Linksys Cisco E1200 Version 2 DD-WRT Supported

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 18, 19, 20  Next
Author Message
americanninja
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Dec 2016
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Sun Jan 01, 2017 18:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
Awesome! Yeah, I will give that a go and see what it's like!
Sponsor
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 3508
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Thu Apr 27, 2017 14:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
2017 K3.x builds for the E1200v2
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1076953#1076953
ChrisP648
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Jun 2017
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu Jun 08, 2017 2:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
anakngtuknene wrote:
is there another way of finding hardware version without looking at the bottom of my router.. my router is already affixed to the wall with adhesive..

or

Can I try installing both firmware version 1 and 2 without bricking my router?


Log into the webgui for the router and look at the firmware version installed. Factory firmware version 1.xxx.xxx is used on router version 1, and firmware version 2.xxx.xxx is used on router version 2.
wikingnor
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Jun 2017
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2017 6:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
Bormotoon wrote:
Hi all. I'm noob here, registered only to say something about my attempts to flash E1200v2.

So, I tried to flash with .bin from ddwrt-wiki, all of them from this topic (from webadmin and with tftp) - results similar to those Nonaem got - old firmware stand still.

Then I googled some info. Small clarification - I'm from Russia, so I bought my e1200 here, in Moscow city.

Well here we go.

Quote:
Linksys LLC

Product: Linksys E1200-RU
Classification: Firmware Release History
Release Date: Oct 1, 2013

Last Firmware Version: 2.3.00
_____________________________________________________________________

Note: This firmware is only compatible with hardware version 2.3 (v2.3), but not with hardware version 1, 2 and 2.2.


Firmware 2.3.00 (build 1)
- Initial release

http://downloads.linksys.com/downloads/802/1019/E1200-RU_FwReleaseNotes.txt

In my webadmin i have a firmware version 2.3.00. So, looks like I can't flash latest FW from linksys offsite, because it has lesser version number than my current FW. And I have "Update error" every time on 8-10%.

But I can't understand why the TFTP method didn't work. As it says in release notes - FW 2.3 is only to HW v2.3. Maybe that is the problem. I really dunno.


Initially you have to replace your FW v.2.3.00 with regular v.2.0.07 FW from official Linksys site. This will convert your E1200-RU to regular E1200 v2 HW router. In order to do it flash your router with modified FW. You'll be able to flash DD-WRT afterwards. Follow the instructions carefully: http://wikingnor.blogspot.com/2017/06/linksys-e1200-ru-2300-fw-router.html
jpp
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Sep 2017
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Tue Sep 26, 2017 18:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
mrjcd wrote:
2017 K3.x builds for the E1200v2
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1076953#1076953


Thanks.

I have been using on two e1200 v2 units the firmware DD-WRT v3.0-r32170 mega (06/01/17) and it works great.

It seems more stable than the original recommended on the wiki dd-wrt.v24-29519_NEWD-2_K3.x_mega-nv64k

Time: 15:17:30 up 24 days, 19:03, load average: 0.06, 0.02, 0.04

JP
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 3508
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Tue Sep 26, 2017 18:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
jpp wrote:
mrjcd wrote:
2017 K3.x builds for the E1200v2
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1076953#1076953


Thanks.

I have been using on two e1200 v2 units the firmware DD-WRT v3.0-r32170 mega (06/01/17) and it works great.

It seems more stable than the original recommended on the wiki dd-wrt.v24-29519_NEWD-2_K3.x_mega-nv64k

Time: 15:17:30 up 24 days, 19:03, load average: 0.06, 0.02, 0.04

JP


Hey JP,
Yea, the K3.x r32170 is a good build on the E1200v2.
In case you have faster than 50 Mbps internet and need a bit more you can use the r33215 ...
...it has the SFE included and seems to be a very good build.
See >>> http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1094482#1094482
jpp
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Sep 2017
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Tue Sep 26, 2017 20:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
mrjcd wrote:
jpp wrote:
mrjcd wrote:
2017 K3.x builds for the E1200v2
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1076953#1076953


Thanks.

I have been using on two e1200 v2 units the firmware DD-WRT v3.0-r32170 mega (06/01/17) and it works great.

It seems more stable than the original recommended on the wiki dd-wrt.v24-29519_NEWD-2_K3.x_mega-nv64k

Time: 15:17:30 up 24 days, 19:03, load average: 0.06, 0.02, 0.04

JP


Hey JP,
Yea, the K3.x r32170 is a good build on the E1200v2.
In case you have faster than 50 Mbps internet and need a bit more you can use the r33215 ...
...it has the SFE included and seems to be a very good build.
See >>> http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1094482#1094482


I see, i will look into SFE.

I have just upgraded to 60Mbps so do you think i should see benefits using it? Does it matter that my ISP uses CGNAT?

JP
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 3508
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Tue Sep 26, 2017 20:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
jpp wrote:
I have just upgraded to 60Mbps so do you think i should see benefits using it? Does it matter that my ISP uses CGNAT?

JP

CGNAT should not affect SFE. You might benefit a small amount according to the tests I did.
I wouldn't worry too much about it if what you have is working ok.
If, in the future, DD-WRT can get SFE to work with QOS then that would be a benefit to you.
If your new connection is actually capable of a little over 60 Mbps then you might want to upgrade the E1200v2 and see how it works.

As for CGNAT --- don't really know that much about it other than I hope like heck it is never implemented in my part of the woods Razz
jpp
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Sep 2017
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 14:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
Anyone used the dd-wrt.v24-33525_NEWD-2_K3.x_mega-e1200v2 that has the KRACK attack patch?

About KRACK WPA2 issue: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=311679

JP
useeone
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Jun 2012
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Oct 23, 2017 8:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
I've just flashed https://download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/2017/10-20-2017-r33555/broadcom_K3X/dd-wrt.v24-33555_NEWD-2_K3.x_mega-e1200v2.bin onto mine and it seems to be working so far.
jpp
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Sep 2017
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Mon Oct 23, 2017 16:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks, but i just saw that broadcom has not been patched yet, so this upgrade for our router won't do anything for now.

BrainSlayer wrote:
all broadcom based chipsets are still affected by crackattack. only mediatek and qca/atheros and marvell based chipsets are fixed now. broadcom has not released a solution yet for the propertiery drivers. so be patient. i'm on it.

and additionally there is a solution for a ap side fix. see the new option "disable eapol retries" at wireless security (not visible on broadcom routers for sure)


BrainSlayer wrote:
i wrote now a own patch for all broadcom drivers which handles the problem. so broadcom routers will have krackattack fixed with next release


http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=311679&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=60
useeone
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Jun 2012
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Oct 23, 2017 21:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
Well that would explain why I couldn't find the new EAPOL key retries option.
Will flash it again when this new workaround is added and report back.
jpp
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Sep 2017
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Thu Oct 26, 2017 18:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
Now, i understand it was patched for old broadcom devices starting on release 33574:

jwh7 wrote:
ghoti19 wrote:
Any suggestions on a build I can try for my e1000v1 that might work in Repeater Bridge mode?
Repeater Bridge has been broken on K2.6 builds since early 26xxx builds. There are many threads about it. I think redhawk said 26125 was the last working build, but then someone recently said it didn't work. Otoh, RB is prone to user setup error. See 'Repeater issues' in my footer, or search more recent posts. To use latest builds, one option could be to use Client Bridge then use another cheap AP thru it (I've seen many $2-5 devices at Goodwill this year).

Fyi to all, it appears Broadcom devices will have the fixes in:
    Changeset [33574] by brainslayer: update for older broadcom devices
    Changeset [33573] by brainslayer: fix for krackattack
    Changeset [33572] by brainslayer: fix for broadcom supplicant to handle krackattack
...so look for the next build, hopefully in the next few days.


The newest build after this was 33607 (yesterday) so i will update to dd-wrt.v24-33607_NEWD-2_K3.x_mega-e1200v2 over the weekend to test.

Anyone already did?

JP
jwh7
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Oct 2013
Posts: 1765
Location: Indy

PostPosted: Thu Oct 26, 2017 19:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
jpp wrote:
The newest build after this was 33607 (yesterday) so i will update to dd-wrt.v24-33607_NEWD-2_K3.x_mega-e1200v2 over the weekend to test.

Anyone already did?
Check the build thread: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=311923

No E1200v2's yet, but note there are many with wireless issues w/ this build, though there is a possible workaround.

_________________
# NAT/SFE/CTF: limited speed w/ DD # Repeater issues # DD-WRT info: Builds, Types, Modes, Changelog, Peacock, Demo #
x64 OPNsense 18.7b65|EA6900v1.1 Xwrt 380.70|DD: 35927 WNDR4500v2, WNDR4000@533, E1500@353, R6300v1,
2*E2500, WRT54*@250: GLv1.1 nks, GSv6 µ
|RT-N66U@663 Merlin 380.70|OEM: WGR614v10@400-WNR1000v3 mod
jpp
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Sep 2017
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Fri Oct 27, 2017 16:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
jwh7 wrote:
jpp wrote:
The newest build after this was 33607 (yesterday) so i will update to dd-wrt.v24-33607_NEWD-2_K3.x_mega-e1200v2 over the weekend to test.

Anyone already did?
Check the build thread: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=311923

No E1200v2's yet, but note there are many with wireless issues w/ this build, though there is a possible workaround.


Thanks.

JP
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 18, 19, 20  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 19 of 20
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum