Noob: Can connect to router, but not internet

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
jhanna1701
DD-WRT Novice

PostPosted: Mon Feb 01, 2010 17:13    Post subject: Noob: Can connect to router, but not internet Reply with quote
Hi,

I'm a noob to dd-wrt. I bought a pre-flashed router from ebay. I am able to connect to the router wirelessly, via two different PC's. However, I cannot get to the internet.

My setup is the following:

Linksys WRT54G-TM
Firmware: DD-WRT v24-sp2 (10/10/09) mega
Comcast digital cable
modem: RCA by Thomson model DCM425

Please help, as I've got to get this working before Thursday as I need it for work. Otherwise, I'm going to have to go buy a new router and just use as is.

thanks,

Jamie
Sponsor
Xxsean
DD-WRT Novice

PostPosted: Mon Feb 01, 2010 18:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
shit iam on the same boat but cant get any help here.
gobbledigook
DD-WRT Guru

PostPosted: Mon Feb 01, 2010 18:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
Xxsean wrote:

comments like that are not helpful...

as to some help... I don't know cable modems work the same way everywhere, but i am on cable in the UK and here when you change the computer or in this case router connected to the modem you need to unplug the modem for 5mins to let it "forget" the previous MAC address. maybe this could help for you?
contrive
DD-WRT Novice

PostPosted: Mon Feb 01, 2010 19:09    Post subject: Re: Noob: Can connect to router, but not internet Reply with quote
jhanna1701 wrote:
Hi,

I'm a noob to dd-wrt. I bought a pre-flashed router from ebay. I am able to connect to the router wirelessly, via two different PC's. However, I cannot get to the internet.

Linksys WRT54G-TM
Comcast digital cable

Please help, as I've got to get this working before Thursday as I need it for work. Otherwise, I'm going to have to go buy a new router and just use as is.

thanks,

Jamie

Did you pay your bill?
Is the internet light on the modem solid?