Degrading quality of software

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
sympthom
DD-WRT Novice

PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2018 13:11    Post subject: Degrading quality of software Reply with quote
I've been using dd-wrt since 2014. I like the project very much and have the software installed om my r7000 and my r9000. However I do experience a degrading quality since 2016. Bigger and bigger features are not delivered opon. In this last update, the dhcp through the radio didn't work. I still use release 05-19-2016-r29739 since later releases is to buggy for usage.
Sponsor
labo
DD-WRT Guru

PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2018 13:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
@ sympthom,
Only last few builds have some issues like dhcp and wireless related.
For R7000 you can update to build any 2018 Jan/feb builds. should work pretty good.

For R9000, 2018, march 20 build should work fine. the stable builds start from August 2017 onwards, nothing in 2016.
When you have issues please report on appropriate threads and list it out with specific details.

QNAP QSW-1208-8C 12-Port 10GbE Switch
XS712T ProSafe 12-Port 10GbE Switch
3 X R9000 DD-WRT Mesh
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru

PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2018 21:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
ur not wrong,i too see this, our lead dev seemingly doesnt care anymore, he literally, calls most issues "bullshit" (search back, im not lying), then proceeds to fix some of those issues 10 mins later. apparently once he actually LOOKS at the issues for something longer than 2 seconds (oops i reproduced, and hes right maybe its not bullshit). i think our main issue is brainslayer doesnt look at support tickets, he doesnt test them, yes there is bogus crap tickets with no info for a dev to attempt a fix, but i know mine arent. and many others provide all the info a end user can, we get ignored constantly.