Request timeout for icmp_seq 7
ping: sendto: Host is down
Request timeout for icmp_seq 8
ping: sendto: Host is down
Request timeout for icmp_seq 9
ping: sendto: Host is down
Request timeout for icmp_seq 10
ping: sendto: Host is down
Request timeout for icmp_seq 11
ping: sendto: Host is down
Request timeout for icmp_seq 12
ping: sendto: Host is down
Request timeout for icmp_seq 13
ping: sendto: Host is down
Request timeout for icmp_seq 14
ping: sendto: Host is down
Request timeout for icmp_seq 15
ping: sendto: Host is down
Request timeout for icmp_seq 16
ping: sendto: Host is down
Request timeout for icmp_seq 17
ping: sendto: Host is down
Request timeout for icmp_seq 18
ping: sendto: Host is down
Request timeout for icmp_seq 19
ping: sendto: Host is down
Request timeout for icmp_seq 20
ping: sendto: Host is down
Request timeout for icmp_seq 21
ping: sendto: Host is down
Request timeout for icmp_seq 22
ping: sendto: Host is down
Request timeout for icmp_seq 23
Request timeout for icmp_seq 24
Request timeout for icmp_seq 25
Request timeout for icmp_seq 26
Request timeout for icmp_seq 27
Request timeout for icmp_seq 28
ping: sendto: No route to host
Request timeout for icmp_seq 29
ping: sendto: Host is down
Request timeout for icmp_seq 30
ping: sendto: Host is down
Request timeout for icmp_seq 31
ping: sendto: Host is down
Request timeout for icmp_seq 32
ping: sendto: Host is down
Request timeout for icmp_seq 33
ping: sendto: Host is down
Request timeout for icmp_seq 34
ping: sendto: Host is down
Request timeout for icmp_seq 35
ping: sendto: Host is down
Request timeout for icmp_seq 36
ping: sendto: Host is down
Request timeout for icmp_seq 37
ping: sendto: Host is down
Request timeout for icmp_seq 38
ping: sendto: Host is down
Request timeout for icmp_seq 39
ping: sendto: Host is down
Request timeout for icmp_seq 40
ping: sendto: Host is down
Request timeout for icmp_seq 41
ping: sendto: Host is down
Request timeout for icmp_seq 42
ping: sendto: Host is down
Request timeout for icmp_seq 43
ping: sendto: Host is down
Request timeout for icmp_seq 44
ping: sendto: Host is down
Request timeout for icmp_seq 45
ping: sendto: Host is down
Request timeout for icmp_seq 46
ping: sendto: Host is down
Request timeout for icmp_seq 47
ping: sendto: Host is down
Request timeout for icmp_seq 48
Request timeout for icmp_seq 49
Request timeout for icmp_seq 50


So I suppose that my router is bricked, I hope I will be able to reuse it soon Sad
What do you think ? This is critical ?

Can you help me to do a reset with the JTAG method ? I never do that before :/
Murrkf
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 22 Sep 2008
Posts: 11270

PostPosted: Mon Sep 15, 2014 17:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
Doesn't look good, but I would try again with a windows computer, wired to the router. I find it easier to understand ping responses with windows, especially windows XP. All the links you need to all the directions you need are in note 6.
_________________
SIG:
I'm trying to teach you to fish, not give you a fish. If you just want a fish, wait for a fisherman who hands them out. I'm more of a fishing instructor. So See this:
http://i31.tinypic.com/24mz3ms.png

LOM: "If you show that you have not bothered to read the forum announcements or to follow the advices in them then the level of help available for you will drop substantially, also known as Murrkf's law.."
KZL
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Mar 2014
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Mon Sep 15, 2014 17:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ok I will do it again this evening when I will found a computer with windows.
I'm ok about note 6, but there is no explaination about my router WNDR3700v3, I didn't would like blow up my router..
KZL
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Mar 2014
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Mon Sep 15, 2014 18:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
Same messages with Windows.. Sad
I will try to understand links in note 6, but if you can give me some tips, I will be glad to get it !
Murrkf
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 22 Sep 2008
Posts: 11270

PostPosted: Mon Sep 15, 2014 21:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
Start with describing the mistake that you did to brick it. What did you do?
_________________
SIG:
I'm trying to teach you to fish, not give you a fish. If you just want a fish, wait for a fisherman who hands them out. I'm more of a fishing instructor. So See this:
http://i31.tinypic.com/24mz3ms.png

LOM: "If you show that you have not bothered to read the forum announcements or to follow the advices in them then the level of help available for you will drop substantially, also known as Murrkf's law.."
KZL
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Mar 2014
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Tue Sep 16, 2014 7:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ok thanks.

So all version that I tried to install was from broadcom_K26 directory.

1. I installed correctly release 21286 mega on my DD-WRT (after installed mini version.)
2. After some weeks I see some problem with static ip, that I can't fix it.
3. So I tried to install version 22118 mega directly with firmware update. I did a hard reset 30/30/30 before and after. After I was not sure so I do a second hard reset.
4. When the GUI restarted, I was always on version 21286, so I try to install version 21676.
5. Then after thehard reset, no more GUI, no more wiresless : amber led power.

After som tried, to restore (2 hard reset + 1 reset) it didn't work.
KZL
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Mar 2014
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Tue Sep 16, 2014 10:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
Just let me add that, when I plug my router.
The light led power is amber.

When I connect my laptop with an ethernet cable, the light of the ethernet cable turn on.

This is a normal behaviour for a router bricked ?
KZL
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Mar 2014
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Tue Sep 16, 2014 10:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
Do you think that this method is possible to debrick version 3 ?
http://wiki.openwrt.org/toh/netgear/wndr3700#serial
KZL
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Mar 2014
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Tue Sep 16, 2014 18:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
Someone already success to debrick a router WNDR3700v3, just to reassure me. ^^
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 2512

PostPosted: Tue Sep 16, 2014 20:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yes, I have. Google dd-wrt serial recovery.
Also look here for the pinout http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=690967
It's the 6 pads where the ground is in black, the one just below it is either rx or tx and the one right above the red one is either rx or tx. I can't remember which.
You will also need one of the adapters listed in that post.

_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
KZL
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Mar 2014
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Tue Sep 16, 2014 21:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
Oh great ! So, I hope that tomorrow I will be able to repare my router..

I solder an adapter USB-to-TTL using my laptop usb port to communicate with my router. It's only 4 wires (3.3V, GND, RX, TX) connected to an USB-A connector.

I checked, my laptop send 3.3V and my adapter works fine ! Smile

So I will check your topic, thanks. I will write what I want to do..
Maybe could you told me if this is ok ? (if you have time..)
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum