TP-Link C9 v3 1900 Brick?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
routerc9123
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 Dec 2017
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun Dec 31, 2017 11:35    Post subject: TP-Link C9 v3 1900 Brick? Reply with quote
Hi,
I recently bought the c9 v3 1900 router and attempted to flash the dd-wrt firmware. I first upgraded my firmware from the manufacturer to the latest (Archer_C9(US)_V3_161018_1479887048164h). Then i followed the guide from https://dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/TP_Link_Archer_C9 and downloaded the factory-to-ddwrt.bin (10-17-2017-r33525) which flashed successfully.

I was able to get into the GUI of DD_WRT and set the admin pass etc. I then updated to the latest ddwrt firmware (archer-c9v3-webflash). This is when things went left. Now when the router boots it just sits at the WPS light only. No other lights are on the router (the light looks like two arrows going up and down).

I tried to follow the TFTP server directions (restarted the router while holding the reset/wps buttons for 5secs or so) and installed the TFTP server and modified the config ini with a directory and the listening network of 192.168.0.66 (i also commented it out and have it listening on all interfaces). Looking at the log file of the tftp server (OpenTFTPServerMTInstallerV1.64) I do not see any connections and it doesn't look like the router is attempting to download the bin file in the directory i have setup.

Any ideas?

-Thanks
Sponsor
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 1737
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Dec 31, 2017 13:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
I assume the default IP address of the TP link is 192.168.0.66?
First set your IP address of your PC manually to 192.168.0.9 gateway 192.168.0.66 DNS 192.168.0.66

Open command prompt and ping continously to 192.168.0.66, start router and see what is happening

If you get ping response then you know the router is listening, but it only listens a very limited amount of time.

So if there is a response, repeat the procedure but with first starting tftp instead of ping and then start the router.

BTW are you sure the v3 is supported by DDWRT?

_________________
Router Netgear R6400, Linksys EA6900 (XvortexCFE), Linksys E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide see Linksys EA6900: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=291230
routerc9123
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 Dec 2017
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Jan 01, 2018 1:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
EGC,
thanks for the reply. I must have read the guide wrong from https://dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/TP_Link_Archer_C9, it must mean my pc is the client at 192.168.0.66 not the router. I remember when the router first powered on the gateway was 192.168.0.1 and change to 192.168.1.1 when flashing ddwrt. I tried 1.1 then 0.1 and the router responds on 0.1 and I was also able to get to the web interface where it just has a TP link header and a statement that says "System error. The router cannot startup normally, please upgrade the router, you can download the router firmware from tp-link.com."

It also has a browse button to locate the firmware you would like to restore. Problem is, I am not able to get the firmware to flash properly. Each time it states: "Firmware failed, this firmware is not compatible with your c9 router". I have tried the original ddwrt firmware from https://www.dd-wrt.com/site/support/other-downloads?path=betas%2F (factory-to-ddwrt.bin as well as the archer-c9v3-webflash.bin, and even both flash files from TP links website).

I thought that support was added with v3 and v4 in the 10/17/17 branch of the ddwrt beta, and also some success flashing without enabling the jffs in thread: https://downloads.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=305884&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=0

Any other ideas to get the firmware to take successfully?

-Thanks

Edit:
So i tried a couple different ddwrt files in the v3 family between 10/17 - 12/29, and all the the archer-c9v3-webflash.bin files give a "Upgrade failed. This file is invalid"
VS.
all the factory-to-ddwrt.bin files give "Firmware failed, this firmware is not compatible with your c9 router"

Edit:
I did a little more searching and found an article about a AC1200 C9 router with my same issue (http://forum.tp-link.com/showthread.php?95270-Archer-AC1200-not-working-only-WPS-light-on) and also followed the guide at: http://forum.tp-link.com/showthread.php?81462-How-to-recovery-the-router-when-you-bricked-it&highlight=fitz

I was successfully able to get the router to download the firmware from the tftp server, but I am still only having the wps light on, with the same message on the webpage for http://192.168.0.1 ""System error. The router cannot startup normally, please upgrade the router, you can download the router firmware from tp-link.com."
Sadguy
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Oct 2017
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Jan 01, 2018 23:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have the same issue with my ArcherC9v3. Unfortunately, no solution has been found...
clemon79
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 May 2015
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2018 18:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sadguy wrote:
I have the same issue with my ArcherC9v3. Unfortunately, no solution has been found...


Yep, welcome to the club. I bricked mine last night with the exact same process. TFTP will transfer but does not implement either.
routerc9123
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 Dec 2017
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2018 21:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks for the update guys, I would stay away from the 12-29-2017-r34311 version i guess.

I was upgrading from my older ac66u router, as this has a dual core proc which i wanted to see if it could run my pia vpn on the router which would save alot of headaches with other peoples download activity in this household lol.
FurryNutz
DD-WRT User


Joined: 31 Oct 2010
Posts: 204

PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2018 21:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
Has anyone tried getting back to OEM FW if you can get the router to respond via tftp services? Might see if going back to OEM FW can get the router back to OEM working defaults.
clemon79
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 May 2015
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2018 21:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
FurryNutz wrote:
Has anyone tried getting back to OEM FW if you can get the router to respond via tftp services? Might see if going back to OEM FW can get the router back to OEM working defaults.


Yep, tried that, didn't work. Specifically, the TFTP does transfer the file, but it doesn't process it or otherwise get the router out of the bricked state.
routerc9123
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 Dec 2017
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sat Jan 06, 2018 5:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi again.

Just FYI i got my replacement router (TP-Link c9 v3 1900)loaded it with the factory-to-ddwrt.bin (11-16-2017-r33772) and everything is fine so far. I will stay on this ver for a wile until someone is able to verify the other December versions.

Thanks!
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum