Linsys E1550 Flashing v24-25697_NEWD-2_K2.6_mini-e1550

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Jesusv
DD-WRT Novice

PostPosted: Wed Jul 22, 2015 4:06    Post subject: Linsys E1550 Flashing v24-25697_NEWD-2_K2.6_mini-e1550 Reply with quote
Hi,

I'm new to this and before I proceed with flashing my Linksys E1550 router with DD-WRT firmware I want to make sure if that is the most stable version to install. Also reason I wanted to flash my router was to use it for a bridge connection. Is that possible once flashed with mini or do I have to flash the big version? What big version would work?

I found the tutorial here http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Linksys_E1550

It seems pretty straight forward. But I was reading other posts and I am wondering, do I need to setup static ip on my computer before doing the flash? Do I need to put the router in any special mode after doing the 30-30-30 reset?

I tried looking up the peacock announcement but it does not load. On that wiki it links to older versions of dd-wrt but my concern with older was the heartbleed problem. Its why I wanted to go with something newer that had the fix.

Thanks!
Sponsor
MongooseProXC
DD-WRT User

PostPosted: Wed Jul 22, 2015 13:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
A mini build will work fine as a Client/Repeater Bridge.

I have never set up a static IP, I just upload the firmware and give it time to do its thing.

"DD-WRT started using the vulnerable code on 2012/04/29. Any DD-WRT build after (and including) 19163 has the flaw, and any build after (and including) 23882 has the fix." I believe it only affects Big and Mega builds with OpenVPN, though.

IMO, I would just upload the following build in the device's firmware page, wait 5-10 minutes, 30-30-30, and then one last hard reset. See if it suits your needs first then try a different build later.