Can't disable SFE (Linksys WRT160N v1, 12-14-2017-r34080)

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
Farshid420
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Jan 2008
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu Dec 28, 2017 17:39    Post subject: Can't disable SFE (Linksys WRT160N v1, 12-14-2017-r34080) Reply with quote
Hey guys! Recently installed/upgraded a Linksys WRT160N v1 from stock to a mini build (dd-wrt.v24_mini_generic.bin) of r34080 (12-14-2017) using the wiki guide. Did some searching (forum, wiki, google), and I'm not sure why I'm unable to save/apply the option/radio button to disable/turn off SFE (Shortcut Forwarding Engine) on the Setup -> Basic Setup tab. Each time I try to save/apply the setting after switching from Enable to Disable, it switches back to Enable. I assume that a setting elsewhere in my setup is stopping me from being able to make this change, but I'm not sure which. I've rebooted a few times and even tried from factory defaults again, but the change won't stick.

Appreciate your help in trying to figure this out, please let me know if you need any further info about my setup, and I apologize if I've missed anything (re-read the peacock thread/announcements before posting) Smile
Sponsor
ian5142
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 23 Oct 2013
Posts: 1261
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Thu Dec 28, 2017 21:19    Post subject: Downgrade Reply with quote
This may be one of the few cases where I would suggest you to downgrade. See the link in my signature. I would suggest downgrading one build at a time. Make sure reset to defaults is checked each time.
_________________
Before asking a question on the forums, update dd-wrt: Where do I download firmware? I suggest reading it all.

Some dd-wrt wiki pages are up to date, others are not. PM me if you find an old one, I am trying to update them.

Atheros:
TP-Link Archer C7 v2 x2 - WDS AP, WDS Station
TP-Link TL-WDR3600 v1 - WDS Station
TP-Link 841nd v8 - WDS Station
Linksys WRT400N - WDS Station
D-Link 615 C1 x 4 - not used
D-Link 615 E3 x 2 - WDS Station
D-Link 825 B1 - WDS Station
D-Link 862L A1 - WDS Station (Entware 3X)
Netgear WNDR3700v2 - WDS Station
TP-Link 1043nd v1, inactive, unstable hardware

Broadcom
Asus N66U - Gateway, DHCP, QoS
Netgear r6300 v1 - Client Bridge
Linksys E2500 - not used
Linksys EA2700 - not used
Linksys 160N v3 x2 - not used
Netgear WNDR3700v3 (Entware-3X) - Client Bridge
Farshid420
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Jan 2008
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu Dec 28, 2017 21:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thank you so much for following up, ian5142! Smile

I was afraid that that might be my only choice, but if that resolves the issue, I'm definitely willing to try. I'll post back after I get a chance to downgrade and, in the meantime, if anyone else has any suggestions, I'm all ears! Very Happy
ian5142
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 23 Oct 2013
Posts: 1261
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Thu Dec 28, 2017 21:55    Post subject: Disabled Reply with quote
I was able to disable SFE on all of my routers, but that was shortly after it was introduced earlier this year. I don't reset to defaults when I upgrade, so my settings carry over.
_________________
Before asking a question on the forums, update dd-wrt: Where do I download firmware? I suggest reading it all.

Some dd-wrt wiki pages are up to date, others are not. PM me if you find an old one, I am trying to update them.

Atheros:
TP-Link Archer C7 v2 x2 - WDS AP, WDS Station
TP-Link TL-WDR3600 v1 - WDS Station
TP-Link 841nd v8 - WDS Station
Linksys WRT400N - WDS Station
D-Link 615 C1 x 4 - not used
D-Link 615 E3 x 2 - WDS Station
D-Link 825 B1 - WDS Station
D-Link 862L A1 - WDS Station (Entware 3X)
Netgear WNDR3700v2 - WDS Station
TP-Link 1043nd v1, inactive, unstable hardware

Broadcom
Asus N66U - Gateway, DHCP, QoS
Netgear r6300 v1 - Client Bridge
Linksys E2500 - not used
Linksys EA2700 - not used
Linksys 160N v3 x2 - not used
Netgear WNDR3700v3 (Entware-3X) - Client Bridge
Farshid420
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Jan 2008
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu Dec 28, 2017 21:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
Definitely good to know that settings can be carried over (even though it's not recommended in the guides) Cool
Farshid420
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Jan 2008
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon Jan 01, 2018 21:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
Update! So I was hoping that the Dec 29th release (r34311) would help resolve my issue, but it did not (reset to default, etc.).

I then decided to follow ian5142's advice and, one by one, downgraded (while always resetting) all the way to 10-17-2017-r33525 (post-krack fix), and none of those, including 10-17-2017-r33525, allowed me to turn off SFE on this router (and that was the only setting I changed after setting the router password post-downgrade).

I did manage to resolve one of my other issues when downgrading, so that's a plus (thank you ian5142), but just thought I'd post this hear to save anyone else in the same position some time Wink
jwh7
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Oct 2013
Posts: 1457
Location: Indy

PostPosted: Thu Jan 04, 2018 20:56    Post subject: Re: Can't disable SFE (Linksys WRT160N v1, 12-14-2017-r34080 Reply with quote
Farshid420 wrote:
Recently installed/upgraded a Linksys WRT160N v1 from stock to a mini build (dd-wrt.v24_mini_generic.bin) of r34080 (12-14-2017) using the wiki guide. Did some searching (forum, wiki, google), and I'm not sure why I'm unable to save/apply the option/radio button to disable/turn off SFE (Shortcut Forwarding Engine) on the Setup -> Basic Setup tab. Each time I try to save/apply the setting after switching from Enable to Disable, it switches back to Enable.
The answer is very simple; builds using kernels before 3.10 don't have SFE. Yours is kernel 2.4. Unfortunately, the button selection was still put in SFE-unsupported builds, and the way it was done makes it always show on, instead of off, as it should. The button really needs removed from pre-k3.10 builds.

What issue are you having with 34311 that made you want to try disabling SFE anyway?

_________________
# NAT/SFE/CTF: limited speed w/ DD # Repeater issues # DD-WRT info: Builds, Types, Modes, Changelog, Peacock, Demo #
x64 pfSense 2.4.2|RT-N66U@663 Merlin 380.69|DD: 33772 WNDR4500v2, WNDR4000@533, E1500@353, R6300v1,
2*E2500, WRT54GLv1.1@250 VPN, GSv6@250 µ
|EA6900v1.1 Xwrt 380.69|OEM: WGR614v10@400-WNR1000v3 mod
Farshid420
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Jan 2008
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun Jan 07, 2018 17:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thank you for the info/clarification, jwh7!

Just so we're on the same page, does that mean that even though the option is there and set to enabled, it's really not having any effect because of the kernel version? If so, that would definitely rule it out as being the cause of any issues I may be having, which is great news Very Happy

The issue I was having was getting a Linksys WES610N "wireless entertainment bridge" to get an IP (kept disconnecting after never successfully getting one, even after I set one statically for it on either side), and after unsuccessfully trying everything with the settings on the bridge and on the router (under r34080 and r34311), I took ian5142's advice about downgrading to address the SFE issue, and even though it didn't work on any of the previous releases I tried, I found that my bridge issue started with r34080, but wasn't present in r33986, so that's the one I stuck with Wink

Thank you all for your help (and hopefully this helps someone else who stumbles on this thread)!
jwh7
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Oct 2013
Posts: 1457
Location: Indy

PostPosted: Mon Jan 08, 2018 4:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
Farshid420 wrote:
Just so we're on the same page, does that mean that even though the option is there and set to enabled, it's really not having any effect because of the kernel version? [...]
Yes, specifically, it's not having any effect because the code for it isn't present in that kernel version. Smile
Farshid420 wrote:
The issue I was having was getting a Linksys WES610N "wireless entertainment bridge" to get an IP (kept disconnecting after never successfully getting one, even after I set one statically for it on either side) [...] I found that my bridge issue started with r34080, but wasn't present in r33986, so that's the one I stuck with Wink
Aside from the above, SFE was added to 3.10+ kernels in 33006. There have been various reports of wireless issues since all the krack changes started rolling in, particularly with multicast stuff.
_________________
# NAT/SFE/CTF: limited speed w/ DD # Repeater issues # DD-WRT info: Builds, Types, Modes, Changelog, Peacock, Demo #
x64 pfSense 2.4.2|RT-N66U@663 Merlin 380.69|DD: 33772 WNDR4500v2, WNDR4000@533, E1500@353, R6300v1,
2*E2500, WRT54GLv1.1@250 VPN, GSv6@250 µ
|EA6900v1.1 Xwrt 380.69|OEM: WGR614v10@400-WNR1000v3 mod
Farshid420
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Jan 2008
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon Jan 08, 2018 4:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thank you so much for the info, you guys are awesome!! Cool
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum