New Broadcom ARM driver ?

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 54, 55, 56 ... 62, 63, 64  Next
Author Message
HalfBit
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Sep 2009
Posts: 776
Location: AR, USA

PostPosted: Sat Mar 21, 2015 2:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
tigs wrote:
No need. That was exactly what I did. Although in my case,
Code:
erase nvram && reboot
never worked. I had to use:
Code:
mtd erase nvram;reboot


Isn't it nvram erase && reboot?

_________________
R7000 Nighthawk - DD-WRT v3.0-r50308
R7000 Nighthawk - DD-WRT v3.0-r50308
~~~~~~~~~~Dismantled for learning opportunities~~~~~~~~~~
WRT54Gv2
WRT54Gv8.2
~~~~~~~~~~Other Settings~~~~~~~~~
https://nextdns.io/?from=2d3sq39x
https://pi-hole.net/
https://github.com/DNSCrypt/dnscrypt-proxy
Sponsor
jheide44
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Sep 2013
Posts: 739

PostPosted: Sat Mar 21, 2015 3:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
HalfBit wrote:
tigs wrote:
No need. That was exactly what I did. Although in my case,
Code:
erase nvram && reboot
never worked. I had to use:
Code:
mtd erase nvram;reboot


Isn't it nvram erase && reboot?


nope (but I always get that one backwards too)

recent discussion:
http://dd-wrt.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=279589

wiki:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Hard_reset_or_30/30/30

older discussion:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=500621
(with details on how to blow away your entire CFE)

_________________
reenignE esreveR
Resistance is NOT futile... It's Voltage divided by Current!


_.-:Curently Deployed Devices:-._
Loc_1.0: R6400 -- v3.0-r51887 std (02/28/23)
Loc_2.0: R6300v2 -- Kong PTB 35550M 03-28-2018

Others: too many others to list

R7000 (& similar HW) Tips/Tricks HERE.

Assumptions:
1. Everyone on the forum has read the relevant forum section announcements.
2. For Broadcom section we have ALL at least tried to understand the "Peacock" thread,
HERE
rp1p
DD-WRT User


Joined: 06 May 2014
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Sat Mar 21, 2015 5:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
HalfBit wrote:
tigs wrote:
No need. That was exactly what I did. Although in my case,
Code:
erase nvram && reboot
never worked. I had to use:
Code:
mtd erase nvram;reboot


Isn't it nvram erase && reboot?

I keep seeing people posting "nvram erase && reboot" throughout the forum and contemplated making a PSA post but decided against it.

To avoid confusion it's best to uncouple the reboot line so the console will give you an error when you use the wrong command.

nvram erase && reboot will always reboot giving the user a false sense of success because it'll always reboot as if it were sucessful.

nvram erase will give you an invalid argument for nvram error while erase nvram will give an indication of erasing the memory block.

Afterwards, just type reboot and hit enter and you're set.
tigs
DD-WRT User


Joined: 25 Sep 2011
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Sat Mar 21, 2015 6:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
Quote:
I keep seeing people posting "nvram erase && reboot" throughout the forum and contemplated making a PSA post but decided against it.

To avoid confusion it's best to uncouple the reboot line so the console will give you an error when you use the wrong command.

nvram erase && reboot will always reboot giving the user a false sense of success because it'll always reboot as if it were sucessful.

nvram erase will give you an invalid argument for nvram error while erase nvram will give an indication of erasing the memory block.

Afterwards, just type reboot and hit enter and you're set.


OK, following your clue, I have experimented various combinations. Here are the result, at least on my router R7000:

1. nvram erase (not working AND without error message)
2. erase nvram (working despite "invalid argument" message, followed by "reboot")
3. erase nvram && reboot ( despite message "invalid argument", will erase nvram, but will not reboot, have to type "reboot".)
4. erase nvram;reboot (works with error message "invalid argument")

http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Factory_Defaults



Untitled.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  72.08 KB
 Viewed:  8502 Time(s)

Untitled.jpg




Last edited by tigs on Sat Mar 21, 2015 6:37; edited 1 time in total
Anti-Ultimate
DD-WRT User


Joined: 11 Oct 2014
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Sat Mar 21, 2015 6:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
I wouldn't use the mtd erase nvram command as it has a higher possibility of bricking your router.
tigs
DD-WRT User


Joined: 25 Sep 2011
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Sat Mar 21, 2015 6:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
Anti-Ultimate wrote:
I wouldn't use the mtd erase nvram command as it has a higher possibility of bricking your router.


I will not now, as I have figured out how to do it without using "mtd". I was following this page:

http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Factory_Defaults

Obviously, there are conflicting instructions all over the place.
rp1p
DD-WRT User


Joined: 06 May 2014
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Mon Mar 23, 2015 1:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
New test build posted by Kong is up.
jheide44
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Sep 2013
Posts: 739

PostPosted: Mon Mar 23, 2015 3:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
rawd wrote:
jheide44 wrote:
rawd wrote:
I have

dd-wrt.v24-K3_AC_ARM_STD_26160M.bin

I can throw on my Dropbox account if anyone needs PM me..


I have that one here:
http://dd-wrt.tweakedrom.com/Kong_PTB/K3-AC-ARM_26160_DATE_UNKNOWN/

you don't recall the file date, or date from the top of the web admin gui do you? (i.e. Firmware:DD-WRT v24-sp2 (??/??/15) std)

if not I can flash it and check... then after confirming it is a good file (got it from this thread) i can make an MD5 for it Wink



Yep here you go

Firmware: DD-WRT v24-sp2 (02/06/15) kongac


Thanks updated directory name accordingly:
http://dd-wrt.tweakedrom.com/Kong_PTB/K3-AC-ARM_26160_2015-02-06/

_________________
reenignE esreveR
Resistance is NOT futile... It's Voltage divided by Current!


_.-:Curently Deployed Devices:-._
Loc_1.0: R6400 -- v3.0-r51887 std (02/28/23)
Loc_2.0: R6300v2 -- Kong PTB 35550M 03-28-2018

Others: too many others to list

R7000 (& similar HW) Tips/Tricks HERE.

Assumptions:
1. Everyone on the forum has read the relevant forum section announcements.
2. For Broadcom section we have ALL at least tried to understand the "Peacock" thread,
HERE
stalonge
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jul 2006
Posts: 1898
Location: Fortaleza Ce Brazil

PostPosted: Mon Mar 23, 2015 5:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
Kong 26500 working here


lets wait for results

Very Happy Very Happy

_________________
DDwrt ...it rocks ....

1 R7800 54420 AP Wireguard webserver JFFS SAMBA FTP usb HD Mesh
1 R7800 54420 Cli Mesh
1 WZR1750 54389 AP Webserver Samba Wireguard
1 TP link Archer C7v5 54420 Cli Mesh
1 DD x86_64 48296 Gateway Samba Ftp Webserver
imranjamadar
DD-WRT User


Joined: 02 Dec 2012
Posts: 134

PostPosted: Mon Mar 23, 2015 7:11    Post subject: Build Number??????? Reply with quote
stalonge wrote:
Kong 26500 working here


lets wait for results

Very Happy Very Happy


Which build number do you mean? the 23rd Mar release?
stalonge
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jul 2006
Posts: 1898
Location: Fortaleza Ce Brazil

PostPosted: Mon Mar 23, 2015 9:05    Post subject: Re: Build Number??????? Reply with quote
[quote="imranjamadar"]
stalonge wrote:
Kong 26500 working here


lets wait for results

Very Happy Very Happy


Which build number do you mean? the 23rd Mar release?[/quote



Yes , 4 Hours up .. no issues noticed

Very Happy Very Happy

_________________
DDwrt ...it rocks ....

1 R7800 54420 AP Wireguard webserver JFFS SAMBA FTP usb HD Mesh
1 R7800 54420 Cli Mesh
1 WZR1750 54389 AP Webserver Samba Wireguard
1 TP link Archer C7v5 54420 Cli Mesh
1 DD x86_64 48296 Gateway Samba Ftp Webserver
deanpeak
DD-WRT User


Joined: 13 Sep 2014
Posts: 70

PostPosted: Tue Mar 24, 2015 2:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
did this release require a reset? I upgraded to this recent Kong release and brick my R7000 router. Tried to recover but could not. I had insurance on it so I went and replaced it with a new R7000. I was able to upgrade it to the recent release but seem to have issue setting up the wireless. Sometimes find that even the hard wired PC will show unidentified network and can't connect to the router and will have to reset... try again and the same thing. I going to work this again tomorrow but may drop back to the last release. It was running without issue.
slidermike
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Nov 2013
Posts: 1487
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue Mar 24, 2015 12:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
No, not if you came from a Kong build since late Feb.
Even if it did, not performing the reset would not brick the router.
Your issue is something else.
deanpeak wrote:
did this release require a reset?

_________________
Router currently owned:
Netgear R7800 - Router
Netgear R7000 - AP mode

R7000 specific Tips/Tricks.
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=264152
deanpeak
DD-WRT User


Joined: 13 Sep 2014
Posts: 70

PostPosted: Tue Mar 24, 2015 14:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
slidermike wrote:
No, not if you came from a Kong build since late Feb.
Even if it did, not performing the reset would not brick the router.
Your issue is something else.
deanpeak wrote:
did this release require a reset?


Thanks for the response. I did not think it would but I was performing the upgrade from Kong's 26450M that has been running solid and for some reason if stayed in the timer window longer than normal. then the time counter to zero and it was still sitting. after waiting a little longer and noticed the power LED was blinking white/red, I decided to unplug it. That made no difference or trying to do a hard reset. So decided it was dead, for whatever reason, and went exchanged it for another. Then I think I just had a few issues... the cable modem being married to the old router my PC's seeing the new router as public, and so on. So after much time and cussing, I now seem to have everything up and running happily on Kong's 26500M. Monday was just not my day but Tuesday is looking up... lol.
dahosepipe
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Mar 2015
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Fri Mar 27, 2015 6:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
So I read through the last month or so of posts on this thread and came to the conclusion that 26160M appears to be stable for most. I upgraded my R7000 from 25090M and I've had no reboots for 2+ days now. Sweet! Thanks everyone, especially Kong, for your efforts.

I did an nvram reset after the upgrade, and reconfigured from scratch... including OpenVPN. Took some time, but wasn't that bad.

I was wondering if someone could clarify something for me. I've gathered from the posts that Kong does his testing and the results are posted at the link below. Correct? Is it safe to assume that his newer test versions overright previous test versions? How can you tell the new version numbers, as they are not noted in the filename?
http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/K3-AC-Arm/

And the community is then saving some of the notable/stable testing Kong has done at the link below. Right?
http://dd-wrt.tweakedrom.com/Kong_PTB/

And finally, Kong still has his earlier versions and initial flash binaries here?
http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt-ren/K3-AC-Arm/
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 54, 55, 56 ... 62, 63, 64  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 55 of 64
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum