DIR-300 as repeater mode??

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Author Message
mabhz
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 May 2009
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Wed May 27, 2009 23:21    Post subject: DIR-300 as repeater mode?? Reply with quote
Hi!

I just flashed my brand new DLink DIR-300 with DD-WRT 24sp1, mainly to use as a repeater on my wireless network.

I was following this guide (http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Universal_Wireless_Repeater)for configuring DD-WRT as a repeater, but the DD-WRT admin panel on my DIR 300 DOES NOT have the REPEATER option on the WIRELESS MODE configuration!!!

What is wrong?? Did i flash my DIR-300 with a wrong firmware???

HELP, please!!!!!!!!
Sponsor
ooferomen
DD-WRT User


Joined: 27 Aug 2006
Posts: 105

PostPosted: Thu May 28, 2009 1:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
atheros doesn't have reapter mode, i believe the correct way is to setup it up in client mode and then add a virtual AP
mabhz
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 May 2009
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Thu May 28, 2009 1:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
thanks a lot for you reply! but unfortunately, i didnt understand very well what you said. could you please be a bit more specific?

do you mean that i CANT use my DIR300 to repeat the signal of my wireless network AT ALL, or are you saying that in order to do that, i need to use other type of configuration??

could you or anyone else please point me to a detailed guide explaining how to do that with DD-WRT 24sp1?? the guide on this site has different screen shots, and im really not very experienced with network configuration.

my current wireless network runs on a Linksys Wrt54GL with defautl firmware.

thanks!
ooferomen
DD-WRT User


Joined: 27 Aug 2006
Posts: 105

PostPosted: Thu May 28, 2009 4:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
you confiure client bridge and then at the bottom of the wireless page create a virtual AP i think

i have never done it though
mabhz
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 May 2009
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Thu May 28, 2009 4:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
did that, followed instructions on dd-wrt wiki, but didnt work.

i cant figure out where exactly do you type the passphrase to connect to your network!!
ooferomen
DD-WRT User


Joined: 27 Aug 2006
Posts: 105

PostPosted: Thu May 28, 2009 4:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
wireless security tab
latimeria
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Dec 2008
Posts: 24
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Wed Jun 17, 2009 14:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi Mabhz,
did you finally get it working? if so can you please explain all steps you did and revision you're using? I'm interested on it too
thanks!!
mabhz
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 May 2009
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Wed Jun 17, 2009 14:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
Nope, i didnt.

As it was said in another post of mine, DIR 300 does not work in repeater mode, it seems....

too bad
latimeria
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Dec 2008
Posts: 24
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Wed Jun 17, 2009 15:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
....did you experience some way of using dir300 for wireless repeating as clients? this is getting me mad Exclamation
mabhz
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 May 2009
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Wed Jun 17, 2009 15:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
well, if you find a way, PLEASE, let me know! really!

i configured everything according to the guides, and nothing worked. maybe it was the wap2.
project-nz
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Apr 2009
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Tue Jun 23, 2009 10:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
can you get it into client-bridge because if you can then you make a virtual interface?
mabhz
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 May 2009
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Tue Jun 23, 2009 15:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
It worked.

But the guide is incorrect (as usual here!), you need to leave the DHCP ON and configure it as FOWARD DHCP down below on the same sceen. Looks like the one who wrote the guide never actually did it.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum