WRT3200ACM back to stock

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.)
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
Author Message
itrends
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Nov 2016
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Fri Dec 23, 2016 7:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
Express vpn say their firmware now allows you to downgrade to stick again using the image. They messaged me last week. Not tested though as I succeed used the cable

Might be worth a shot?
Sponsor
fcs001fcs
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 May 2007
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Fri Dec 23, 2016 9:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
shmackitup wrote:
I've tried 2 different USB to TTL devices and I'm not getting any output to Putty. I'm at a loss, been trying for a couple hours now. I sure hope another way comes out soon to revert back to stock!


Not sure if this will help but this YouTube video was posted in another thread.

It is for OpenWRT but should be the same for DDWRT except for the IMG filename, I suppose. Have no personal experience with it, so no guarantees.

"Unbrick/flash firmware to Linksys Wrt1200/1900ac wireless routers"

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mN7u79EupGQ
LookingForMyMojo
DD-WRT User


Joined: 29 Aug 2014
Posts: 477

PostPosted: Sat Dec 24, 2016 2:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
shmackitup wrote:
I've tried 2 different USB to TTL devices and I'm not getting any output to Putty. I'm at a loss, been trying for a couple hours now. I sure hope another way comes out soon to revert back to stock!


if you are getting absolutely nothing, make sure you have the drivers installed for the cable, and/or switch the tx and rx, just to see if maybe you have them reversed.

also, make sure you are pointing to the right com port, and speed is set at 115200
myersw
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Jun 2006
Posts: 1089
Location: SE Michigan USA

PostPosted: Sat Dec 24, 2016 3:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
Simple test to see if the ttl adapter is working. Jumper the transmit to the receive. When you type on keyboard you should see what you are typing echoed on the screen. If not then the adapter is not working or the driver is not loaded/correct.

--bill

_________________
Linksys WRT3200ACM: LEDE r5113
Modem:ARRIS SURFboard TM822R Voice and Data.
ISP:Comcast
Linksys WRT1900ACS V1 Not in use
tutorial for flashing "WRT" series:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=287813
DD-WRT Installation, Upgrade & Basic Setup–Cliff Notes:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=311117
Kong DD-WRT Config Tutorial:
http://www.instructables.com/id/Install-and-Configure-a-DD-WRT-Kong-Router/
I tried to be normal once. Worst 2 minutes ever.
shmackitup
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Feb 2011
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Sat Dec 24, 2016 10:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
LookingForMyMojo wrote:
shmackitup wrote:
I've tried 2 different USB to TTL devices and I'm not getting any output to Putty. I'm at a loss, been trying for a couple hours now. I sure hope another way comes out soon to revert back to stock!


if you are getting absolutely nothing, make sure you have the drivers installed for the cable, and/or switch the tx and rx, just to see if maybe you have them reversed.

also, make sure you are pointing to the right com port, and speed is set at 115200



I've definitely tried all that multiple times.

myersw wrote:
Simple test to see if the ttl adapter is working. Jumper the transmit to the receive. When you type on keyboard you should see what you are typing echoed on the screen. If not then the adapter is not working or the driver is not loaded/correct.

--bill


I will try this.
shmackitup
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Feb 2011
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Mon Dec 26, 2016 2:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
myersw wrote:
Simple test to see if the ttl adapter is working. Jumper the transmit to the receive. When you type on keyboard you should see what you are typing echoed on the screen. If not then the adapter is not working or the driver is not loaded/correct.

--bill


It works.

itrends wrote:
Express vpn say their firmware now allows you to downgrade to stick again using the image. They messaged me last week. Not tested though as I succeed used the cable

Might be worth a shot?


I just downloaded their firmware. Tried to load it from DD-WRT and router just resets after about 3 seconds(just like when I try to load the stock firmware). It then boots from the other DD-WRT partition. Tried a few times.
myersw
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Jun 2006
Posts: 1089
Location: SE Michigan USA

PostPosted: Mon Dec 26, 2016 14:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
Make sure you are using the correct image file. Do not use the factory to dd-wrt to flash from within dd-wrt.

--bill

_________________
Linksys WRT3200ACM: LEDE r5113
Modem:ARRIS SURFboard TM822R Voice and Data.
ISP:Comcast
Linksys WRT1900ACS V1 Not in use
tutorial for flashing "WRT" series:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=287813
DD-WRT Installation, Upgrade & Basic Setup–Cliff Notes:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=311117
Kong DD-WRT Config Tutorial:
http://www.instructables.com/id/Install-and-Configure-a-DD-WRT-Kong-Router/
I tried to be normal once. Worst 2 minutes ever.
itrends
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Nov 2016
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Mon Dec 26, 2016 15:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
The pin cable for flash does work but

You must make sure you have the right cable
Must connect to the right pins
And check for any firewall issues etc

It took me a few goes but I got it sorted (on Mac) and have remained back on stock since.

If on windows there are certainly more firewall issues I believe but it certainly works.

The express VPN route I have not tried as I flashed before they released the update. But if you talk with their live chat they are generally quite helpful and may be able to guide you through.
shmackitup
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Feb 2011
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Tue Dec 27, 2016 1:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks for all the help... I ended up swapping it for a new one. I'll try not to overwrite the stock partition this time Cool
itrends
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Nov 2016
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Tue Dec 27, 2016 13:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
I'd stay on stock for some time yet. Still lots of drop outs and problems at the moment. The speed difference when back on stock is staggering. Smile
ATHF
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 14 Dec 2015
Posts: 530

PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2016 16:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
Here is a way to get back to stock (Without using USB to TTL)assuming you have overwritten both partitions, written by Chadster766 (towards the bottom):

http://community.linksys.com/t5/Wireless-Routers/WRT3200ACM-with-dd-wrt-leds-issue/m-p/1080111#M332179

I figured out a way to reload the WRT3200ACM Linksys firmware from DD-WRT.

It's a bit advanced and do at your own risk. In the worst case a USB to TTL cable will still be able to recover the router.

Create a McDebian WRT3200ACM V1 rootfs USB Key\Drive - https://github.com/Chadster766/McDebian/wiki/3.-Make-Root-File-System
Copy FW_WRT3200ACM_1.0.5.176416_prod.img to the USB Key\Drive
Enable SSH to Telnet in DD-WRT
Enable Core USB Support, USB Storage and Automount in DD-WRT
Plug the McDebian rootfs USB Key into the router and reboot
SSH or Telnet into DD-WRT
Run the "mount" commad to see where the USB Drive was automounted (Ex: /tmp/mnt/sda1)
Run the below commands one at a time substituting if needed the path for the USB key



Code:

mount -t proc none /tmp/mnt/sda1/proc
mount -o bind /dev /tmp/mnt/sda1/dev

chroot /tmp/mnt/sda1

flash_erase /dev/mtd5 0 0
flash_erase /dev/mtd6 0 0
flash_erase /dev/mtd7 0 0
flash_erase /dev/mtd8 0 0

nandwrite -p /dev/mtd5 FW_WRT3200ACM_1.0.5.176416_prod.img
nandwrite -p /dev/mtd7 FW_WRT3200ACM_1.0.5.176416_prod.img 

_________________
WRT3200ACM - No WiFi-r32028
APs: WRT1200ACv1,WRT1900AC-r31899
Tutorial for flashing new "WRT" series: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=287813
DD-WRT Installation, Upgrade & Basic Setup–Cliff Notes
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=311117
r4nd0m
DD-WRT User


Joined: 01 Dec 2006
Posts: 74
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri Dec 30, 2016 22:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
The above works perfectly fine did it twice already today ... thanks[/quote]
datdrive
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Jan 2017
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri Jan 06, 2017 13:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
r4nd0m wrote:
The above works perfectly fine did it twice already today ... thanks
[/quote]

I get this message below when I test the command nandwrite. Any ideas?

root@DD-WRT:~# nandwrite
-sh: nandwrite: not found
datdrive
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Jan 2017
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri Jan 06, 2017 13:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
Nevermind I found the issue and everything is working.
florian.grousset
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 Jan 2017
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2017 6:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
krispenhartung wrote:

If you only flashed DD-WRT once, you might be able to get back to factory by performing the 5 power cycles to switch boot partitions. (power off, power on, wait for power light to come on, immediately turn off, repeat 5 times) If you happen to be successful booting to factory, then simply re-flash the factory image to overwrite DD-WRT boot partition.


I only flashed my WRT3200 once with this firmware release:
WRT3200ACM
Firmware: webflash image for inital installation
factory-to-ddwrt.bin
2016-10-26
31,63 MB

Does this mean I don't need the serial cable and to go through all the steps?
Once doing the 5 times cycle, you say "then simply re-flash the factory image". Does the router still boot with dd-wrt and I'll have to use the firmware update menu?
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 4 of 8
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.) All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum