Linksys EA 6900 Install Guide

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 8, 9, 10, 11  Next
Author Message
Worldinc
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Jul 2013
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed Jul 26, 2017 2:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
I tried what you said, same result again. No access at all.
Do you have any details you could give me? I unplugged the power cable in between for 2 seconds, and after the 4th boot, I let it run. Did I miss something?
Sponsor
Worldinc
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Jul 2013
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Jul 31, 2017 22:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
I tried putting it in recovery mode to use the Asus software, and I could not. Power cable unplugged, hold the reset button, plug power cable and wait for the power light to breathe. I pressed reset for over 3 minutes, and the power light remaining solid the whole time. As soon as I let go, the light starts the breathing pattern.

I'm at a loss, this router is going in a box until I find another solution. Please, if anyone has anything for me to try, I would greatly appreciate it.
WA1MCY
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Feb 2017
Posts: 14
Location: Gulf Breeze, Florida

PostPosted: Tue Aug 01, 2017 0:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
Worldinc wrote:
I tried putting it in recovery mode to use the Asus software, and I could not. Power cable unplugged, hold the reset button, plug power cable and wait for the power light to breathe. I pressed reset for over 3 minutes, and the power light remaining solid the whole time. As soon as I let go, the light starts the breathing pattern.

I'm at a loss, this router is going in a box until I find another solution. Please, if anyone has anything for me to try, I would greatly appreciate it.


I had a similar problem with my EA6900 and DD-WRT firmware. I was able to use a serial cable and reload the firmware with success. If you open the case there is a 6pin header to which you can attach a serial cable and using a console TFTP the firmware to the device. If you google "serial cable Ea6900" you should be able to find help. I had all but given up on mine, but was able to make it functional again so don't give up yet!
jwh7
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Oct 2013
Posts: 1765
Location: Indy

PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2017 20:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
I tried my best to brick my new (refurb at NE for $40) EA6900v1.1 last night; thought I succeeded several times, but finally managed to achieve my goal; Xwrt and XVortex' CFE.

I went thru many iterations of no response from the router, from which rebooting and sometimes also the WPS@bootup reset would finally get it going again, many times not w/ the expected firmware. I had a lot of trouble flashing to Xwrt after the CFE update, granted I was trying to flash the latest build, which is likely the reason. But it would seem to work, then after reboots/reset it loaded DD. I even tried loading from there, still no luck.

Anyway, maybe some of this will help others, esp. those using the modded bootloader (CFE).

Interesting note, the OEM nvram & CFE had clkfreq=800,533 while Xwrt CFE used 800,666; I did look up the memory datasheet and it is rated for a minimum of "667" so figured I'd stick with it. I resisted the desire to willy-nilly overclock the CPU via CFE to 1000.

I was following the cybrnook guide, along w/ egc's guide here. Attempting to filter out the failed steps from memory...
1. Found a previous OEM f/w from Softpedia, since the one it came with (latest) wouldn't allow flashing DD.
2. Used TFPT (with ping -t {IP} running) to load #1; I started it as soon as I saw the first TTL=100, and it loaded on the second GUI auto-retry.
3. Did the WPS@bootup reset, got into the GUI, flashed the DD build from the cybrnook post.
4. Another WPS reset, set DD p/w, enabled SSH (save/apply)
5. Log in to telnet, made nvram & CFE backups
6. Log in via WinSCP, copy backups from, and the modified XVortex CFE to, the router
7. Flash the new CFE to /dev/mtd0, power off, then WPS reset
8. [Power off, hold reset@bootup until logo flashes, got into the mini-CFE server, load Xwrt...but this did not work, and then after a reset DD came up, so I tried loading from the GUI, which also failed. Then I tried TFPT, which -also- failed. :-/ Eventually,] I figured I'd try mtd, so I enabled SSH in DD, then copied the Xwrt file over with WinSCP, then in telnet checked the partitions with `cat /proc/mtd` and finally:
Code:
mtd unlock linux
mtd write {desired firmware file} linux
The write took longer than I expected, but finally returned w/o error after a couple minutes.
9. Power off, WPS@bootup reset, and voila...running Xwrt

For those wanting to use DD w/ the XVortex CFE, step 8 could just use whatever DD f/w, or egc's steps to wget the firmware first, rather than WinSCP.

Also,
egc wrote:
You also loose an USB 3.0 port (confirmation wanted).
I tested both ports, and they work, unfort my USB3 flash drive is exfat so I couldn't access it to test xfer speed. And my USB3->SATA converter wouldn't enumerate in the USB3 port, but USB2 was fine, however this is a known issue w/ those types of converters. Every USB2 and 3.0 flash drive I tried did get recognized. Eventually I'll reformat my USB3 drive and retest.
_________________
# NAT/SFE/CTF: limited speed w/ DD # Repeater issues # DD-WRT info: Builds, Types, Modes, Changelog, Peacock, Demo #
x64 OPNsense 18.7b65|EA6900v1.1 Xwrt 380.70|DD: 35927 WNDR4500v2, WNDR4000@533, E1500@353, R6300v1,
2*E2500, WRT54*@250: GLv1.1 nks, GSv6 µ
|RT-N66U@663 Merlin 380.70|OEM: WGR614v10@400-WNR1000v3 mod


Last edited by jwh7 on Tue May 15, 2018 16:33; edited 1 time in total
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 1737
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Aug 17, 2017 9:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
@jwh7 Thanks for your update, can you PM me the OEM firmware from step 1?

Regards, egc

_________________
Router Netgear R6400, Linksys EA6900 (XvortexCFE), Linksys E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide see Linksys EA6900: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=291230
jwh7
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Oct 2013
Posts: 1765
Location: Indy

PostPosted: Fri Aug 18, 2017 4:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
egc wrote:
can you PM me the OEM firmware from step 1?
[Sent] ...FW_EA6900_1.1.42.161129_prod.img

Ok; been messing with the USB ports for a while this evening, while the cat does her best to antagonize me to chase/play with her...

Summary: (again, this is Xwrt 380.67 + XVortex CFE) Both ports work as EHCI (USB 2.0), and the USB3 will work as such if the XHCI driver is manually loaded, but then the f/w stops recognizing USB drives (at least the GUI and samba, and this includes USB 2, in the USB 2 port) entirely, even though I can still access them in telnet.
Default loaded USB 2.0 driver: 22 MB/s write, 28.5 MB/s read
insmod' USB 3.0 driver: 60 MB/s write, 110.5 MB/s read

For those running DD (or Tomato...?), does the xhci driver get auto-loaded and work for Samba shares?

Details: My test USB3 drive default mount:
    admin@EA6900-Xwrt:/tmp/home/root# mount | grep sd[a-z]
    /dev/sda1 on /tmp/mnt/MUSHKIN_64GB type tntfs (rw,relatime,uid=0,gid=0,umask=00,nls=utf8,min_prealloc_size=64k,max_prealloc_size=128M,readahead=8M,
    user_xattr,case_sensitive,nocache,fail_safe,hidden=show,dotfile=show,errors=continue,mft_zone_multiplier=1)

Drivers loaded after boot were OHCI (USB 1.1) and EHCI (USB 2.0);
    admin@EA6900-Xwrt:/tmp/home/root# dmesg |grep -i hci
    ehci_hcd: USB 2.0 'Enhanced' Host Controller (EHCI) Driver
    ehci_hcd 0000:00:0b.1: EHCI Host Controller
    ehci_hcd 0000:00:0b.1: new USB bus registered, assigned bus number 1
    ehci_hcd 0000:00:0b.1: irq 111, io mem 0x18021000
    ehci_hcd 0000:00:0b.1: USB 0.0 started, EHCI 1.00
    ohci_hcd: USB 1.1 'Open' Host Controller (OHCI) Driver
    ohci_hcd 0000:00:0b.0: OHCI Host Controller
    ohci_hcd 0000:00:0b.0: new USB bus registered, assigned bus number 2
    ohci_hcd 0000:00:0b.0: irq 111, io mem 0x18022000
    usb 1-1: new high speed USB device using ehci_hcd and address 2

...no XHCI (USB 3.0), so I looked for a driver...
    admin@EA6900-Xwrt:/tmp/home/root# find / 2>&1 |grep xhci
    /lib/modules/2.6.36.4brcmarm/kernel/drivers/usb/xhci-hcd.ko
    admin@EA6900-Xwrt:/tmp/home/root# umount /dev/sda1
    admin@EA6900-Xwrt:/tmp/home/root# insmod /lib/modules/2.6.36.4brcmarm/kernel/drivers/usb/xhci-hcd.ko
    admin@EA6900-Xwrt:/tmp/home/root# mount /dev/sda1 /tmp/mnt/MUSHKIN_64GB

EHCI (USB 2) Speed test of USB 3 drive (NTFS, 903MB file to/from laptop SSD) showed 22 MB/s write, 28.5 MB/s read.

`dmesg` shows:
    scsi 0:0:0:0: Direct-Access MUSHKIN MKNUFDVS64GB PMAP PQ: 0 ANSI: 6
    xhci_hcd 0000:00:0c.0: xHCI Host Controller
    xhci_hcd 0000:00:0c.0: new USB bus registered, assigned bus number 3
    xhci_hcd 0000:00:0c.0: irq 112, io mem 0x18023000
    xhci_hcd 0000:00:0c.0: Failed to enable MSI-X
    xhci_hcd 0000:00:0c.0: failed to allocate MSI entry
    usb usb3: No SuperSpeed endpoint companion for config 1 interface 0 altsetting 0 ep 129: using minimum values
    xHCI xhci_add_endpoint called for root hub
    xHCI xhci_check_bandwidth called for root hub
    hub 3-0:1.0: USB hub found
    hub 3-0:1.0: 1 port detected
    [xhci-hub] usb2mode:[0]
    tfat: fail_safe is enabled
    tntfs info (device sda1, pid 840): ntfs_fill_super(): fail_safe is enabled
    tntfs info (device sda1, pid 840): load_system_files(): NTFS volume name 'MUSHKIN_64GB',
    version 3.1 (cluster_size 4096, PAGE_CACHE_SIZE 4096).

However, after ejecting and replugging...it doesn't get setup as a share.
    usb 3-1: new SuperSpeed USB device using xhci_hcd and address 2
    xhci_hcd 0000:00:0c.0: WARN: short transfer on control ep
    xhci_hcd 0000:00:0c.0: WARN: short transfer on control ep
    xhci_hcd 0000:00:0c.0: WARN: short transfer on control ep
    xhci_hcd 0000:00:0c.0: WARN: short transfer on control ep
    xhci_hcd 0000:00:0c.0: disable burst on ep 1
    xhci_hcd 0000:00:0c.0: WARN no SS endpoint bMaxBurst
    xhci_hcd 0000:00:0c.0: disable burst on ep 2
    xhci_hcd 0000:00:0c.0: WARN no SS endpoint bMaxBurst
    scsi1 : usb-storage 3-1:1.0
    scsi 1:0:0:0: Direct-Access MUSHKIN MKNUFDVS64GB PMAP PQ: 0 ANSI: 6
    sd 1:0:0:0: [sda] 123535360 512-byte logical blocks: (63.2 GB/58.9 GiB)
    sd 1:0:0:0: [sda] Write Protect is off
    sd 1:0:0:0: [sda] Mode Sense: 2b 00 00 08
    sd 1:0:0:0: [sda] Assuming drive cache: write through
    sd 1:0:0:0: [sda] Assuming drive cache: write through
    sd 1:0:0:0: Attached scsi generic sg0 type 0
    sda: sda1
    sd 1:0:0:0: [sda] Assuming drive cache: write through
    sd 1:0:0:0: [sda] Attached SCSI removable disk

Need to mess with the share issue more later, but...
XHCI speed test (NTFS, 102.75 MB file to/from router /tmp/) had 60 MB/s write, 110.5 MB/s read.

_________________
# NAT/SFE/CTF: limited speed w/ DD # Repeater issues # DD-WRT info: Builds, Types, Modes, Changelog, Peacock, Demo #
x64 OPNsense 18.7b65|EA6900v1.1 Xwrt 380.70|DD: 35927 WNDR4500v2, WNDR4000@533, E1500@353, R6300v1,
2*E2500, WRT54*@250: GLv1.1 nks, GSv6 µ
|RT-N66U@663 Merlin 380.70|OEM: WGR614v10@400-WNR1000v3 mod


Last edited by jwh7 on Mon Feb 19, 2018 17:32; edited 1 time in total
jwh7
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Oct 2013
Posts: 1765
Location: Indy

PostPosted: Fri Aug 18, 2017 17:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
jwh7 wrote:
For those running DD (or Tomato...?), does the xhci driver get auto-loaded and work for Samba shares?
I searched the last 10 pages of the original thread; unclear if the sporadic USB3 not working ports means the port itself or just reaching USB3 speed.
mr_yellow wrote:
USB 3.0 port is non-functioning.
Tahayassen wrote:
I tried the USB 3.0 port with Asus CFE (following mr_yellow's guide) and it seems to work. I have Tomato Shibby 129 (K26ARM EA6900 build) installed.
But these are 2+ years old. Anyone try DD-WRT w/ XVortex CFE recently or try manually loading the xhci driver as I did in Xwrt? Or anyone try USB3 in recent Shibby builds?
_________________
# NAT/SFE/CTF: limited speed w/ DD # Repeater issues # DD-WRT info: Builds, Types, Modes, Changelog, Peacock, Demo #
x64 OPNsense 18.7b65|EA6900v1.1 Xwrt 380.70|DD: 35927 WNDR4500v2, WNDR4000@533, E1500@353, R6300v1,
2*E2500, WRT54*@250: GLv1.1 nks, GSv6 µ
|RT-N66U@663 Merlin 380.70|OEM: WGR614v10@400-WNR1000v3 mod
evila
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Sep 2006
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Thu Aug 24, 2017 4:09    Post subject: Re: Experiences Reply with quote
deslatha wrote:
I had used and changed cfe of router ea6900 from original cfe to xvortex's cfe then to koolshare's cfe and then to asus's cfe and now final to 1.0.21 mod customs cfe. On firmware from ddwrt v24 fifirmware to ddwrt v30 firmware then to asus merlin's firmware then to koolshares firmware and final xvortex firmware. All feature almost unlock like mimo,micro trend nat,mcs,bw,abd,txpwr,speed clock of cpu,ddr3 l ram etc.


i would like to try the cfes you mentioned, any links?
suyogshah
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 Dec 2015
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Oct 17, 2017 20:47    Post subject: Latest Build for EA6900 Reply with quote
Hi,

I am using DDWRT for my router and current build is DD-WRT v3.0-r28598 std (12/24/15).

I would like to know if any recent stable build is available for me to upgrade along with upgrade instructions.

Suyog
leadership
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Oct 2017
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Oct 18, 2017 2:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
jwh7 wrote:
I tried my best to brick my new (refurb at NE for $40) EA6900v1.1 last night; thought I succeeded several times, but finally managed to achieve my goal; Xwrt and XVortex' CFE.

I went thru many iterations of no response from the router, from which rebooting and sometimes also the WPS@bootup reset would finally get it going again, many times not w/ the expected firmware. I had a lot of trouble flashing to Xwrt after the CFE update, granted I was trying to flash the latest build, which is likely the reason. But it would seem to work, then after reboots/reset it loaded DD. I even tried loading from there, still no luck.

Anyway, maybe some of this will help others, esp. those using the modded bootloader (CFE).

Interesting note, the OEM nvram & CFE had clkfreq=800,533 while Xwrt CFE used 800,666; I did look up the memory datasheet and it is rated for a minimum of "667" so figured I'd stick with it. I resisted the desire to willy-nilly overclock the CPU via CFE to 1000.

I was following the cybrnook guide, along w/ egc's guide here. Attempting to filter out the failed steps from memory...
1. Found a previous OEM f/w from Softpedia, since the one it came with (latest) wouldn't allow flashing DD.
2. Used TFPT (with ping -t {IP} running) to load #1; I started it as soon as I saw the first TTL=100, and it loaded on the second GUI auto-retry.
3. Did the WPS@bootup reset, got into the GUI, flashed the DD build from the cybrnook post.
4. Another WPS reset, set DD p/w, enabled SSH (save/apply)
5. Log in to telnet, made nvram & CFE backups
6. Log in via WinSCP, copy backups from, and the modified XVortex CFE to, the router
7. Flash the new CFE to /dev/mtd0, power off, then WPS reset
8. [Power off, hold reset@bootup until logo flashes, got into the mini-CFE server, load Xwrt...but this did not work, and then after a reset DD came up, so I tried loading from the GUI, which also failed. Then I tried TFPT, which -also- failed. :-/ Eventually,] I figured I'd try mtd, so I enabled SSH in DD, then copied the Xwrt file over with WinSCP, then in telnet checked the partitions with `cat /proc/mtd` and finally:
Code:
mtd unlock linux
mtd write {desired firmware file} linux
The write took longer than I expected, but finally returned w/o error after a couple minutes.
9. Power off, WPS@bootup reset, and voila...running Xwrt

For those wanting to use DD w/ the XVortex CFE, step 9 could just use whatever DD f/w, or egc's steps to wget the firmware first, rather than WinSCP.

Also,
egc wrote:
You also loose an USB 3.0 port (confirmation wanted).
I tested both ports, and they work, unfort my USB3 flash drive is exfat so I couldn't access it to test xfer speed. And my USB3->SATA converter wouldn't enumerate in the USB3 port, but USB2 was fine, however this is a known issue w/ those types of converters. Every USB2 and 3.0 flash drive I tried did get recognized. Eventually I'll reformat my USB3 drive and retest.


You're my hero! I was facing the same problem, and with this tricky it was sorted out. Thanks jwh7.
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 1737
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Oct 18, 2017 8:11    Post subject: Re: Latest Build for EA6900 Reply with quote
suyogshah wrote:
Hi,

I am using DDWRT for my router and current build is DD-WRT v3.0-r28598 std (12/24/15).

I would like to know if any recent stable build is available for me to upgrade along with upgrade instructions.

Suyog


See the first page of this thread for instructions and stable builds

_________________
Router Netgear R6400, Linksys EA6900 (XvortexCFE), Linksys E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide see Linksys EA6900: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=291230
BlackR
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Sep 2014
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Nov 01, 2017 18:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hello,

I got myself an EA6900 V1.1 and did the following:

1. Reset factory defaults (even tho it was the first time it booted, ever).
2. Flashed BS Initial from the Linksys front-end.
3. Logged into DD-WRT front-end and flashed AdvancedTomato 3.4-140.
4. Erased NVRAM from the TomatoUSB front-end.

Everything seems to work just fine but I want TomatoUSB on both partitions (if it isn't already). I do not want the XVortex CFE.

Should I flash the BS Initial again from the TomatoUSB front-end and redo steps 3 and 4?

Thanks in advance!
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 1737
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Nov 02, 2017 12:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
to see if you have bot linux and linux2 partitons telnet to your router and issue:
Code:
cat /proc/mtd

This will show all partitions.

To see which partition is used issue:
Code:
ubootenv get boot_part
This will get either 1 or 2.
DDWRT usually writes to Linux2

To set to boot partition 1:
Code:
ubootenv set boot_part 1


Newer versions are using nvram parameters to set boot partion:
Code:
nvram get bootpartition
gets you the current boot partition (probably 0 or 1) and with
Code:
nvram set bootpartition=1
you alter the boot partition

You can set the number of partial boots with:
Code:
nvram set partialboots=0
normally this is 0
After 3 failed (partial) boots the boot partiton will be switched, this is controlled by the maxpartialboots parameter which defaults to 3
Code:
nvram get maxpartialboots
.
You can force a partial boot by rebooting the router and switch off after 10 secs



You can also write a build manually from command prompt:
Code:
cd /tmp
wget http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/K3-AC-Arm/dd-wrt.v24-K3_AC_ARM_STD.bin
mtd write fw.bin linux (or linux2 if that is where you want to write)
reboot


Reset from the gui, erase nvram from the command prompt is not safe if you are not on XVortex's CFE (which is btw recommended)

_________________
Router Netgear R6400, Linksys EA6900 (XvortexCFE), Linksys E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide see Linksys EA6900: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=291230


Last edited by egc on Fri Jan 05, 2018 11:44; edited 1 time in total
AndraySu
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Dec 2017
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat Dec 02, 2017 15:00    Post subject: Linksys EA 6900 Install Guide Reply with quote
Hello.
I requested the EA6900 with the Xvortex EA6900_380.68_4 firmware and left the old CFE.
The router is loaded, but it is unstable.
How to replace the old CFE with a new one, from Xvortex?

I can telnet access by 'admin' name and SCT file access
Comand 'chmod +x ./mtd-write' request NO FOUND

What should I do?
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 1737
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Dec 02, 2017 16:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
see page one of this thread for the necessary instructions
_________________
Router Netgear R6400, Linksys EA6900 (XvortexCFE), Linksys E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide see Linksys EA6900: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=291230
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 8, 9, 10, 11  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 9 of 11
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum