D-Link DIR-860L A1: Known defects

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next
Author Message
KrypteX
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Jan 2014
Posts: 2411

PostPosted: Sat Jun 27, 2015 12:12    Post subject: Re: Got USB to work! :-) Reply with quote
a_l wrote:
This all concludes that to get both LEDs and USB to work we need BrainSlayer or someone with commit access to add this (if they agree Smile )

Code:
case ROUTER_DLINK_DIR860:
        power_gpio = 0x101;         // power led green
        diag_gpio = 0x100;          // power led orange
        diag_gpio_disabled = 0x101; // power led green
        connected_gpio = 0x104;     // wan led green
        disconnected_gpio = 0x103;  // wan led orange
        usb_power = 0x00a;          // usb power
        break;


Maybe KrypteX can help us to get a bug report on svn.dd-wrt.com?
Smile Thanks in advance!

Can you please point to the code that handles the above parameters and that need to be modified/added to ? I know how to find it, but don't have much time, so maybe you could check it out for me. And then I can make a proper ticket report.

Edit: It should be added somewhere to
http://svn.dd-wrt.com/browser/src/router/services/sysinit/sysinit-northstar.c
or
http://svn.dd-wrt.com/browser/src/router/rc/resetbutton.c
?

_________________
THERE ARE NO STRANGERS HERE; ONLY FRIENDS YOU HAVEN'T YET MET.
________________________________________________________________________________________________________
DD-WRT CHANGELOG | DEVICES | DD-WRT BUILDS | KONG BUILDS | UNOFFICIAL BUILDS | DD-WRT in VIRTUALBOX
Sponsor
a_l
DD-WRT User


Joined: 25 Jun 2011
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Sat Jun 27, 2015 12:26    Post subject: Re: Got USB to work! :-) Reply with quote
KrypteX wrote:
a_l wrote:
This all concludes that to get both LEDs and USB to work we need BrainSlayer or someone with commit access to add this (if they agree Smile )

Code:
case ROUTER_DLINK_DIR860:
        power_gpio = 0x101;         // power led green
        diag_gpio = 0x100;          // power led orange
        diag_gpio_disabled = 0x101; // power led green
        connected_gpio = 0x104;     // wan led green
        disconnected_gpio = 0x103;  // wan led orange
        usb_power = 0x00a;          // usb power
        break;


Maybe KrypteX can help us to get a bug report on svn.dd-wrt.com?
Smile Thanks in advance!

Can you please point to the code that handles the above parameters and that need to be modified/added to ? I know how to find it, but don't have much time, so maybe you could check it out for me. And then I can make a proper ticket report.

Edit: It should be added somewhere here... ? http://svn.dd-wrt.com/browser/src/router/rc/resetbutton.c


Sorry. Yes, you are right. I forgot to mention it. Thanks Smile

The path is src/router/libutils/utils.c and it is in the led_control function:
http://svn.dd-wrt.com/browser/src/router/libutils/utils.c#L5980

It could be placed where ever BrainSlayer finds it appropriate to place it,
but e.g. above line 5980 where it says:
Code:
5980           case ROUTER_DLINK_DIR868:
5981           case ROUTER_DLINK_DIR868C:
Edr
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 Jun 2015
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Sat Jun 27, 2015 18:44    Post subject: USB is working! (thanks A_l) Reply with quote
Thanks A_l
The gpio 10 enable command worked! I was able to power up my USB stick and get it to automount through the dd-wrt gui.

Current version I'm using:
dd-wrt bild 27453


root@Uranus:~# dmesg | tail -15
scsi0 : usb-storage 1-1:1.0
usbcore: registered new interface driver usb-storage
scsi 0:0:0:0: Direct-Access USB Flash Memory PMAP PQ: 0 ANSI: 0 CCS
sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] 3921920 512-byte logical blocks: (2.00 GB/1.87 GiB)
sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] Write Protect is off
sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] Mode Sense: 23 00 00 00
sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] No Caching mode page found
sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] Assuming drive cache: write through
sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] No Caching mode page found
sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] Assuming drive cache: write through
sda: sda1
sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] No Caching mode page found
sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] Assuming drive cache: write through
sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] Attached SCSI removable disk
FAT-fs (sda1): utf8 is not a recommended IO charset for FAT filesystems, filesystem will be case sensitive!
root@Uranus:~#
a_l
DD-WRT User


Joined: 25 Jun 2011
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Wed Jul 01, 2015 21:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
Good that it worked Edr!

I just updated the initial post:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=971955

So I hope the issues will get some love and beg KrypteX kindly to add a bug report on http://svn.dd-wrt.com/
It could be written as:

The USB port and the Power and WAN LEDs do not seem to function on D-Link DIR-860L A1 as described here:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=971955

A suggested fix has been posted:
Code:
case ROUTER_DLINK_DIR860:
        power_gpio = 0x101;         // power led green
        diag_gpio = 0x100;          // power led orange
        diag_gpio_disabled = 0x101; // power led green
        connected_gpio = 0x104;     // wan led green
        disconnected_gpio = 0x103;  // wan led orange
        usb_power = 0x00a;          // usb power
        break;

, which could be patched in src/router/libutils/utils.c in the led_control function above line 5980:
http://svn.dd-wrt.com/browser/src/router/libutils/utils.c#L5980
Code:
5980           case ROUTER_DLINK_DIR868:
5981           case ROUTER_DLINK_DIR868C:
g5265170
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Jun 2015
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Thu Jul 02, 2015 4:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
so, does the latest ddwrt build fixed the issue?

it seems that you guys have fixed the issue, but the change log didn't mention that.
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=279467

btw, is it now the good time to run ddwrt on 860 a1 or stick with the official 1.10 Firmware?

_________________
Atheros:
D-Link DIR-615 I1 ........ DD-WRT 27396
Broadcom:
Linksys WRT54G V6 ...... DD-WRT 14929
a_l
DD-WRT User


Joined: 25 Jun 2011
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Thu Jul 02, 2015 20:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
g5265170 wrote:
so, does the latest ddwrt build fixed the issue?

it seems that you guys have fixed the issue, but the change log didn't mention that.
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=279467

btw, is it now the good time to run ddwrt on 860 a1 or stick with the official 1.10 Firmware?


No it hasn't got fixed yet.
It awaits for someone with access right to http://svn.dd-wrt.com/ to enter the bug description and the (quite possible) fix.

Regarding D-Links official 1.10 FW I can't use it, because it is broken with regards to native static IPv6 for WAN.
Therefore I run DD-WRT (a little older built, because the DD-WRT bug mentioned above hasn't got fixed yet.)
balleron24z
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Aug 2011
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Jul 02, 2015 22:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
I just installed the 27th's build, and I must say, after fixing some of the wifi settings, I'm very impressed. The LED issue isn't a big deal since presently, all of my devices are wireless. But AC performance is right where I'd expect it to be. The connection seems to be smoother and stronger over stock.

Of course, I'd like to chime in and throw my 2 cents around. The router isn't advertised as a dual-band router, and from looking at other hardware that include this same chip, there are very few examples of routers that have the 2nd core activated. I think the hunch that it's "turned off" is right. My guess is it may be coded into the bootloader arguments somehow, given that this chip is technically supposed to have a 2nd core. If not, I feel the router still runs very well for what it is, even with a single core. I came from an A1 running the latest firmware 1.10, which turned my router into garbage (wifi kept dropping and was intermittently passing data).

Also, I'm running mostly AC devices in my home, and it seems that the best settings for 5Ghz wifi (for me, at least) are as follows:
EDITED

  • Wireless Network Mode: AC/N-Mixed
  • Wireless Channel: 132 - 5.660Ghz (of course, this can be set to auto as needed)
  • Channel Width: VHT (80+80 Mhz)
  • Extension Channel: lower lower
  • Optimize Multicast Traffic: Disabled
  • Explicit Beamforming: Disabled
  • Implicit Beamforming: Enabled
  • Advanced Settings: TX Antenna - Left, RX Antenna - Right


I pulled a solid 780mbps link when under heavy network load on AC, which is what this router is just about rated at (could've went harder if my PC needed it).


Last edited by balleron24z on Fri Jul 03, 2015 19:24; edited 1 time in total
g5265170
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Jun 2015
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Fri Jul 03, 2015 5:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
a_l wrote:

No it hasn't got fixed yet.
It awaits for someone with access right to http://svn.dd-wrt.com/ to enter the bug description and the (quite possible) fix.
....

balleron24z wrote:
... But AC performance is right where I'd expect it to be. The connection seems to be smoother and stronger over stock.
....


1.if we forget about the usb or led for now, is the build good just for wireless router? (Full functioning QoS, AC, dual band,5ghz, guest network...etc )

I got bought one of this 860 A1, and finds out that I just can not set QoS for guest wifi; infact, I can't even see a list of guests connecting to the router

Before this 860, I had a dir 820 which has all the functions working.

2.possible to restore the 860 A1 stock firmware after flashing ddwrt?

_________________
Atheros:
D-Link DIR-615 I1 ........ DD-WRT 27396
Broadcom:
Linksys WRT54G V6 ...... DD-WRT 14929
a_l
DD-WRT User


Joined: 25 Jun 2011
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Fri Jul 03, 2015 5:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi

BrainSlayer has added the patch for fixing the problems concerning USB and the Power and WAN LEDs:
http://svn.dd-wrt.com/changeset/27480

So in the next beta build the fix should be included!
balleron24z
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Aug 2011
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Jul 03, 2015 11:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
g5265170 wrote:
a_l wrote:

No it hasn't got fixed yet.
It awaits for someone with access right to http://svn.dd-wrt.com/ to enter the bug description and the (quite possible) fix.
....

balleron24z wrote:
... But AC performance is right where I'd expect it to be. The connection seems to be smoother and stronger over stock.
....


1.if we forget about the usb or led for now, is the build good just for wireless router? (Full functioning QoS, AC, dual band,5ghz, guest network...etc )

I got bought one of this 860 A1, and finds out that I just can not set QoS for guest wifi; infact, I can't even see a list of guests connecting to the router

Before this 860, I had a dir 820 which has all the functions working.

2.possible to restore the 860 A1 stock firmware after flashing ddwrt?


1. I haven't tried QoS (I've heard DDWRT in general isn't know for having the best QoS system), but I can confirm that AC is working (see my post above, the speeds surpass what Wireless N is capable of), and AC only works on 5Ghz, not 2.4Ghz, so 5Ghz is confirmed working. Guest network should be fine, as this is a Broadcom chipset, so from a hardware level, everything should be good. I can test this later on today for you, since I just flashed last night, but I'm sure the bulk of features are operable.

2. Since this router is very similar to the DIR-868L, which was supported first, I'm sure the revert steps are very similar to that. You just take the BIN from D-Link of the firmware you want, and flash via the web interface, ensuring you factory reset prior to doing this. But honestly, I'm not looking back at D-Links firmware, it was functional but garbage, and D-Link's software development team didn't think major bugs needed fixing.

EDIT: Here are steps for the 868L - http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=903210
a_l
DD-WRT User


Joined: 25 Jun 2011
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Sun Jul 05, 2015 7:19    Post subject: Update on the amount of CPU cores Reply with quote
Just a little update.

BrainSlayer confirmed to me that he had seen other routers that only had a single core (with respect to whether BCM47081A0 is single core or not.)
He also mentioned that it is the same smp kernel that is used regardless if the CPU of a router is single or dual core.

He gave the example of Buffalo WZR DHP 600 and 900 (WZR-600DHP2 and WZR-900DHP that uses the same Broadcom CPU as DIR-860L A1):
http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Supported_Devices#Buffalo

, and some info from WikiDevi where it can be seen that the CPU is a BCM47081A0:
https://wikidevi.com/wiki/Buffalo_WZR-600DHP2
https://wikidevi.com/wiki/Buffalo_WZR-900DHP

So the answer to that question finally seems found.
BCM47081A0 is single core.
Edr
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 Jun 2015
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Sun Jul 05, 2015 15:22    Post subject: BCM47081A0 Reply with quote
Thanks A_l. Too bad, I was hoping there would be a way to utilize two cores with this router. I wonder if the B1 version with the MTK (realtek)7621AT(MIPS) dual core is faster than the singe core A1 version with the BCM47081A0(ARM) ? I'm happy with the performance and stability of the latest dd-wrt I'm using. Its been working perfectly even with a slight overclock to 1000mhz. I look forward to trying out the next beta version with the led and usb fix.
a_l
DD-WRT User


Joined: 25 Jun 2011
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Mon Jul 06, 2015 18:21    Post subject: LEDs and USB port are working! Reply with quote
WAN and Power LEDs as well as the USB port now works!
Build: ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2015/07-06-2015-r27490/dlink-dir860l-a1/
Edr
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 Jun 2015
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Tue Jul 07, 2015 23:36    Post subject: r27490 Reply with quote
Ive been running r27490 for two days now, its been stable so far. No issues for me yet.
balleron24z
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Aug 2011
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun Jul 12, 2015 1:03    Post subject: Re: r27490 Reply with quote
Edr wrote:
Ive been running r27490 for two days now, its been stable so far. No issues for me yet.


Mine's been running smoothly, no drop-outs or anything on the majority of my devices, but I'm noticing some of my clients are still not running full-rate.

My single antenna devices hit 433mbps like they should, but I've got some 2x2 devices that hover around 260mbps, and throughput on those is spotty. Any advice on setting changes that would boost performance? I've read the Kong guide on broadcom chips and how to set it up in DD-WRT, but I find it odd that some of the devices aren't hitting full rate when needed. Other than that, the router is pushing just fine, I'm getting excellent speed via 2.4 band, and 5 band is great too, but with the 2x2 devices I'm using, I can't hit full rate. Also, when I initially save the settings for the router, it shoots up to 867mbps like it should, but then drops off after a bit.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 2 of 9
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum