R7000 - Kong's build : How to disable lights ?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
CloneVince
DD-WRT User


Joined: 31 May 2014
Posts: 209

PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2017 7:57    Post subject: R7000 - Kong's build : How to disable lights ? Reply with quote
Hello,

I tried this :
Quote:

add this to your startup script to disable the lights on your r7000.
for i in 2 3 8 9 12 13 17 18 ; do gpio enable $i ; done
for i in 14 15 ; do gpio disable $i ; done

Run this from the command line to disable the 4 LAN lights.
et robowr 0x0 0x18 0x1ff
et robowr 0x0 0x18 0x0
et robowr 0x0 0x1a 0x0


But I can't disable the lights.

Anyone know the right command ?

Thx for your help Smile

_________________
Netgear R7000 on DD-WRT v3.0-35030M kongac ( 18/02/18 )

Unofficial Kong's release repository : http://ddwrt-kong.clonevince.fr/
Sponsor
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 1761
Location: London,UK

PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2017 8:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
well i have those 2 in my start up script and its working..
i also noticed if my local DNS beaks down and my adblocking script is not working this lights usually show off too, otherwise restart does the job for me

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv4 .......DD-WRT 33986 (AP,NAT,AD Blocking,Firewall)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ------DD-WRT 34311 (AP,PPPoE,NAT,AD Blocking,Firewall)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ------DD-WRT 34929 (AP,NAT,AD Blocking,Firewall,No Wi-Fi)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2.......... Gargoyle OS 1.10 (AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas)
Qualcomm/IPQ8065
Netgear R7800 ------------DD-WRT 35030M Kong (AP,NAT,AD Blocking,Firewall,DNSCrypt x2)
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 ---------DD-WRT 34800M Kong (AP,NAT,AD-Blocking,Country Block,Firewall,DNSCrypt x4)
Others
Netgear ProSAFE-GS105Ev2 ....(LAN Switch)
HalfBit
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Sep 2009
Posts: 717
Location: AR, USA

PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2017 15:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
Alozaros wrote:
well i have those 2 in my start up script and its working..
i also noticed if my local DNS beaks down and my adblocking script is not working this lights usually show off too, otherwise restart does the job for me

What exactly do you have in your startup script?

I'm not interested in using this, but have been following the topic. I've yet to hear any success stories for disabling the LAN/switch port LEDs. Have you been able to do this? If so, a lot of people will be interested to know how.

_________________
R7000 Nighthawk - DD-WRT v3.0-r32170M kongac (06/11/17)
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Currently Unused~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
WRT54Gv2 - V24 STD Build 22118 configured as AP
WRT54Gv8.2 - V24 Micro Build 22118 configured as AP
Doppel-D
DD-WRT User


Joined: 13 Jul 2014
Posts: 205
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2017 19:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
Not shure if shell path is exactly right, but it works ;- ) Saved under menue ADMINISTRATION/COMMANDS/STARTUP

#!/bin/sh
#
for i in 2 3 8 9 12 13 17 18 ; do gpio enable $i ; done
for i in 14 15 ; do gpio disable $i ; done
et robowr 0x0 0x18 0x1ff
et robowr 0x0 0x18 0x0
et robowr 0x0 0x1a 0x0

_________________
IT Crowd - Have You Tried Turning It Off And On Again?
CloneVince
DD-WRT User


Joined: 31 May 2014
Posts: 209

PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2017 23:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
Just tried it, and it's working Smile

You can execute it in ADMINISTRATION/COMMANDS, but with the STARTUP script, no problem Smile

All leds are off Very Happy

Big thx Doppel-D Smile

@Kong : can you add an entry in ADMINISTRATION/MANAGEMENT to enable/disable from the GUI ?
Hope you can Wink

_________________
Netgear R7000 on DD-WRT v3.0-35030M kongac ( 18/02/18 )

Unofficial Kong's release repository : http://ddwrt-kong.clonevince.fr/
StarCaller
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Sep 2016
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon Jan 09, 2017 0:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
^ this
slidermike
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Nov 2013
Posts: 1389
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Jan 09, 2017 15:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
You guys are acting like noobies.
Disabling the lights, including the LAN lights has been in the R7000 tips/tricks sticky for a long time.
CloneVince wrote:
Just tried it, and it's working Smile

You can execute it in ADMINISTRATION/COMMANDS, but with the STARTUP script, no problem Smile

All leds are off Very Happy

Big thx Doppel-D Smile

@Kong : can you add an entry in ADMINISTRATION/MANAGEMENT to enable/disable from the GUI ?
Hope you can Wink
Rolling Eyes
_________________
Router currently owned:
Netgear R7000 - AP mode
1st gen i7 pc running pfSense as WAN firewall/IPS.

R7000 specific Tips/Tricks.
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=264152
CloneVince
DD-WRT User


Joined: 31 May 2014
Posts: 209

PostPosted: Mon Jan 09, 2017 20:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
Slidermike : Yes, i found commands on your tutorial, but it doesn't work each time i tried.
I tried only from the webgui, not with the startup script.

Yes we're noobies, sorry for that...

_________________
Netgear R7000 on DD-WRT v3.0-35030M kongac ( 18/02/18 )

Unofficial Kong's release repository : http://ddwrt-kong.clonevince.fr/
egc
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 1484
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Jan 09, 2017 21:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
Clonevince, you stumbled upon one of the mysteries I recently discovered: Commands work form the CLI, from scripts but not when running from the Administration/Commands tab.

If I understand correctly this seems to be caused by the fact that special characters are interpreted and not send directly to the shell.
So every special character has to be preceded by an escape character.

So to run these command from the GUI it has to be something like: for i in 2 3 8 9 12 13 17 18 \; do gpio enable \$i \; done
I am not a linux savvy guy so it is probably not entirely correct but it is to give you a general idea.

(I am most probably the greatest noob but learning every day Smile )

_________________
Router Netgear R6400, Linksys EA6900 (XvortexCFE), Linksys E2000 (converted WRT320N), WRT54GS v1.
Install guide see Linksys EA6900: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=291230
CloneVince
DD-WRT User


Joined: 31 May 2014
Posts: 209

PostPosted: Mon Jan 09, 2017 22:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
Good to know, thx egc Wink
_________________
Netgear R7000 on DD-WRT v3.0-35030M kongac ( 18/02/18 )

Unofficial Kong's release repository : http://ddwrt-kong.clonevince.fr/
ddwrtnube
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Jan 2017
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2017 9:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
This worked by saving it into the startup scripts under Administration/Commands! It also disables the LEDs for the USB drive, which is nice.

Code:
#!/bin/sh
#
for i in 2 3 8 9 12 13 17 18 ; do gpio enable $i ; done
for i in 14 15 ; do gpio disable $i ; done
et robowr 0x0 0x18 0x1ff
et robowr 0x0 0x18 0x0
et robowr 0x0 0x1a 0x0



Has anybody tried this with the Asus RT-N66U? I didn't have any luck with it. I'm going to try to see if I can get the Asus RT-AC68U lights disabled also. I'll report back Smile
paravox
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Jul 2016
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2017 23:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
CloneVince wrote:
@Kong : can you add an entry in ADMINISTRATION/MANAGEMENT to enable/disable from the GUI ?
Hope you can Wink


This would be a snazzy, wife-friendly feature.

The R7000 lights are so bright I fear they might eventually attract moths.
pbernd
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Feb 2017
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2017 18:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
On my R700 all LEDs switch off beside the LAN1 LED, it stays turn on with those start-up commands on the latest Kong. Any one got an idea what's wrong?
vipersinu2
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Apr 2013
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Mon Jan 01, 2018 14:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
pbernd wrote:
On my R700 all LEDs switch off beside the LAN1 LED, it stays turn on with those start-up commands on the latest Kong. Any one got an idea what's wrong?


I tried script and have the same results as you.
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 1761
Location: London,UK

PostPosted: Mon Jan 01, 2018 19:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
well on last Kong build all led's are off on my unit and script is working as it should...
the only reason the led is on is if you have external power supply providing power to this units that you plugged in the router or bad grounding.. those are the cases why light could be on ...

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv4 .......DD-WRT 33986 (AP,NAT,AD Blocking,Firewall)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ------DD-WRT 34311 (AP,PPPoE,NAT,AD Blocking,Firewall)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ------DD-WRT 34929 (AP,NAT,AD Blocking,Firewall,No Wi-Fi)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2.......... Gargoyle OS 1.10 (AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas)
Qualcomm/IPQ8065
Netgear R7800 ------------DD-WRT 35030M Kong (AP,NAT,AD Blocking,Firewall,DNSCrypt x2)
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 ---------DD-WRT 34800M Kong (AP,NAT,AD-Blocking,Country Block,Firewall,DNSCrypt x4)
Others
Netgear ProSAFE-GS105Ev2 ....(LAN Switch)
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum