New Build Is Up : 12-04-2017-r33986

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.)
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
spuriousoffspring
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 05 Apr 2017
Posts: 614
Location: Louisiana, USA

PostPosted: Tue Dec 05, 2017 20:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
myersw wrote:
From everything I read BS needs to incorporate a 4.4 kernel on the wrt1900ac v1. I think you know that davidc502 on LEDE site makes a LEDE build with the 4.4 kernel for the wrt1900ac v1. Looks like Openwrt/LEDE and Brainslayer have not figured out how to get the newer firmware to run on the wrt1900ac v1 with 4.9 kernel without causing reboots. Too bad as there are lots of folks that have them. My first wrt was a wrt1900ac v1. Hind site says I should have been smart enough to run the other direction rather then sticking with the wrt's seing how long it took Marvel to put out a decent driver. Seems like it takes about a year or a little longer for a decent driver. Ran my wrt3200 for several months on OEM firmware. It was purchased on Ebay from a disgruntled purchaser. He got tired of waiting for a decent build of dd-wrt. At least the current builds Brainslayer is putting out seem to run well for me on my wrt3200 and others.
--bill


That's really what I was hoping for. I was going to reference the LEDE Build you mentioned when I opened Ticket #6010, but I didn't want it to be taken as an insult to Brainslayer. I was concerned it would read like "Why don't you do it like these guys over here...".

I'm sure he will come up with something in the next build or two. Hopefully the additional info from the U-Boot output will help.

_________________
DD-WRT Installation & Setup TUTORIAL
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=311117

IPVanish OpenVPN Client Setup TUTORIAL
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=308565

FIRMWARE: 05-2-2017 - r31924
MODEM: ARRIS SURFBoard SB8200
ROUTER: Linksys WRT1900AC_v1
USB NAS: Western Digital BLACK 1 TB Hardrive + Startech USB 3.0 External SATA III Enclosure
SERVICES: Samba Share + IPVanish OpenVPN Client

"The problem with quotes on the internet is you can never be certain they're authentic." - Abraham Lincoln
Sponsor
ScottieRotten
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 Aug 2017
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue Dec 05, 2017 20:26    Post subject: For the 3200 how is vht80 and vht160 connections? Reply with quote
How is 5ghz vht80 and vht160 connectivity for the 3200acm with this version? Have the connectivity difficulties for 5ghz been fixed in this version for the 3200?
giles02134
DD-WRT User


Joined: 25 Feb 2007
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Tue Dec 05, 2017 23:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
Up and running, apparently with no NTP issues. Am hoping the scheduled reboot will now work more reliably.
_________________
Router: Linksys WRT1900ACSv2
Modem: Arris Surfboard SB6141
DD-WRT v3.0-34929 std (02/12/2018)
ISP: RCN
NAS: ReadyNas314
slimbrick87
DD-WRT User


Joined: 10 Jul 2017
Posts: 64

PostPosted: Wed Dec 06, 2017 0:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
I've been running r33986 on my Linksys WRT1900ACS V2 for about a day with no issue. Wireless speeds are good (~500 Mbit/s, as measured with iperf3) and no issues with my OpenVPN client.
_________________
FIRMWARE: 2-12 -2018 - r34929
MODEM: ARRIS SURFBoard SB6183
ROUTER: Linksys WRT1900ACS V2
ISP: TWC Spectrum 100 Mbps Download | 10 Mbps Upload
SERVICES: IVPN OpenVPN Client
myersw
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Jun 2006
Posts: 1393
Location: SE Michigan USA

PostPosted: Wed Dec 06, 2017 3:38    Post subject: Re: For the 3200 how is vht80 and vht160 connections? Reply with quote
ScottieRotten wrote:
How is 5ghz vht80 and vht160 connectivity for the 3200acm with this version? Have the connectivity difficulties for 5ghz been fixed in this version for the 3200?

You got something that supports vht160? What are you doing wireless bridge as that is about the only way vht160 is of any use right now. I do not know of any clients that support it.
For me the 5GHz runs flawlessly. No slowness no drops, just works. Have teen girl that lets me know quickly if there are any wireless issues and she has been quiet. Running DD-WRT r33986 currently.

_________________
Internet Router: Ubiquiti EdgeRouter
Netgear r8000: V1.0.4.12_10.1.46
Linksys WRT3200ACM: DD-WRT 34578{Sunset}
Modem:ARRIS SURFboard TM822R Voice and Data.
ISP:Comcast
tutorial for flashing "WRT" series:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=287813
DD-WRT Installation, Upgrade & Basic Setup–Cliff Notes:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=311117
Kong DD-WRT Config Tutorial:
http://www.instructables.com/id/Install-and-Configure-a-DD-WRT-Kong-Router/
I tried to be normal once. Worst 2 minutes ever.
d0ug
DD-WRT User


Joined: 31 Jul 2015
Posts: 406

PostPosted: Wed Dec 06, 2017 3:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
d0ug wrote:
d0ug wrote:
I just upgraded about an hour ago, the only issue I saw initially it didn't update time via NTP which caused my VPN to fail coming up. Another reboot solved it. May have been a network glitch, we'll see if it happens again at my 4am scheduled reboot.


Well I just woke up and my internet was down since the VPN could not establish connection throwing TLS errors since NTP could not update the time. I have my router scheduled to do a reboot daily at 4am and it was not able to pull an NTP update after the reboot.

Definitely some bug with NTP in this build. I have rolled back to r33772.


I believe I have found another bug in this firmware as well. Crontab is not working.

I have jobs setup that run at 3am daily to make a backup of my nvram file, and jffs2 partition to a NAS file share. This did not run at 3AM today.

This would also explain why when I woke up after 5AM today that the time was still not updated with NTP. Even if the NTP were to fail when the router boots up. I have an hourly job setup to update the time by NTP, which should have run at 5AM, but the router still had no time set when I woke up.

This might be able to be explained away by the fact that the time was not initially set by NTP at boot up, but in that case the router should start from Epoch time, the hourly NTP update should have still run an hour after the 4am daily reboot I have setup.
piju
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Feb 2017
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Wed Dec 06, 2017 13:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
This build has been running diligently without any problems since the release. I flashed through the web interface and kept existing settings.

My setup is quite simple though:

    * Some port forwarding
    * Custom DNS
    * A bunch of static IP's.

I think that's it.

_________________
Linksys WRT3200ACM - DD-WRT v3.0-r33986 std (12/04/17)
ad19
DD-WRT User


Joined: 19 May 2017
Posts: 212

PostPosted: Wed Dec 06, 2017 14:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
d0ug wrote:
d0ug wrote:
d0ug wrote:
I just upgraded about an hour ago, the only issue I saw initially it didn't update time via NTP which caused my VPN to fail coming up. Another reboot solved it. May have been a network glitch, we'll see if it happens again at my 4am scheduled reboot.


Well I just woke up and my internet was down since the VPN could not establish connection throwing TLS errors since NTP could not update the time. I have my router scheduled to do a reboot daily at 4am and it was not able to pull an NTP update after the reboot.

Definitely some bug with NTP in this build. I have rolled back to r33772.


I believe I have found another bug in this firmware as well. Crontab is not working.

I have jobs setup that run at 3am daily to make a backup of my nvram file, and jffs2 partition to a NAS file share. This did not run at 3AM today.

This would also explain why when I woke up after 5AM today that the time was still not updated with NTP. Even if the NTP were to fail when the router boots up. I have an hourly job setup to update the time by NTP, which should have run at 5AM, but the router still had no time set when I woke up.

This might be able to be explained away by the fact that the time was not initially set by NTP at boot up, but in that case the router should start from Epoch time, the hourly NTP update should have still run an hour after the 4am daily reboot I have setup.


You should open a ticket about it.

_________________
WRT3200ACM - Firmware: 1.0.6.186168.
WRT160N - Repeater - Firmware: DD-WRT v24-sp2 (01/20/15) mini.
pa3fat
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Apr 2010
Posts: 42
Location: Valkenswaard, The Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Dec 06, 2017 20:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
using this ntp server:

0.nl.pool.ntp.org

did not notice any issues yet running latest beta.
aairon
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Aug 2009
Posts: 555
Location: Antigua/Seattle

PostPosted: Thu Dec 07, 2017 5:35    Post subject: Re: For the 3200 how is vht80 and vht160 connections? Reply with quote
ScottieRotten wrote:
How is 5ghz vht80 and vht160 connectivity for the 3200acm with this version? Have the connectivity difficulties for 5ghz been fixed in this version for the 3200?


WRT3200ACM
VHT 80 SGI is rock solid 5 Ghz clients in and out of range no problems, for 5 days.
I've had the core elements of this build working for that long.
Those issues are fixed.
myersw
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Jun 2006
Posts: 1393
Location: SE Michigan USA

PostPosted: Thu Dec 07, 2017 19:18    Post subject: Re: For the 3200 how is vht80 and vht160 connections? Reply with quote
aairon wrote:
ScottieRotten wrote:
How is 5ghz vht80 and vht160 connectivity for the 3200acm with this version? Have the connectivity difficulties for 5ghz been fixed in this version for the 3200?


WRT3200ACM
VHT 80 SGI is rock solid 5 Ghz clients in and out of range no problems, for 5 days.
I've had the core elements of this build working for that long.
Those issues are fixed.

Glad to here. Know you have qualcomm clients involved.

Has been rock solid for me as well on both 5GHz and 2.4GHz
Looks like Marvel has finally figured that problem out.

_________________
Internet Router: Ubiquiti EdgeRouter
Netgear r8000: V1.0.4.12_10.1.46
Linksys WRT3200ACM: DD-WRT 34578{Sunset}
Modem:ARRIS SURFboard TM822R Voice and Data.
ISP:Comcast
tutorial for flashing "WRT" series:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=287813
DD-WRT Installation, Upgrade & Basic Setup–Cliff Notes:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=311117
Kong DD-WRT Config Tutorial:
http://www.instructables.com/id/Install-and-Configure-a-DD-WRT-Kong-Router/
I tried to be normal once. Worst 2 minutes ever.
ATHF
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 14 Dec 2015
Posts: 591

PostPosted: Fri Dec 08, 2017 4:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
No issues on the WRT3200 or 1200v1, previous version was up for 36 days I believe on both.

Tested DFS channels on the 3200, and this is the first time they ever stayed where they were supposed to be and didn't detect radar, which makes me happy. Tested on all 3 80Mhz widths available in DFS. I do notice though that the signal is lower, even lower than if I use the say channel 36 at 80 Mhz, even though as far as I have read, should be the same as the lower channels like 36... Although speeds were great at the same time...

_________________
WRT3200ACM -r34777
APs: WRT1200ACv1 -r34777, WRT1900ACv1 -r34578
Tutorial for flashing WRT series
WRT Installation,Upgrade & Basic Setup–Cliff Notes
BobbyLee
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Jul 2016
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Fri Dec 08, 2017 5:55    Post subject: Re: For the 3200 how is vht80 and vht160 connections? Reply with quote
aairon wrote:
WRT3200ACM
VHT 80 SGI is rock solid 5 Ghz clients in and out of range no problems, for 5 days.
I've had the core elements of this build working for that long.
Those issues are fixed.


Are some of those 5 GHz clients of yours Samsung because the issue seemed to be around Samsung clients not staying connected. TIA
aairon
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Aug 2009
Posts: 555
Location: Antigua/Seattle

PostPosted: Fri Dec 08, 2017 16:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yes they are Samsung I have been reporting the issue in the git threads four months ago at least.

It took two months to convince the Chinese guy (Yauhaurlin Marvell) there really was a problem, then he dragged it out for a couple more months because he kept saying he had to have us test special test builds etc... once about 50,000 (slight exaggeration) other people started reporting the same issue he Finally started working in it for real last week.

P.S, I've had a WRT3200ACM covers off and hard wired to a serial interface spread out on a table for the last five months. I've logged hundreds of hours for the cause.

P.S. @BobbyLee You're missing a lot you can follow the Git threads for much more information about the DD-WRT builds, and the current progress.
these forums are usually running behind as far as new news.
It takes a week or two for info to get posted here.

You can click on my profile to see all of the posts here you can look at all the post in the git threads as well, #232 I think is where it was fixed.

Bottom Line:
As deep as I was involved with it, if I'm saying that specific issue is fixed.







IT'S FIXED!
myersw
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Jun 2006
Posts: 1393
Location: SE Michigan USA

PostPosted: Fri Dec 08, 2017 17:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
R33986 is running well for 3 days now without any wireless issues, no qualcomm stuff so cannot comment on that.

Have one issue.
The router is not responsive to browser for viewing or making changes, like the http process has crashed as some folks have reported in previous builds. Know folks have posted how to restart without having to reboot, just don't remember how/where. Right now I am not experiencing any issues and have no reason to login other then to view logs which I can do via ssh so not going to reboot just for this issue.

_________________
Internet Router: Ubiquiti EdgeRouter
Netgear r8000: V1.0.4.12_10.1.46
Linksys WRT3200ACM: DD-WRT 34578{Sunset}
Modem:ARRIS SURFboard TM822R Voice and Data.
ISP:Comcast
tutorial for flashing "WRT" series:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=287813
DD-WRT Installation, Upgrade & Basic Setup–Cliff Notes:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=311117
Kong DD-WRT Config Tutorial:
http://www.instructables.com/id/Install-and-Configure-a-DD-WRT-Kong-Router/
I tried to be normal once. Worst 2 minutes ever.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 2 of 5
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.) All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum