MMC Mod only working with 64MB cards

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
turrmoil1
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Sep 2009
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Wed Sep 09, 2009 15:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
Great thanks. I'll try this out and report back.
Sponsor
turrmoil1
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Sep 2009
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Thu Sep 10, 2009 0:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks Autobot.

Finally "SOME" progress.

I built the new firmware. It is a rebuilt of DDWRT v24 SP1. It includes the mmc.o driver and the sdhc driver.

http://s244091263.onlinehome.us/custom_image-wrt54g.bin

ISSUE:
However, when I reboot I have to manually insmod and mount the sd card each time.

What are my options? Suggestions?

BTW, this is what I see when I do insmod mmc followed by dmesg:

=================================
[INFO] mmc_hardware_init: initializing GPIOs
[INFO] mmc_card_init: the period of a 380KHz frequency lasts 656 CPU cycles
[INFO] mmc_card_init: powering card on. sending 80 CLK
[INFO] mmc_card_init: 80 CLK sent in 54206 CPU cycles
[INFO] mmc_card_init: resetting card (CMD0)
[INFO] mmc_card_init: doing initialization loop
[INFO] mmc_card_init: card inited successfully in 133 tries (5077225 CPU cycles).
[INFO] mmc_init: MMC/SD Card ID:
02 54 4d 53 44 30 32 47 38 a3 ea dc fb 00 8c 85 [INFO] Manufacturer ID : 02
[INFO] OEM/Application ID: TM
[INFO] Product name : SD02G
[INFO] Product revision : 3.8
[INFO] Product SN : a3eadcfb
[INFO] Product Date : 2008-12
[INFO] mmc_card_config: size = 1921024, hardsectsize = 1024, sectors = 1921024
[WARN] mmc_init: hd_sizes=1921024, hd[0].nr_sects=3842048
[INFO] mmc_card_init: set_blocklen (CMD16) succeeded !
Partition check:
mmca: p1
======================


So I have 2 issues now:
(1) the card does not copy really large size like 200MB... stops after like 30MB of data copy
(2) I have to manually mount the card after each reboot.
(3) Last if I mount to mmc folder in root it says that is a read only folder and makes the card unwritable for me.

Sorry but I am very new to Linux and am really challenged.


BTW, my router is overclocked, had a heat sink and a fan as well.



Router Info Page.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  115.44 KB
 Viewed:  12022 Time(s)

Router Info Page.jpg



MMC Speed.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  19.27 KB
 Viewed:  12025 Time(s)

MMC Speed.jpg


autobot
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 07 May 2009
Posts: 1596

PostPosted: Thu Sep 10, 2009 1:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
Redo a more modern version of the firmware, links are in my signature. Then we will troubleshoot more.
_________________
Eko Builds

BrainSlayer Builds

DD-WRT Changelog RSS Feed
turrmoil1
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Sep 2009
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Thu Sep 10, 2009 2:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
autobot wrote:
Redo a more modern version of the firmware, links are in my signature. Then we will troubleshoot more.


Does this link work for WRT54G-TM which is what I have?
The firmware is half in size 3.x MB.

I am lost as there are just too many firmwares out there!!

Can you please recommend one?
autobot
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 07 May 2009
Posts: 1596

PostPosted: Thu Sep 10, 2009 12:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
turrmoil1 wrote:
autobot wrote:
Redo a more modern version of the firmware, links are in my signature. Then we will troubleshoot more.


Does this link work for WRT54G-TM which is what I have?
The firmware is half in size 3.x MB.

I am lost as there are just too many firmwares out there!!

Can you please recommend one?


http://www.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/others/eko/V24_TNG/svn12774/dd-wrt.v24-12774_NEWD_std-nokaid_usb.bin

That should work good on your router, you could get mega if you need it. You have 8 Meg of flash so you can run any of those builds, just avoid newd2.

_________________
Eko Builds

BrainSlayer Builds

DD-WRT Changelog RSS Feed
turrmoil1
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Sep 2009
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Thu Sep 10, 2009 21:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks for the link. Just got back from work and downloaded the MEGA from this link - http://www.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/others/eko/V24_TNG/svn12774/dd-wrt.v24-12774_VINT_mega.bin

Starting to do the rebuild and flash.

Will post in a few when it's done...
turrmoil1
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Sep 2009
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Fri Sep 11, 2009 0:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
The build for the version I downloaded is failing. Here's the build.log file contents:

make: Entering directory `/media/dl/ddwrt/firmwaremodkit/trunk/src'
make -C ./uncramfs/
make[1]: Entering directory `/media/dl/ddwrt/firmwaremodkit/trunk/src/uncramfs'
make[1]: Nothing to be done for `all'.
make[1]: Leaving directory `/media/dl/ddwrt/firmwaremodkit/trunk/src/uncramfs'
make -C ./cramfs-2.x/
make[1]: Entering directory `/media/dl/ddwrt/firmwaremodkit/trunk/src/cramfs-2.x'
make[1]: Nothing to be done for `all'.
make[1]: Leaving directory `/media/dl/ddwrt/firmwaremodkit/trunk/src/cramfs-2.x'
make -C ./squashfs-2.1-r2/
make[1]: Entering directory `/media/dl/ddwrt/firmwaremodkit/trunk/src/squashfs-2.1-r2'
make -C ../lzma/C/7zip/Compress/LZMA_Lib
make[2]: Entering directory `/media/dl/ddwrt/firmwaremodkit/trunk/src/lzma/C/7zip/Compress/LZMA_Lib'
make[2]: Nothing to be done for `all'.
make[2]: Leaving directory `/media/dl/ddwrt/firmwaremodkit/trunk/src/lzma/C/7zip/Compress/LZMA_Lib'
g++ -O3 mksquashfs.o read_fs.o sort.o -L../lzma/C/7zip/Compress/LZMA_Lib -llzma -lpthread -o mksquashfs-lzma
../lzma/C/7zip/Compress/LZMA_Lib/liblzma.a(ZLib.o): In function `uncompress':
ZLib.cpp:(.text+0x76b): undefined reference to `vtable for NCompress::NLZMA::CDecoder'
ZLib.cpp:(.text+0x773): undefined reference to `vtable for NCompress::NLZMA::CDecoder'
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
make[1]: *** [mksquashfs-lzma] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/media/dl/ddwrt/firmwaremodkit/trunk/src/squashfs-2.1-r2'
make: *** [all] Error 2
make: Leaving directory `/media/dl/ddwrt/firmwaremodkit/trunk/src'
rm: cannot remove `/tmp/out/*.*': No such file or directory
rm: cannot remove `/tmp/out': Is a directory
autobot
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 07 May 2009
Posts: 1596

PostPosted: Fri Sep 11, 2009 1:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
If the size of the firmware exceeds 5,898,240 bytes you need adjust the maximum size with '-m size' option. Not sure how large mega/big is now or if that's relevant to your issue.
_________________
Eko Builds

BrainSlayer Builds

DD-WRT Changelog RSS Feed
turrmoil1
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Sep 2009
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Fri Sep 11, 2009 1:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
autobot wrote:
If the size of the firmware exceeds 5,898,240 bytes you need adjust the maximum size with '-m size' option. Not sure how large mega/big is now or if that's relevant to your issue.


The file size of the mega is:
5.76 MB (6,045,696 bytes)

which exceeds size you mentioned.

I'll hunt the build script and specify that under the line that reads
g++ -O3 mksquashfs.o read_fs.o sort.o -L../lzma/C/7zip/Compress/LZMA_Lib -llzma -lpthread -o mksquashfs-lzma

The new line after my change would read:
g++ -O3 -m 7000000 mksquashfs.o read_fs.o sort.o -L../lzma/C/7zip/Compress/LZMA_Lib -llzma -lpthread -o mksquashfs-lzma

Before I try can you please chime in to comment if what I am planning is right or not?

TIA
autobot
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 07 May 2009
Posts: 1596

PostPosted: Fri Sep 11, 2009 2:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
No you put it after the lines that read

Code:

src/asustrx

_________________
Eko Builds

BrainSlayer Builds

DD-WRT Changelog RSS Feed
turrmoil1
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Sep 2009
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Fri Sep 11, 2009 16:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
autobot wrote:
No you put it after the lines that read

Code:

src/asustrx


Tries the -m didn't work
Tried to build my old build which I had that didn't work either

So I am thinking something has messed up in my UBuntu Virtual environment.

I am rebuilding the disk and will start over with the new firmware you suggested.
turrmoil1
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Sep 2009
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Sun Sep 13, 2009 0:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
OK. I was able to do the Eko build the "big" one.

Attached is the image below.

Now how do I get it to load the SD Card at start up?



Router Info Page.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  58.13 KB
 Viewed:  11895 Time(s)

Router Info Page.jpg


DHC_DarkShadow
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 22 Jun 2008
Posts: 2440
Location: Am now Dark_Shadow

PostPosted: Sun Sep 13, 2009 4:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
Under the administration tab in this section...


sdmmc.gif
 Description:
 Filesize:  2.87 KB
 Viewed:  11886 Time(s)

sdmmc.gif



_________________
The New Me
turrmoil1
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Sep 2009
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Sun Sep 13, 2009 5:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
Tried that option many times. Doesn't work not sure why!!

Atached are images.
The web screenshot is with that option turned on in the web GUI. as you can see remaining space is 0.

Also, second screen shot is with manual insmod entry. As you can see the SD card is recognized and if I want it can be manually mounted.

I know I am missing something even though now I have the latest version of the firmware!!



INSMod.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  78.23 KB
 Viewed:  11878 Time(s)

INSMod.jpg



SDCardSupport.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  7.85 KB
 Viewed:  11878 Time(s)

SDCardSupport.jpg


turrmoil1
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Sep 2009
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Sun Sep 13, 2009 5:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
Any way to show this mounted in the GUI?
Any way to mount this at router boot up?

Thanks in advance.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 2 of 3
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum