mixing DD-WRT with original Engenius firmware EOC2610

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Senao Devices
Author Message
chepesiukma
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Jan 2015
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Jan 13, 2015 12:49    Post subject: mixing DD-WRT with original Engenius firmware EOC2610 Reply with quote
I had a stable link over about 500m between two Engenius EOC2610 units with stock firmware, one set as Access Point and the other Client Bridge, dynamic (not static) IP for each unit. MAC addresses were passed and the units worked flawlessly. I "upgraded" the CB unit with the latest DD-WRT firmware (V24-SP2 21061) in order to have a repeater bridge but the AP is still Engenius firmware. I have not had a stable connection since and need to reboot the system frequently. In addition MAC addresses are not passed through the bridge any more. I have read all the wikis and understand that WDS mode will probably not work now (tried once so far without success) as the units have different firmware, realize I cannot restore the original firmware without a complicated flashing using the serial connector, and REALLY regret having installed DD-WRT. Please confirm that DD-WRT firmware is not stable when used with original Engenius firmware, or let me know of any solution (other than purchasing DD-WRT for the AP).
Thanks
Sponsor
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17636
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Mon Feb 09, 2015 15:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
client bridge is not transparent to mac's.
u have to use wds-ap/sta!

_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
chepesiukma
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Jan 2015
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Feb 09, 2015 17:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yes I know ddwrt does not pass Mac addresses but Engenius does.
Can I mix the two types of firnware though?
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Senao Devices All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum