WNDR4500 (N900) supported?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 91, 92, 93
Author Message
november17
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Nov 2017
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Dec 01, 2017 6:06    Post subject: Re: RE: Bricked WNDR4500V2?? Reply with quote
camelriders wrote:

I tried several builds, not all.

Is there a particular version I should try? Should I go to the initial release?


I think I used the initial release, myself. I don't know if that's what your problem is. I just know that with the wndr3700; after a certain version of the factory firmware, netgear had added some type of check that will screw up the installation process for anything except netgear firmware. I'm guessing it may be a similar thing with the 4500 firmware but I honestly don't know if that's the problem or not. I'd give a it a shot.

nevermind: Firmware Version 1.0.0.60 is my go-to recovery firmware for the v2 before I reinstall. you're using the chk file, not the bin right?

_________________
n17tech blog
hw: r4500; WNDR4500v2; WNDR3700v2; WNR2000v3; WNR2000v5; BEFS841v3.1; WRT54GSv.4; WRT54G2v1.5; E900; E1000; E1200v2; WRT610Nv1; M20; RT-68P; DIR-601A1; DIR-615; DIR-635
Sponsor
camelriders
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Nov 2017
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri Dec 01, 2017 6:35    Post subject: Re: RE: Bricked WNDR4500V2?? Reply with quote
november17 wrote:
camelriders wrote:

I tried several builds, not all.

Is there a particular version I should try? Should I go to the initial release?


I think I used the initial release, myself. I don't know if that's what your problem is. I just know that with the wndr3700; after a certain version of the factory firmware, netgear had added some type of check that will screw up the installation process for anything except netgear firmware. I'm guessing it may be a similar thing with the 4500 firmware but I honestly don't know if that's the problem or not. I'd give a it a shot.


Worth the shot... didn't work; bricked the router once again.

I can't try it on my v1 because it died tw weeks ago when I unplugged it. Probably best to have powered it off before unplugging the power supply Smile

Tomorrow I'll try downloading the DD-WRT release via an FTP client to make sure it's not getting corrupt.
camelriders
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Nov 2017
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri Dec 01, 2017 6:37    Post subject: Re: RE: Bricked WNDR4500V2?? Reply with quote
november17 wrote:
camelriders wrote:

I tried several builds, not all.

Is there a particular version I should try? Should I go to the initial release?


I think I used the initial release, myself. I don't know if that's what your problem is. I just know that with the wndr3700; after a certain version of the factory firmware, netgear had added some type of check that will screw up the installation process for anything except netgear firmware. I'm guessing it may be a similar thing with the 4500 firmware but I honestly don't know if that's the problem or not. I'd give a it a shot.

nevermind: Firmware Version 1.0.0.60 is my go-to recovery firmware for the v2 before I reinstall. you're using the chk file, not the bin right?


Yes, using the chk file.
umd24
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Dec 2017
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun Dec 03, 2017 22:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
jwh7 wrote:
qq-www wrote:
First post and completely new to DD-WRT...

I read the basic guides and now I wanna ask... What is the current recommended build/version for WNDR4500(v1)?
I probably must use 33525+ because of KRACK...
Does the latest version (33772) work fine with WNDR4500?

And, which version should I use for the initial flash? The Peacock thread suggests Blainslayer 14929 while the wiki page does 26138.
The 'final' Broadcom krack fixes were in build 33678, and 33679 was missing many builds, so you want at least 33772. The Peacock doesn't indicate minimum builds to flash a particular device; that's in Supported Devices. So, you -definitely- don't want 14929. It is advised to follow the wiki for initial flash. I will be putting 33772 on my WNDR4500v2 and WNDR4000 today, as I have it on all my other DD devices atm. I will update this when I do; the v1 and v2 appear to have identical h/w specs except the latter has a BCM53125 switch (vs 53115).

Update: I have 33772 on my 4500v2 now, setup as a 2.4 GHz Client Bridge and 5 GHz Access Point, running fine.


Were you able to dirty install any of these builds after 33555? I hadn't had a problem updating until 33607 and 33772. Both are giving me problems with wifi when trying to connect to other bridge routers(Asus RT-N10P also running ddwrt). I have a couple debian boxes connected on the bridge routers that run security cams and Pi-Hole. When I try connecting to them through putty, sometimes it won't connect at all or if it does connect, it's very slow. Pi-Hole doesn't work either obviously since connection is flaky.

I flashed back to build 33555 and everything works perfectly once again. I can access the boxes in putty, access bridge routers webgui and Pi-Hole works once again. Just skimming some of the new build threads, there did seem to be some people having wifi issues starting with builds 33607 onward.
jwh7
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Oct 2013
Posts: 1461
Location: Indy

PostPosted: Mon Dec 04, 2017 14:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
umd24 wrote:
Were you able to dirty install any of these builds after 33555? I hadn't had a problem updating until 33607 and 33772. Both are giving me problems with wifi when trying to connect to other bridge routers(Asus RT-N10P also running ddwrt).
I flashed it from 33555 to 33772 w/ no reset, and also set up a guest wireless network on it. No issues observed, but I used the CB ethernet more than the AP/guest wireless side.
_________________
# NAT/SFE/CTF: limited speed w/ DD # Repeater issues # DD-WRT info: Builds, Types, Modes, Changelog, Peacock, Demo #
x64 pfSense 2.4.2|RT-N66U@663 Merlin 380.69|DD: 34929 WNDR4500v2, WNDR4000@533, E1500@353, R6300v1,
2*E2500, WRT54GLv1.1@250 VPN, GSv6@250 µ
|EA6900v1.1 Xwrt 380.69_2|OEM: WGR614v10@400-WNR1000v3 mod
umd24
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Dec 2017
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Dec 04, 2017 15:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
jwh7 wrote:
I flashed it from 33555 to 33772 w/ no reset, and also set up a guest wireless network on it. No issues observed, but I used the CB ethernet more than the AP/guest wireless side.


Ok. I'll stick with 33555 for now. Something definitely causing problems with bridge connections. I'll wait for future builds to see if it gets fixed. Thanks.
pf100
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Feb 2012
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun Dec 31, 2017 18:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
jwh7 wrote:
I flashed it from 33555 to 33772 w/ no reset, and also set up a guest wireless network on it. No issues observed, but I used the CB ethernet more than the AP/guest wireless side.

Your reports have been very helpful about what versions work and procedures to follow.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 91, 92, 93 Display posts from previous:    Page 93 of 93
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum