How to setup link aggregation between R9000 and S8000

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Author Message
MURddwrt
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Jan 2018
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Jan 11, 2018 20:28    Post subject: How to setup link aggregation between R9000 and S8000 Reply with quote
Hello, this is my first post in this forum.

The last week I have googled like a maniac to setup link aggregation between my Netgear X10 R9000 router (Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r34015M kongal (12/11/17)) and my Netgear S8000 switch. Both devices support link aggregation out of the box. Link aggregation has been activated on the S8000 switch but I simply dont know how to setup link aggregation in DD WRT. The two devices are connected with 2 ethernet cables. Port 1 to port 1 and port 2 to port 2.

Can someone please help me setup link aggregation in DD WRT?

Regards Martin
Sponsor
MURddwrt
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Jan 2018
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Jan 12, 2018 20:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
bump
ddaniel51
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2013
Posts: 1081

PostPosted: Sat Jan 13, 2018 2:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
Link Ag is currently implemented for the Broadcom chipsets that support it.

The Alpine/R9000 is not implemented.

I run a R9000 with a single lan port to a Cisco 300-20 switch which contains the entirety of the household lan and 2 AP's on it. The remainder of the R9000 switch is unused. The ISP's Gigabit bandwidth is present on the switch with no throttling.

If you really absolutely positively must have Link Ag then you'll need to revert to stock firmware.

_________________
Segment 1 R9000 Kong
Hanging out R7800 Kong
Wired AP 1 R8500 Kong
Wired AP 2 R8500 Kong
www.desipro.de/ddwrt/ (Kong's)
YAMon usage-monitoring.com/manualInstall.php
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 3655
Location: Akershus, Norway

PostPosted: Sat Jan 13, 2018 10:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
1) Divide the two ports into separate VLANs. Not the same as aggregation though.

2) Get 10 Gig SFP Modules to connect the two devices. This has a price tag.[/url]
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 3655
Location: Akershus, Norway

PostPosted: Sat Jan 13, 2018 12:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
You have a GS808E, correct?

Sorry, it does not have a SFP port. The R9000 does.
labo
DD-WRT User


Joined: 30 Jan 2015
Posts: 380
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sat Jan 13, 2018 21:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have a Quanta LB4M 48 Port 2X10GB Uplink SFP+ Switch connected to my R9000. 10Gbit port.
This is a very cheap switch you can get it from eBay for $60. Cheap and Best.

_________________
2 X R9000: Main router & WDS- STA
1 X R7800 WDS-STA
1 X R8000: Repeater bridge 1
1 X R7000: Repeater bridge 2
1 X RT-AC68U: Repeater bridge 3

Unused (Due to Lack of RB support in DD-WRT, currently):
R8500 MP2 version as RB.
ASUS RT-AC5300 as RB.
DLINK DIR895L as RB.
MURddwrt
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Jan 2018
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2018 7:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thank you all for your reply. I think im going to forget about link aggregation. No my switch is really Netgear S8000 http://www.netgear.com/landings/s8000/
with link agg/port trunking. I just wanted to give ekstra bandwith for file copy and tv internet streaming/Blu Ray streaming from NAS. But I dont really know if Its needed.
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 3655
Location: Akershus, Norway

PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2018 10:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
I would say it's not needed when the NAS, Media Server and Gaming Clients are all located on the switch.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum