Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH: Flash from Buffalo re-branded DD-WRT

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
KrypteX
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Jan 2014
Posts: 2404

PostPosted: Sun Nov 29, 2015 13:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
un1versal wrote:
The wzr-hp-g300nh-dd-wrt-webupgrade-MULTI.bin via web interface bricks the router, theres no doubt about it, leaving it 30 minutes to 2 hours. say build 01-04-2015-r25760 to build 11-28-2015-r28374 = brick.

Many other users report this very same issue, so 1 person whos report you mention, I cant put stock in it as I cant duplicate his findings and so everytime I read his report Im convinced he upgraded from a non buggy fw which will obviously work OK.

I would like this person to clarify things for sure.
I doubt he can flash from a 6 month old build via webupgrade to the latest without bricking it.

OK, fair enough. However the NVRAM issues were fixed on WZR-HP-G300NH since 28320. Please confirm if you see that fixed with any of the builds 28320-28374; until now nobody has given a clear report whether ticket http://svn.dd-wrt.com/ticket/4724 is fixed or not.

Regarding the webupgrade bricking, I understand that if you flash FROM any build within the range 23720-28320 to any 28320+ build, the router bricks.
But, have you tried upgrading FROM a build with fixed NVRAM, e.g. from 28366 to 28374, or from 28374 to 28366 ? Please try. And don't forget to reset to factory defaults before doing so. The idea is to flash FROM A CLEAN 28320+ BUILD, since we're talking about NVRAM-related "out of memory" issues, as described in the ticket above.

Edit: So it seems user "mitchd123" did the webupgrade from 28320 to 28366 and bricked his router... http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=994956#994956
Reopening ticket http://svn.dd-wrt.com/ticket/4742#comment:9

_________________
THERE ARE NO STRANGERS HERE; ONLY FRIENDS YOU HAVEN'T YET MET.
________________________________________________________________________________________________________
DD-WRT CHANGELOG | DEVICES | DD-WRT BUILDS | KONG BUILDS | UNOFFICIAL BUILDS | DD-WRT in VIRTUALBOX

Testing BrainSlayer's DD-WRT build 31924 on various units:
NETGEAR : WNDR3800 WNDR3800CH WNDRMACv2 WNDRMACv1 WNR2200 WNR2000v3
TP-LINK : ArcherC7v3 WR1043NDv3 WR740Nv4 WR740Nv6 WR710Nv1 WR810Nv1 WA850REv1 WA901NDv3 WA901NDv4
D-LINK : DIR-862L DIR-615D2
ASUS : RT-N10 C1
VirtualBox : x86_64
Sponsor
un1versal
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 Jul 2015
Posts: 80

PostPosted: Tue Dec 01, 2015 10:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
As soon as I have time to fiddle around with reflashing and re-configuring my whole network again by hand I will provide immediate feedback.

For me here takes around ~3 hours each time I reflash to get my network back.
Aveyer
DD-WRT User


Joined: 17 Feb 2010
Posts: 155

PostPosted: Thu Dec 03, 2015 21:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
I just successfully upgraded from build 27147 to todays build 28417 via web upgrade.
_________________
WZR-HP-G300NH [B0 B0]
WHR-G300N V1 (Ralink)
KrypteX
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Jan 2014
Posts: 2404

PostPosted: Thu Dec 03, 2015 21:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
Aveyer wrote:
I just successfully upgraded from build 27147 to todays build 28417 via web upgrade.

How did you do that ? Please describe your method step-by-step.

Edit: If it's fixed, I wonder which commit did it Question I can't find one that could be responsible for the fix...

_________________
THERE ARE NO STRANGERS HERE; ONLY FRIENDS YOU HAVEN'T YET MET.
________________________________________________________________________________________________________
DD-WRT CHANGELOG | DEVICES | DD-WRT BUILDS | KONG BUILDS | UNOFFICIAL BUILDS | DD-WRT in VIRTUALBOX

Testing BrainSlayer's DD-WRT build 31924 on various units:
NETGEAR : WNDR3800 WNDR3800CH WNDRMACv2 WNDRMACv1 WNR2200 WNR2000v3
TP-LINK : ArcherC7v3 WR1043NDv3 WR740Nv4 WR740Nv6 WR710Nv1 WR810Nv1 WA850REv1 WA901NDv3 WA901NDv4
D-LINK : DIR-862L DIR-615D2
ASUS : RT-N10 C1
VirtualBox : x86_64


Last edited by KrypteX on Fri Dec 04, 2015 7:43; edited 1 time in total
Aveyer
DD-WRT User


Joined: 17 Feb 2010
Posts: 155

PostPosted: Thu Dec 03, 2015 21:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
Nothing special at all, just got the upgrade image, and did the upgrade via web gui.

I didn't even do a reset beforehand.

Now that it's flashed though I reset it by erasing nvram and reconfigured it, running fine.

_________________
WZR-HP-G300NH [B0 B0]
WHR-G300N V1 (Ralink)
oraculo666
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Sep 2010
Posts: 32
Location: Belo Horizonte, Brazil

PostPosted: Fri Dec 04, 2015 1:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
Aveyer wrote:
I just successfully upgraded from build 27147 to todays build 28417 via web upgrade.

I'll try that tomorrow. Both my WZRs are on 27147.

_________________
[ATHEROS] ------------> Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH [A0 D0] --> DD-WRT v3.0-r31690 std (03/17/17) - (Gateway)
[ATHEROS] ------------> Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH [A0 D0] --> DD-WRT v3.0-r31690 std (03/17/17) - (Bridge)
[BROADCOM] ----------> Linksys WRT54G2 ---------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r31690 micro-special (03/17/17) - (Bridge)
[QUALCOMM ATHEROS] -> TP-Link TL-WR841ND v9 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r31690 std (03/17/17) - (Bridge)
un1versal
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 Jul 2015
Posts: 80

PostPosted: Fri Dec 04, 2015 14:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
Aveyer wrote:
Nothing special at all, just got the upgrade image, and did the upgrade via web gui.

I didn't even do a reset beforehand.

Now that it's flashed though I reset it by erasing nvram and reconfigured it, running fine.


I cant neither confirm nor deny this bold claim as I havent tested but the nvram issue seems fixed.

un1versal wrote:
Router: Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r28417 std (12/03/15)
Kernel: Linux 3.10.93 #12594
Status: OK so far
Reset: 30/30/30
Errors: None? (notes below)

http://svn.dd-wrt.com/ticket/4724 is indeed fixed, (thx finally after a few years of blergh Very Happy)



Tested adding some configuration changes and making a backup, resetting router again and restoring said backup.

nvram show commands returns finally a list of everything Very Happy

Result: OK

Configuration was restored OK though it wasn't a full configuration at this test time.

SSH is fully operational, memory usage/reporting seems normal, Wifi is operational.

Issues:

* When saving a MAC filter list edit it returns an empty/blank page, closing pop up and reopening the items added to this list are there though.

That seems like an issue due to way the (access restrictions tab) The Wan Access policy list, similar type dialog and works fully OK, applying settings/saving returns the list itself not blank page.

(Browser Firefox 42.0)

Annoyances:

The theme I have is elegant -> dark style enabled.

* The quirk is that when changing DNS servers or other random dialogs the styles were lost temporarily (reverted to non dark) a refresh seemed to bring that back.
oraculo666
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Sep 2010
Posts: 32
Location: Belo Horizonte, Brazil

PostPosted: Fri Dec 04, 2015 22:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
Upgrading from 27147 to 28417 via web interface bricked my router. I did the TFTP upgrade to 28417 and it worked fine. After that I tried a web interface upgrade using the same firmware version (28417) and it worked fine. Let's see if from this version on we'll be able to upgrade via the web interface.

If you need me to perform any tests, please post steps and I'll gladly do it.

This is a repeater router, I haven't upgraded my main router yet. Maybe later on tonight when the family is not using the internet.

My router is Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH version [A0 D0] btw.

_________________
[ATHEROS] ------------> Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH [A0 D0] --> DD-WRT v3.0-r31690 std (03/17/17) - (Gateway)
[ATHEROS] ------------> Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH [A0 D0] --> DD-WRT v3.0-r31690 std (03/17/17) - (Bridge)
[BROADCOM] ----------> Linksys WRT54G2 ---------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r31690 micro-special (03/17/17) - (Bridge)
[QUALCOMM ATHEROS] -> TP-Link TL-WR841ND v9 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r31690 std (03/17/17) - (Bridge)
un1versal
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 Jul 2015
Posts: 80

PostPosted: Sat Dec 05, 2015 3:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
@oraculo666

Hows your wifi working, is it stable?

Over here laptop lost internet connection a few times, not sure if it is a bug or if it was some other reason at this time.
oraculo666
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Sep 2010
Posts: 32
Location: Belo Horizonte, Brazil

PostPosted: Sat Dec 05, 2015 3:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
un1versal wrote:
@oraculo666

Hows your wifi working, is it stable?

Over here laptop lost internet connection a few times, not sure if it is a bug or if it was some other reason at this time.

I had no problems so far. My wifi settings are pretty conservative: 20Mhz and no security since I live remotely and use macs.

_________________
[ATHEROS] ------------> Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH [A0 D0] --> DD-WRT v3.0-r31690 std (03/17/17) - (Gateway)
[ATHEROS] ------------> Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH [A0 D0] --> DD-WRT v3.0-r31690 std (03/17/17) - (Bridge)
[BROADCOM] ----------> Linksys WRT54G2 ---------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r31690 micro-special (03/17/17) - (Bridge)
[QUALCOMM ATHEROS] -> TP-Link TL-WR841ND v9 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r31690 std (03/17/17) - (Bridge)
oraculo666
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Sep 2010
Posts: 32
Location: Belo Horizonte, Brazil

PostPosted: Sat Dec 05, 2015 15:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
Just tried upgrading one of my routers to 28444 from 28417 and it bricked my router again (continuous boot loop). I'll try doing it with the other later on.
_________________
[ATHEROS] ------------> Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH [A0 D0] --> DD-WRT v3.0-r31690 std (03/17/17) - (Gateway)
[ATHEROS] ------------> Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH [A0 D0] --> DD-WRT v3.0-r31690 std (03/17/17) - (Bridge)
[BROADCOM] ----------> Linksys WRT54G2 ---------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r31690 micro-special (03/17/17) - (Bridge)
[QUALCOMM ATHEROS] -> TP-Link TL-WR841ND v9 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r31690 std (03/17/17) - (Bridge)
un1versal
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 Jul 2015
Posts: 80

PostPosted: Sat Dec 05, 2015 15:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
oraculo666 wrote:

I had no problems so far. My wifi settings are pretty conservative: 20Mhz and no security since I live remotely and use macs.


I wont comment on your security choices or lack of them or your beliefs, but thanks for feedback on the wifi thing. Smile
It must have been a temporary blurb as now Wi-Fi seems to be working OK now.


oraculo666 wrote:

Just tried upgrading one of my routers to 28444 from 28417 and it bricked my router again (continuous boot loop). I'll try doing it with the other later on.


ouch was that webupgrade? For me as long as the nvram issue remains fixed, I dont mind flashing via TFTP its simple process and reliable anyway. But Ill try it just to indulge Kryptex with some feedback.
oraculo666
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Sep 2010
Posts: 32
Location: Belo Horizonte, Brazil

PostPosted: Sat Dec 05, 2015 15:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
un1versal wrote:
oraculo666 wrote:

I had no problems so far. My wifi settings are pretty conservative: 20Mhz and no security since I live remotely and use macs.


I wont comment on your security choices or lack of them or your beliefs, but thanks for feedback on the wifi thing. Smile
It must have been a temporary blurb as now Wi-Fi seems to be working OK now.


oraculo666 wrote:

Just tried upgrading one of my routers to 28444 from 28417 and it bricked my router again (continuous boot loop). I'll try doing it with the other later on.


ouch was that webupgrade? For me as long as the nvram issue remains fixed, I dont mind flashing via TFTP its simple process and reliable anyway. But Ill try it just to indulge Kryptex with some feedback.

Belive it or not there are no other houses in the range of my wifi network. But I could change it to WPA2 whenever I sense someone unknown connected to my network. Hehe!
Yes, it was webupdate. I'll try again later on my main router that is still on 28417. What's been bugging me I that I can't do Key Login on SSH, only Password Login. I wonder what I'm doing wrong. I keep getting: Permission denied (publickey).

EDIT: Flashing the other router via the web interface was the same. At first the red light flashes for a few minutes and the it falls on a continuous boot loop. Had to flash it via TFTP.

_________________
[ATHEROS] ------------> Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH [A0 D0] --> DD-WRT v3.0-r31690 std (03/17/17) - (Gateway)
[ATHEROS] ------------> Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH [A0 D0] --> DD-WRT v3.0-r31690 std (03/17/17) - (Bridge)
[BROADCOM] ----------> Linksys WRT54G2 ---------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r31690 micro-special (03/17/17) - (Bridge)
[QUALCOMM ATHEROS] -> TP-Link TL-WR841ND v9 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r31690 std (03/17/17) - (Bridge)
un1versal
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 Jul 2015
Posts: 80

PostPosted: Mon Dec 07, 2015 0:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thats sad to hear, that webupgrading still briks this unit. I havent had the time to reflash again, but Ill see what I can do soon enough.

As for your public key login issues, have a look at https://help.github.com/articles/error-permission-denied-publickey/ maybe it helps.
oraculo666
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Sep 2010
Posts: 32
Location: Belo Horizonte, Brazil

PostPosted: Mon Dec 07, 2015 1:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
un1versal wrote:
Thats sad to hear, that webupgrading still briks this unit. I havent had the time to reflash again, but Ill see what I can do soon enough.

As for your public key login issues, have a look at https://help.github.com/articles/error-permission-denied-publickey/ maybe it helps.

I've recreated my key pair and it seems to be working now. Apart from the webflash issue this version has been smooth sailing for me.

_________________
[ATHEROS] ------------> Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH [A0 D0] --> DD-WRT v3.0-r31690 std (03/17/17) - (Gateway)
[ATHEROS] ------------> Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH [A0 D0] --> DD-WRT v3.0-r31690 std (03/17/17) - (Bridge)
[BROADCOM] ----------> Linksys WRT54G2 ---------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r31690 micro-special (03/17/17) - (Bridge)
[QUALCOMM ATHEROS] -> TP-Link TL-WR841ND v9 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r31690 std (03/17/17) - (Bridge)
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 3 of 4
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum