AC900/EA6200 DD-WRT firmware

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11  Next
Author Message
raito77
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Dec 2013
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Sun Mar 06, 2016 15:15    Post subject: Re: ea6200 with xvortex's CFE! Reply with quote
lowlymortal wrote:
Starting with ddwrt-r28397's linksys-ea6350-webflash.bin, I followed the instructions on the following page:

http://download1.dd-wrt.de/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=172389&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=645&sid=3d3726751f95ce58244e6629095de2ba

but with the following differences:
1) I took all the "0:blah" and "1:blah" variables from the ea6200's original "devinfo" partition, i.e. all the radio parameters (as far as I can tell) from the original ea6200,
2) Set boardnum=20140309, boardrev=0x1200, modelNumber=EA6350 and secret_code from label on the ea6200,

I overwrote the ea6200's original CFE (have backup) with xvortex's-CFE-for-ea6900-modified-by-LOM-for-ea6400 using the following:
Code:

mtd erase mtd0
mtd write lom-cfe-with-ea6200-params.bin mtd0

Note that the mtd command said that it failed, but it actually succeeded. I verified the contents of /dev/mtd0 using the following commands before cutting power to the ea6200:
Code:

dd if=/dev/mtd0 bs=2048 | hexdump -C | head
hexdump -C lom-cfe-with-ea6200-params.bin | head
dd if=/dev/mtd0 bs=2048 | hexdump -C | tail
hexdump -C lom-cfe-with-ea6200-params.bin | tail


So, now I have an ea6200 with xvortex's CFE (that follows Asus' reset procedures), that pretends to be an ea6350, but with 5GHz interface as wl0. Smile

I have now verified that the 32k nvram bug doesn't bother this ea6200. I will now update to a newer build, configure it, test it, and hopefully, put it in production.

My previous attempt to flash xvortex's CFE to another ea6200 using plain dd failed because I had not erased the mtd0 partition properly before programming it. Apparently, NAND flash uses 0xff patterns to "erase" blocks, and I had mistakenly used 0x00 patterns.


Great job!

Can You please share your fixed CFE.BIN for EA6200 ?
Sponsor
lowlymortal
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Mar 2012
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2016 17:24    Post subject: xvortex CFE for ea6200. Reply with quote
Here, it is. Disclaimer: Use at your own risk, may cause instant combustion of your router etc. Smile

Note that this particular binary has:
1) "0:blah" and "1:blah" parameters from the ea6200's original devinfo partition,
2) boardnum=20140309, boardrev=0x1200, modelNumber=EA6350 to make it pretend to be an ea6350, but with 5GHz interface as wl0,
3) Dummied-up et0macaddr, 0:macaddr, 1:macaddr and secret_code as follows:
Code:

et0macaddr=00:00:00:00:00:01
0:macaddr=00:00:00:00:00:03
1:macaddr=00:00:00:00:00:04
secret_code=12345678


You will have to change et0macaddr, 0:macaddr, 1:macaddr and secret_code by using xvortex's CFEEdit.exe!

You will have to use linksys-ea6350-webflash.bin after you've flashed this CFE on the ea6200. BACKUP YOUR CFE before doing any of this!

Good luck, and share your results.



xvortex-cfe-ea6200-as-ea6350-with-ea6200-devinfo.bin
 Description:
XVortex's CFE, modified for the ea6200 to make it pretend to be an ea6350 and get over the 32k nvram CFE bug.

Download
 Filename:  xvortex-cfe-ea6200-as-ea6350-with-ea6200-devinfo.bin
 Filesize:  226.61 KB
 Downloaded:  914 Time(s)

raito77
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Dec 2013
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2016 18:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
I JUST LITTLE CONFUSED ABOUT mac:

IF I HAVE LIKE THIS MAC XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:DE
I NEED CHANGE TO XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:01 OR XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:D1 OR (+ 1bit) XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:DF
lowlymortal
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Mar 2012
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2016 20:32    Post subject: MAC addresses. Reply with quote
It would be:
Code:

et0macaddr=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:DE
0:macaddr=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:E0
1:macaddr=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:E1
raito77
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Dec 2013
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Tue Mar 08, 2016 7:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
Done!
Thanks to <lowlymortal> !

    System
    Router NameDD-WRT
    Router ModelLinksys EA6350
    Firmware Version DD-WRT v3.0-r29218 std (03/07/16)
    Kernel VersionLinux 4.4.4 #411 SMP Mon Mar 7 05:08:01 CET 2016 armv7l



My MAC settings:

et0macaddr=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:DE (on label)
0:macaddr=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:EF +(0x01)
1:macaddr=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:E0 +(0x02)
lowlymortal
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Mar 2012
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2016 21:52    Post subject: WiFi performance. Reply with quote
raito77,

I think your MAC setup is not "correct", but should work. I would confirm the MAC addresses assigned to the interfaces at run-time just to be sure.

Secondly, how is your WiFi performance, both on the 2.4GHz and 5GHz bands?

My setup is routing-only (no WiFi), which, I have not been able to test just yet due to lack of time.
raito77
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Dec 2013
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2016 22:00    Post subject: Re: WiFi performance. Reply with quote
lowlymortal wrote:
raito77,

I think your MAC setup is not "correct", but should work. I would confirm the MAC addresses assigned to the interfaces at run-time just to be sure.

Secondly, how is your WiFi performance, both on the 2.4GHz and 5GHz bands?

My setup is routing-only (no WiFi), which, I have not been able to test just yet due to lack of time.


2.4GHz and 5GHz bands working perfect.

I have only problem with NAS. I can see on my tv device name but nothing in it - no files.
raito77
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Dec 2013
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2016 10:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
So ... i reset one more time settings and now also NAS working perfect Smile

Info from router:

    System
    Router Name DD-WRT
    Router ModelLinksys EA6350
    Firmware Version DD-WRT v3.0-r29218 std (03/07/16)
    Kernel VersionLinux 4.4.4 #411 SMP Mon Mar 7 05:08:01 CET 2016 armv7l


    CPU ModelBroadcom BCM4708
    CPU Cores1
    CPU Clock 800 MHz
    CPU TemperatureCPU 49.1 °C / WL0 43.02 °C / WL1 42.79 °C

    Space Usage
    NVRAM 33.55 KB / 64 KB


No problem with NVRAM over - 32 KB Smile
My EA6200 pretending as EA6350 and running like rocket Smile
And i put silver artic pasta instead heat-rubber
now CPU Temperature is much lower !
.
.
vitche
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Dec 2015
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2016 10:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
raito77 wrote:
So ... i reset one more time settings and now also NAS working perfect Smile

Info from router:

    System
    Router Name DD-WRT
    Router ModelLinksys EA6350
    Firmware Version DD-WRT v3.0-r29218 std (03/07/16)
    Kernel VersionLinux 4.4.4 #411 SMP Mon Mar 7 05:08:01 CET 2016 armv7l


    CPU ModelBroadcom BCM4708
    CPU Cores1
    CPU Clock 800 MHz
    CPU TemperatureCPU 49.1 °C / WL0 43.02 °C / WL1 42.79 °C

    Space Usage
    NVRAM 33.55 KB / 64 KB


No problem with NVRAM over - 32 KB Smile
My EA6200 pretending as EA6350 and running like rocket Smile
And i put silver artic pasta instead heat-rubber
now CPU Temperature is much lower !
.
.


Is it possible, please prepare tutorial from step 1 to step N.

Me and other users would like to run DD-WRT on EA6200.

Thank you!
raito77
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Dec 2013
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2016 10:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
I just follow <lowlymortal> instructions here on page #6 http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1010633#1010633
xaueious
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Aug 2010
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2016 6:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
I think there's a typo in the CFE: vlan2ports=4 5u

The Chinese version has additional that have to be added for stock firmware compatibility, such as unique UUID, default Linksks login.

I am not sure what build they are using. Without a serial and preferring DDWRT, I don't want to flash their CFE.

They also added these lines which I think might have something to do with the second partition:
image_first_offset=2097152
image_second_offset=32505856

Otherwise, also reporting that the CFE flash went smoothly. I didn't change my firmware - was on DDWRT build r28598 and still am on that.

Hardware is reporting as EA6350, also:
nvram getprop pmon_ver
CFE 6.37.14.86 (r456083)

Only thing I additionally did as a point of caution was flash both partitions linux (mtd2) and linux2 (mtd4) to r28598 before I flashed the CFE, because I wasn't sure if the original manufacturer firmware would be able to boot off the modified CFE

The instructions are okay, but the idea is:
1) Flash to a bootable build of DDWRT so you can modify your flash chip partitions
2) In DDWRT, do a factory reset as a precautionary step
3) Prepare the CFE file with your device mac address and WPS secret
4) Write the build of DDWRT is written to both bootable partitions as a safety
5) Write the CFE
6) Recycle the power while wiping settings - unplug + restart with WPS button held down to clear nvram being best bet

What I didn't expect was that the LED indicator doesn't flash anymore during boot, which scared me for a bit.

_________________
EA6200: r28598 as EA6350 on CFE 6.37.14.86 (r456083)
E4200: r28598
xaueious
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Aug 2010
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2016 7:57    Post subject: Re: ea6200 with r29147's linksys-ea6350-webflash.bin. Reply with quote
I think wifi mac addresses are assigned by https://github.com/mirror/dd-wrt/blob/master/src/router/services/utils/utils.c

Not sure why they are both the same

_________________
EA6200: r28598 as EA6350 on CFE 6.37.14.86 (r456083)
E4200: r28598
Cincinnatus
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Mar 2016
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2016 13:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
jimbob200521 wrote:
... I upgraded from a WRT54G running tomato as well as a second WRT54G running DDWRT so I'm not a total newb with this stuff (but not quite advanced either). My question is what is my best bet for a firmware for this router at this time? I'd love to expand functionality so whatever you guys can recommend is appreciated. Thanks in advance!

I'm in this same boat with these exact circumstances. I previously flashed DD-WRT to a WRT54G router and managed to get WDS configured with a Tenda router, but would like to upgrade to a 6200 for the enhanced performance. I've read all 7 pages (and a couple other threads as well), but the majority of it is "above my pay grade", and there's much conflicting information - we SHOULD do the 30.30.30, we should NOT do the 30.30.30, and so on.

Is there some updated step-by-step guide we neophytes can rely on to get this installed correctly?

Thanks in advance!
raito77
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Dec 2013
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2016 19:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi <Cincinnatus> !

Yes, You are right ! Smile i have one Bricked EA6200 in storage Sad with erased NVRAM.

So .. Yes if with stock CFE EA6200 do Erase NVRAM the router is BRICKET (flushed NVRAM with devinfo)

__________________________________________________________________________________________

This is not perfect manual but for me it worked ! Smile

1. Do NOT Erase NVRAM on stock CFE EA6200 !!! (also do NOT 30/30/30)
2.Download edited CFE here: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1012589#1012589
You will have to change et0macaddr, 0:macaddr, 1:macaddr and secret_code by using xvortex's CFEEdit.exe!
(with your router label) - save CFE.bin on PC will need later ...
3. Flash dd-wrt like here:http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=956223#956223
4. Set ssh access in dd-wrt
5. upload edited CFE.bin to dd-wrt (i use winSCP)
6. just in case Backup you stock CFE: http://router_ip/backup/cfe.bin
7. Now need to erase mtd0 partition and then write edited CFE

ssh router and run commands:

Code:

mtd erase mtd0
mtd write Your_CFE_uploaded_location.bin mtd0


Don`t power off !! check if CFE is in partition:

Code:

dd if=/dev/mtd0 bs=2048 | hexdump -C | head
hexdump -C lom-cfe-with-ea6200-params.bin | head
dd if=/dev/mtd0 bs=2048 | hexdump -C | tail
hexdump -C lom-cfe-with-ea6200-params.bin | tail


8. Reboot router - if no router LED don`t worry Smile just wait Smile

10. flash with EA6350 firmware: http://download1.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/betas/2016/03-07-2016-r29218/linksys-ea6350/linksys-ea6350-webflash.bin

i hope it helps someone .. Smile
Cincinnatus
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Mar 2016
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2016 20:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
raito77 wrote:
Hi <Cincinnatus> !
2.Download edited CFE here: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1012589#1012589
You will have to change et0macaddr, 0:macaddr, 1:macaddr and secret_code by using xvortex's CFEEdit.exe!
(with your router label) - save CFE.bin on PC will need later ...

Thanks for your prompt reply! Not quite clear on this...

Location of 'CFEEdit.exe'?
I don't understand 'with your router label' means
Isn't the edited CFE (linked above) correct for the 6200 or was it originally designed for another model?

Maybe I should just get a 6500 (V2) router on sale and not take the risk that I might brick the 6200?
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 7 of 11
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum